We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed!”
Review of Oakwood Park Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brampton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oakwood Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brampton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Stayed there with a friend after a week of walking Hadrian's Wall. What a delight! The long driveway hints at faded past glory but once you're in the front door the charm takes over. The 'family team' couldn't do more to make our stay enjoyable (including a ride to the train station). The food was great, well priced and a good selection for vegetarians.
Stayed in a twin room which was much bigger than most and included a sofa. The lounge room was vey comfortable too. If you want a quiet location with a quirky twist you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
38
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Montreux
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

A very pleasant, relatively small country hotel, set in a nice park, well away from trafic.

People are very friendly indeed. Braekfast is delicious, diner is good.

Excellent value for money. We recommend it without any hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr_p_j_seip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We were on our much anticipated hike along Hadrian’s Wall Path, tired and footsore. Oakwood Park Hotel provided the warmth and charm that was the perfect antidote to a long damp day on the pathway. Both dinner and breakfast were superb. The after dinner conversation in the elegant drawing room proved the perfect end to a long day. The rooms were large and comfortable. They also did a much needed load of laundry for us! We awoke refreshed and rested, ready for another day on The Path. Oakwood Park Hotel gets our highest recommendation!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLD2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Oakwood Park Hotel basks in the love of its owners and in the peace and splendour of its own grounds in the Cumbrian countryside.

A 150 year history has placed the deftest of touches on the building and while we are too late, or perhaps too early, to witness the place in its heyday the overall ambience is charming.

The hotel is decorated, hung and furnished with an eclectic style and the bedrooms are clean and comfortable although they lean toward a bygone period. There is an elegant sitting room which boasts an assortment of bric-a-brac and which includes representations of most of Beatrix Potter’s characters. Meanwhile a live gaggle of Jemima Puddleducks patrol the grounds.

The proprietors were as charming and as helpful as the hotel itself.

And when you walk down to the ruins of the old tennis court, if you listen very carefully, you can just hear the faintest echoed clink of lime cordial and Robinsons Barley Water glasses.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff_the_Skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

I must admit that the first impression of the gigantic room that we had here was not wholly positive. I'm something of a minimalist in my taste in hotel rooms and here we were presented with a restrained riot of furniture and objets d'arts crowned by a half canopied bed decorated in apricot frills. The bathroom was similarly ornate but also home to a green bath.

However,closer inspection revealed the true mystery at the heart of this unique establishment. On the lovely mantel was a glass carriage clock, a full sewing kit and, I kid you not, a small chest containing a proper shoe cleaning kit, not one of the gestures towards pedal tidiness that one normally gets but brushes,polish,the lot. Above the mantel was a glamorous gilt mirror. The bathroom was adorned with a huge set of plates featuring vintage seaside scenes.The green bath had one of those massive tap and shower arrangements that promised and delivered lashings of hot water at a rapid rate. There was even a new spare toothbrush and one of those wooden racks across the bath to hold your soap,shampoo and toy boats. Someone was actually thinking about what guests might need.

The lounge was even better. After lurking round the garden before dinner, I spent a good twenty minutes perusing the eclectic display in there with a perfectly presented gin and tonic in hand. There is a half scale turkey model wearing a top hat with the legend "Season's Greetings" across the bottom. There are porcelain figures to gaze at,comfortable chairs to sit in,the happy chat from the kitchen to remind you that someone is making dinner for you,just as if you were in a friend's house for the weekend.

The dinner was good. I had baulked at a dish with dumplings when I first saw it on the menu but I had been wrong.Some cooks can still make them. The stew and dumplings here were superb - take note, Old Yarmouth Port Inn. Huge amounts of vegetables were presented with the main course and the cheese plate was gigantic. No fuss, no pretension, just top quality domestic cooking. They have a simple wine list-a house white and a house red. The red was more than acceptable. Afterwards, in the lounge, there was a jug of coffee and conversation between guests.

I made the wrong choice at breakfast and had the disappointing mushrooms and tomatoes on toast but the cooked breakfast was pronounced excellent by other guests and the two boiled eggs served up with cosies to one of our party were absolutely as they should have been. I would have liked a buffet for the cereals but the service was quick enough not to make it an issue. The coffee was good and freshly made before our eyes in an antediluvian machine.

The house is lovely and loved by its owners. It has a stately hallway and staircase and is full of beautiful and quirky things and even its rough edges have charm. It is run by human beings. I asked if they had a dress code for dining and when the Wendy and Catrina had stopped laughing long enough they told me that I could eat in my slippers if I wanted. I believed them.

A handsome older couple,regulars at Oakwood,asked me,if I was going to review the hotel, to express their total enchantment with the place.They were made to feel so completely at home there that they wanted to make others aware of its unique character. The place isn't in tip top condition,it isn't smart or boutique in any way. You won't get bowing and scraping and you won't get fobbed off with pale imitations of service. You will certainly get a pleasant surprise when you read the bill.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher, England
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

A Victorian country house run as a small hotel, and still retaining an old-fashioned character in the best sense of the word. Comfortable and quiet. Evening meals are ordered beforehand (by 5 p.m.) and are tasty and well presented.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pra51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crediton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2011

The hotel looks very nice on approach. The public rooms are really good, comfy lounge and spacious dining room, but the bedroom was cramped and the bathroom was not very nice (like a plastic wet room on a car ferry). Food was good and plentiful, and it's a short taxi ride from the Hadrian's Wall Trail.

Room Tip: Don't have room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobgould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brampton
4.7 mi away
Gilsland Hall Hotel
Gilsland Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gilsland
267 reviews
2.9 mi away
Farlam Hall Country House Hotel
5.8 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
680 reviews
19.1 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scotch Arms Mews
Scotch Arms Mews
#5 of 26 in Brampton
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Park Hotel

Property: Oakwood Park Hotel
Address: Longtown Road, Brampton CA8 2AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Brampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Brampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious mid-Victorian house, set in its own parkland, offering bed and breakfast accommodation, and evening meals to residents. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oakwood Park Hotel Brampton, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing