We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A first class rendyvous with excellent food”
Review of The Ryles Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ryles Arms
Ranked #4 of 17 Macclesfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A first class rendyvous with excellent food”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Six friends met up at this hostelry for a nights stay with a pre-booked restaurant meal .In every way this place exceeded our expectations. As we were 3 couples we had 3 rooms in the excellent converted barn accommodation attached to the hostelry. The rooms were comfortable and well equipped . They were quiet and economic and we had pre-booked the rooms and the restaurant a few weeks in advance. The bed and breakfast cost in June 2013 was £70 per room. Very reasonable we all thought.

The restaurant menu and service was simply brilliant. The food choice would have met anyone's appetite and was of excellent quality and taste. It was obviously a sort after restaurant as evidenced by the fact it was fully booked and people seemed to enjoy it. We did.

Later on in the evening when the restaurant had closed we had a pleasant time at the bar accompanied by the manager. We awoke to a hearty and tasty breakfast of a good choice.

The hostelry is located on a busy side road but very beautiful with local walks on hand.. We also took advantage of that and our party of 6 departed the next morning vowing to come again.

Room Tip: Not a room tip but we found it better value not to have the bed, breakfast and dinner inclusive opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iansheffield_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    54
    14
    4
    8
See reviews for
56
80
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Went here last night with 7 friends for our annual get together.
We had a table booked for 8:30pm and arrived at 7:30 for drinks etc and were told we could have our table when we wanted.
When we did sit, our waitress came over to through the specials etc and was very friendly and pleasant.
I had the scallops with garlic black pudding balls to start, sea bass for main and honeycomb ice cream for dessert.
The food was absolutely fantastic, especially the starter.
Our waitress was attentive throughout and we ditched our plan to go into town to stay at our table all night instead.
I will definitely be returning and will recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowness on Windermere
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Two of us stayed for one night. It went wrong from the start. We didn't arrive until after 5pm but the room wasn't ready. When we got into it it was so tiny with hardly room to get round the twin beds. There was no TV remote so I went over to the main building and asked for one. They said they would find one and bring it round. After half an hour nobody came so I went over again and asked. After about ten minutes we were given one.

I would be very surprised if anyone had even attempted to clean the bathroom. The wash hand basin had white scum round it. The bath was grubby and the toilet had traces of the previous occupant in it. The fan in the bathroom didn't work. The bathroom was so small that a fan was necessary. There was one small plastic bottle of bath foam and one small plastic bottle of shampoo between two of us. These bottles were grubby with splashes from other people's baths and showers on them.

One of the duvet covers was only half the size of the duvet. It was a waste of time even putting it on. There was not enough of the long life milk for more than one drink each. It was difficult to fill the kettle with water as it wouldn't fit in the sink and the bath tap was difficult to control. also the kettle was half full of water when we arrived. Goodness knows how long it might have been there.

At breakfast, even though there were only three others in the dining room, we had to wait nearly half an hour for one cooked breakfast. My companion only wanted cereal.

This was the worst experience I have had anywhere in an hotel. The place needs a good housekeeper.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joefris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RylesManagement, Manager at The Ryles Arms, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
I think you need a new watch my dear.

According to our records you arrived shortly after 4pm to which I had moved my car for you to allow you to park closer to the building for your disabled husband.

You were very correct the room was not available to you when you arrived as it was the last to be cleaned, however by the time we had shuffled the cars around, the room was ready, your bags were then taken to your room by the staff, and checked in.

The remote must have been stolen or lost the night before and of course we only find these things when we go to the room. So I then rushed off to purchase a spare remote control and batteries which you were told about, hence the half an hour or so.

After this I think you are misleading a lot of people by your review.

Cleanliness of your room, it was all cleaned for you by our housekeeper of 15 years service, not some part time 16 year old, but if it wasn't up to standard it wasn't brought to our attention until this review.

We use king size sheets for double beds, and all single sheets are particularly large for the mattress. I think you are referring to the skirt that covers the base of the bed, as it is a little short but affects you in no way.

We are a B&B a discernible difference from a hotel. Should you have required anything further - more milk, toiletries etc, you could have used the phone in your room to contact reception and we would have been happy to bring you what ever you required.

It does not take 30 minutes to cook a sausage. Perhaps you have started your watch when you left the room? had your coffee?or when you had your order taken? that's when you should start counting.

Our mantra has been from day one "if we impress, please tell others. If not, please tell us".

Such a shame when such small problems could have been rectified on your stay, instead you kept quiet, said nothing what so ever to then only know about your problems, when you have left and plastered it on the tinterweb.

Thankyou for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bollington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Dined here last night after booking a table only yesterday morning & it appeared we were lucky to get one ! It was very busy. We were shown to our table as soon as we arrived and ordered some drinks whilst we decided what to choose from the extremely varied menu. We eventually made up our minds & the food was brought out shortly after. It was absolutely delicious and much bigger platefuls than we expected! We had actually ordered some extras which we didn't really need because the main meal itself was more than adequate for our appetites. Having said that we then decided to go on and have desserts ! ( again these were huge but absolutely gorgeous ) We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and would be happy to recommend the food We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We were warmly greeted and taken to our room which was warm and well furnished.The evening meal choice was extensive and the food we were served was absolutely delicious. Iwould have no reservations about recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: We part of a group of friends and all our rooms were of the same quality.They all had the same aspec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Fabulous "Dine And Stay" at The Ryles Arms, as well as staying overnight we also had a three course meal and breakfast included in the price. The staff were exceptional upon arrival and throughout out stay, the room was clean and comfortable and our dinner was fantastic, a lovely relaxed atmosphere and really enjoyed our evening. Breakfast was also excellent and we will be recommending this wonderful break to all our friends. It was a really great little break and will definitely be back with some of our pals too! Well done to all the team and thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annetteCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Made a call at 5.20pm on a Saturday requesting a table for 4, sorted, no problem. Arrived at the Ryles Arms and the place was packed but we were led to our table within minutes. Food was, as always, excellent. Service was also excellent. Faultless.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cl1ff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macclesfield
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Central
5.3 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Prestbury
313 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Adlington
8.0 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
377 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryles Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryles Arms

Property: The Ryles Arms
Address: Hollin Lane | Sutton, Macclesfield SK11 0NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Macclesfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Macclesfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ryles Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The real Taste of Cheshire” Set amidst the rolling hills of the Cheshire countryside. The start/finish of the Gritstone Trail, and other rambling routes. The Ryles Arms has long been established as a venue for home cooked food, that offers a welcoming, friendly and relaxed environment. The Ryles Arms has free, secure car parking and the five bedrooms all have en-suite bathrooms, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi.Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served, with much of the produce sourced from the local area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Ryles Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ryles Arms Hotel Macclesfield
The Ryles Arms Macclesfield, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing