We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice and relaxed restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ryles Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ryles Arms
Ranked #4 of 17 Macclesfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield. England
Level Contributor
183 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Very nice and relaxed restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We visited the Ryles Arms between Christmas and New Year. The waiter who greeted us was very nice and polite and very knowledgeable about the menu. They have a great choice of beers and wines as well as offering mulled wine during Christmas.
My starter of black pudding and tomato was huge, a half portion of this would have been suitable. I had the 'smaller appetite' menu for the main course which was more than enough. These portions are still quite big for smaller children. The menu overall has a lot of choice as well as daily specials. The service was very efficient and the staff were very polite and helpful. I will definitley visit again very soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conrad169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    53
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
50
77
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

I enjoyed lunch at the Ryles Arms with a friend lately. I had eaten there previously and this meal was as good as before. The choice was varied, the service friendly and the view from the windows, beautiful. I would eat there in the future and would also recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Relaxed33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire england
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

great bar with nice food in a great location and we had great service

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeans-r-us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We visited for a lunch-time meal. A lovely setting, very friendly and considerate service, superb food, and all at very reasonable prices. Definitely one to remember!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n0rbr8ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

One of several pubs in the area built by local private banker and silk manufacturer John Ryles in the mid 1820s (the best known being the Cat & Fiddle), now more geared towards dining than drinking. Good quality pub food with all the old favourites (plus a few 'contemporary' dishes) all at reasonable prices with good portion sizes. Staff friendly and helpful and a 10% discount for Gold Card Members. Last visited in mid October 2011: my steak was of excellent quality and cooked exactly as requested; the missus was very pleased with the home-made burger which came with all the trimmings. Limited draught beer selection, though the local Winkle Ale was on excellent form and made up for this. Will definitey go again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MAL010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

The food & service was first class, with friendly staff, a place to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We'd heard that the food was good and we had to book in order to get a table but we were unhappy with the experience. Our mixed grills had steak that was unedible and the fillet steak in the Beef Strogonof was too tough to chew! It wasn't expensive, but it still wasn't worth what we paid.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngalton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macclesfield
4.9 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Macclesfield South West Hotel
5.3 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Prestbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
6.5 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
11.9 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryles Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryles Arms

Property: The Ryles Arms
Address: Hollin Lane | Sutton, Macclesfield SK11 0NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Macclesfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Macclesfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ryles Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The real Taste of Cheshire” Set amidst the rolling hills of the Cheshire countryside. The start/finish of the Gritstone Trail, and other rambling routes. The Ryles Arms has long been established as a venue for home cooked food, that offers a welcoming, friendly and relaxed environment. The Ryles Arms has free, secure car parking and the five bedrooms all have en-suite bathrooms, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi.Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served, with much of the produce sourced from the local area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ryles Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ryles Arms Hotel Macclesfield
The Ryles Arms Macclesfield, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing