We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”
Review of Vallum Barn

Vallum Barn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brampton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vallum Barn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Brampton
stirling
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I stayed at the vallum barn whilst walking the hadrians wall path with a friend. We arrived at the end of a long days walk and were treated to a nice pot of tea and some biccies which were very much appreciated. The place itself was spotlessly clean with nice solid wooden furniture. The room we were in was quite large, the decor was nice and the bed that I slept in was very comfortable. The toilet was spotless and the shower excellent. The breakfast was superb. My friend had porridge and kipper and I had the full cooked. The presentation of my plate was like a picture from a magazine and the flavours matched the visual quality. The sausages in particular were outstanding. I thoroughly recommend staying at the vallum barn.
The pub along the roads good for an evening meal as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maximusscoticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
28
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Easy to find, right in front of the church of Irthington.
We had a very good welcome. The room spacious and the bathroom too, with a nice view to a beautiful backyard.
We could enjoy the lounge for guests, with wifi.
The breakfast is very very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2605anika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We (16yr old son & myself) arrived from our days walk of Hadrian's Wall, after an overview of the wonderfully presented B&B, we were offered the option to buy blister plasters, (this did set me back, considering the fact that the last purchase worked out at 20p each, on a £70 room). We discussed eating options and as the local pub was full, elected to have food delivered. Our immaculate ground floor large room, with a large en-suite was to a very good clean standard. The shower probably needed a faster drain.
We both enjoyed the breakfast, which was an excellent start to a days walking.

Room Tip: Book your evening meal in advance, if eating locally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exocet04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

On entering this lovely B&B it was the WOW factor. As I booked it I was the best . according to my friends. The rooms are wonderful large bathrooms and everything you could need.
a welcome Yes one was upstairs and one downstairs dont understand a previous writer. The location is lovely and breakfast is 10/10 the pub food was very good. the owners very nice and friendly. I travel the world and this gets top marks. Will stay again. from the 4 potty ladies.;

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alicelilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontyclun, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Lovely hosts made us very welcome here. The room was lovely - clean, comfortable and very well appointed. We enjoyed relaxing in the garden before going out for dinner and made even more welcome by their spaniel Meg. Breakfast was excellent and the packed lunch was more than adequate. A very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, the church bells may interfere with your sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed here overnight in mid June on our way to Inverness. The hosts were very pleasant, the rooms nice and large and breakfast was good. However there were some aspects that were disappointing. There are only two rooms, one upstairs, one downstairs. We were given the upstairs room on the rationale that the other guests that night were trekkers who would have a lot of luggage despite the host knowing we were international travellers. As a result we had to lug our 20kg suitcases up the stairs. We met the other guests the next morning and their dog which had stayed in their room overnight. To be honest we are not keen on staying in rooms that have had animals in them. A further surprise at breakfast when the other guests asked the host if it was ok if their dog sat with them at breakfast (we were all at one big table). The host immediately agreed. No consultation with us by the host or the other guests. This may be the norm in the UK but in Australia hygiene standards are such that animals are not allowed in accommodation or eating areas. So if you are doggy friendly it is a great place to stay. If not look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We took a detour from the Hadrian's wall walk to go to Vallum Barn and we were well rewarded for our extra effort! Vallum Barn is a very attractive building. We had a beautifully appointed good sized room and a warm welcome from the host. The breakfast was lovely and we received a good packed lunch for the next day. The nearby Salutation Inn provides an excellent evening meal and is obviously popular with locals and walkers. Vallum Barn is a high quality B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithandHelenF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brampton
4.8 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
991 reviews
4.5 mi away
Farlam Hall Country House Hotel
7.0 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Park Broom Lodge
Park Broom Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crosby on Eden
281 reviews
2.0 mi away
Scotch Arms Mews
Scotch Arms Mews
#4 of 26 in Brampton
135 reviews
7.9 mi away
Bush Nook
Bush Nook
#1 of 8 in Gilsland
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vallum Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vallum Barn

Property: Vallum Barn
Address: Vallum Lyn & William Haugh,Vallum Barn, Irthington, Brampton CA8 7BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Brampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Brampton
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Vallum Barn Brampton, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing