We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog Friendly”
Review of The Ryles Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ryles Arms
Ranked #4 of 17 Macclesfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dog Friendly”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Great inn, in the heart of the country yet only five minutes from Macclesfield. Very friendly staff, and dog friendly area to eat in the Pub, they even gave her a chew to eat while we eat our dinner. The room was clean and modern. The food was fantastic and I would recommend you eat here. We took their DB&B rate £120 for two all food you eat at dinner was included,

Pleasant walks from the inn and ample room in the car park. Areas outside to eat if the weather is good and as it was hot even at breakfast time they set us a table up outside which pleased our dog.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jagstang123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    53
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
52
77
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

What more could you ask for - great beer, food, beds and friendly staff. I travel to the area regularly on business and have stayed in several places - but I am pleased I have found this place. Its a little out in the hills, which is fantastic for me. The food is excellent, a little more expensive, but quality superb. People come from miles around to dine here. Rooms are good value, fairly basic but completely adequate. The only thing I would suggest is the wifi connection could be better and is not available at all in rooms. Also mobile phone connection is not great, however some people (including me) would say that is a positive.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stayed for one night mid week. We received a warm, friendly welcome and were shown to our room. The room was comfortable and had everything one would need. We had a few pints at the lovely, old, country pub style restaurant. By this time the place was full of people who had made the trip out to enjoy the food. Once we got the menu it was clear that the food was the main attraction here. There are a wide range of things to choose from and all looked so good was difficult to choose. The meal was fantastic and the portions were not shy. The service was great throughout the evening.

After a comfortable night sleep we were once again met by friendly, helpful service and a delicious breakfast. A few days later i got a call letting me know that a mobile phone charger had been left in the room and arrangements were made to post it back to me.

All round a good experience and I will be back for the brilliant service and to sample some more of the great food.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Six friends met up at this hostelry for a nights stay with a pre-booked restaurant meal .In every way this place exceeded our expectations. As we were 3 couples we had 3 rooms in the excellent converted barn accommodation attached to the hostelry. The rooms were comfortable and well equipped . They were quiet and economic and we had pre-booked the rooms and the restaurant a few weeks in advance. The bed and breakfast cost in June 2013 was £70 per room. Very reasonable we all thought.

The restaurant menu and service was simply brilliant. The food choice would have met anyone's appetite and was of excellent quality and taste. It was obviously a sort after restaurant as evidenced by the fact it was fully booked and people seemed to enjoy it. We did.

Later on in the evening when the restaurant had closed we had a pleasant time at the bar accompanied by the manager. We awoke to a hearty and tasty breakfast of a good choice.

The hostelry is located on a busy side road but very beautiful with local walks on hand.. We also took advantage of that and our party of 6 departed the next morning vowing to come again.

Room Tip: Not a room tip but we found it better value not to have the bed, breakfast and dinner inclusive opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iansheffield_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Went here last night with 7 friends for our annual get together.
We had a table booked for 8:30pm and arrived at 7:30 for drinks etc and were told we could have our table when we wanted.
When we did sit, our waitress came over to through the specials etc and was very friendly and pleasant.
I had the scallops with garlic black pudding balls to start, sea bass for main and honeycomb ice cream for dessert.
The food was absolutely fantastic, especially the starter.
Our waitress was attentive throughout and we ditched our plan to go into town to stay at our table all night instead.
I will definitely be returning and will recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowness on Windermere
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Two of us stayed for one night. It went wrong from the start. We didn't arrive until after 5pm but the room wasn't ready. When we got into it it was so tiny with hardly room to get round the twin beds. There was no TV remote so I went over to the main building and asked for one. They said they would find one and bring it round. After half an hour nobody came so I went over again and asked. After about ten minutes we were given one.

I would be very surprised if anyone had even attempted to clean the bathroom. The wash hand basin had white scum round it. The bath was grubby and the toilet had traces of the previous occupant in it. The fan in the bathroom didn't work. The bathroom was so small that a fan was necessary. There was one small plastic bottle of bath foam and one small plastic bottle of shampoo between two of us. These bottles were grubby with splashes from other people's baths and showers on them.

One of the duvet covers was only half the size of the duvet. It was a waste of time even putting it on. There was not enough of the long life milk for more than one drink each. It was difficult to fill the kettle with water as it wouldn't fit in the sink and the bath tap was difficult to control. also the kettle was half full of water when we arrived. Goodness knows how long it might have been there.

At breakfast, even though there were only three others in the dining room, we had to wait nearly half an hour for one cooked breakfast. My companion only wanted cereal.

This was the worst experience I have had anywhere in an hotel. The place needs a good housekeeper.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joefris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RylesManagement, Manager at The Ryles Arms, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
I think you need a new watch my dear.

According to our records you arrived shortly after 4pm to which I had moved my car for you to allow you to park closer to the building for your disabled husband.

You were very correct the room was not available to you when you arrived as it was the last to be cleaned, however by the time we had shuffled the cars around, the room was ready, your bags were then taken to your room by the staff, and checked in.

The remote must have been stolen or lost the night before and of course we only find these things when we go to the room. So I then rushed off to purchase a spare remote control and batteries which you were told about, hence the half an hour or so.

After this I think you are misleading a lot of people by your review.

Cleanliness of your room, it was all cleaned for you by our housekeeper of 15 years service, not some part time 16 year old, but if it wasn't up to standard it wasn't brought to our attention until this review.

We use king size sheets for double beds, and all single sheets are particularly large for the mattress. I think you are referring to the skirt that covers the base of the bed, as it is a little short but affects you in no way.

We are a B&B a discernible difference from a hotel. Should you have required anything further - more milk, toiletries etc, you could have used the phone in your room to contact reception and we would have been happy to bring you what ever you required.

It does not take 30 minutes to cook a sausage. Perhaps you have started your watch when you left the room? had your coffee?or when you had your order taken? that's when you should start counting.

Our mantra has been from day one "if we impress, please tell others. If not, please tell us".

Such a shame when such small problems could have been rectified on your stay, instead you kept quiet, said nothing what so ever to then only know about your problems, when you have left and plastered it on the tinterweb.

Thankyou for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bollington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Dined here last night after booking a table only yesterday morning & it appeared we were lucky to get one ! It was very busy. We were shown to our table as soon as we arrived and ordered some drinks whilst we decided what to choose from the extremely varied menu. We eventually made up our minds & the food was brought out shortly after. It was absolutely delicious and much bigger platefuls than we expected! We had actually ordered some extras which we didn't really need because the main meal itself was more than adequate for our appetites. Having said that we then decided to go on and have desserts ! ( again these were huge but absolutely gorgeous ) We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and would be happy to recommend the food We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macclesfield
4.9 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
171 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Central
6.5 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Prestbury
302 reviews
7.2 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,518 reviews
7.9 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Adlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryles Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryles Arms

Property: The Ryles Arms
Address: Hollin Lane | Sutton, Macclesfield SK11 0NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Macclesfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Macclesfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ryles Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The real Taste of Cheshire” Set amidst the rolling hills of the Cheshire countryside. The start/finish of the Gritstone Trail, and other rambling routes. The Ryles Arms has long been established as a venue for home cooked food, that offers a welcoming, friendly and relaxed environment. The Ryles Arms has free, secure car parking and the five bedrooms all have en-suite bathrooms, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi.Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served, with much of the produce sourced from the local area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ryles Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ryles Arms Hotel Macclesfield
The Ryles Arms Macclesfield, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing