We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy, cosy respite after walk” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quarryside

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brampton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quarryside
Ranked #9 of 27 Brampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boroughbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfy, cosy respite after walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

A welcome relief after a hard days walking. A lovely home, comfy sofas and beds with your every need catered for from tea on arrival to a packed lunch with cake!
The perfect hosts, friendly and welcoming. I would definitely stay again, and plan to, and would recommend to friends and family.

You even get a free lift to and from the local pub for your evening meal! What more could you ask for?

Oh, remember cash or cheque though as no debit/credit card facilities.
If you don't like it here, you really shouldn't be allowed out.

Room Tip: Views excellent north, south, east or west!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    14
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
31
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Had an excellent stay after a long and wet day along the wall, thanks to the exceptional kindness of our hosts, who took us in, helped us to warm up by the cosy fireplace, and sent us off to the nearby pub for a meal on Christmas Eve. Elisabeth was also instrumental in setting us up for the onward journey on Christmas Day.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trickysnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

This B&B is ideal for Hadrian's Wall walkers. The friendly host provides a warm welcome and serves a fantastic breakfast in the mornings. The room was nice and very clean. We stayed in the standard room, sharing a bathroom. The bathroom was beautiful and clean.
The hosts bring you to a local pub and back when you want to eat something in the evening.

We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alveston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

I chose Quarryside because it was ideally situated on the wall and I could stay there for the 6 nights while walking the wall. It is also dog-friendly, with well-behaved dogs allowed in bedrooms, which is not always the case. My dog was made very welcome.
The Hadrian's Wall bus service AD122 goes past the door, so on 2 days I did not have to use a car at all.
David and Elizabeth went out of their way to help - giving lifts to the pub (the Belted Will which gives lifts back again!) and picking us up from Brampton when the bus times didn't quite work.
They provide an excellent breakfast at a time to suit.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: 3 bedrooms are available, one is en-suite and the other two (one twin and one double) share a bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

A strong contender for being one of the best B & Bs along the Hadrian's Wall Path, Quarryside is immaculate, comfortable accommodation with views at the rear across to the fells. We were welcomed with tea, taken on the terrace behind the house, and as others were taken for an evening meal at the Belted Will pub in Halfbankgate, a few miles from the house by car. An excellent breakfast and set of packed lunches, and an excellent stop on the path, after the harder sections if coming from Wallsend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NPassant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed at Quarryside for 1 night during our Hadrians wall walk and it couldn't have been better for us Elizabeth and David are obviously very proud and commited to what they do.
We were a group of 4 and had set off that day to cover the 29 miles from Bowness. Elizabeth the owner rang us at around 6pm to see if we were okay and to check our arrival time. Upon arrival she was very welcoming and just what we needed after a long day out on the "hill" in the rain, when asked if there was a place I could hang my muddy wet waterproofs Elizabeth took them and returned them next day cleaned and dry which was really appreaciated.
After we had time to wash and change David drove us to the pub which was around 5 miles away so we could have a meal and a few drinks, with a return journey driven by the pub landlord a good service that works well for all concerned (the fish and chip night at the pub is very good value with good food).
In the morning the breakfast was well cooked and very enjoyable and again both Elizabeth and David were there smiling and chatty making the stay more pleasurable. Also I would recomend the packed lunches which were great for our day walking.

I would recomend anyone to stay at Quarryside and will be going back again myself.
Thank you Elizabeth and David from the 4 of us in the Pepper group.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelnEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Walking Hadrians Wall in 4 days meant that we had a very long first day, 29 miles.
After that amount of time, the last thing we wanted was a poor experience at the chosen stop-over, the Quarryside...
Well we were not dissapointed! Elizabeth phoned me to check on our progess at around 7:30pm, and after our arrival and time to change and freshen up, David ran us some considerable distance to a pub for some excellent food and a pint, after which the pub ran us back again. A very welcome, symbiotic arrangement.
The accommodation was roomy and the location boasts an awesome views across the Irthing Valley.
The breakfast was equally enjoyable, and Elizabeth had rinsed our waterproofs FOC seeing as there wasn't a lot.

A lovely couple running a lovely place in a lovely spot.... lovely!

Certainly a place i would re-visit.

One little thing though, we all thought te/coffee making would be the icing on the cake. I know Elizabeth likes to make people a cake and cuppa on arrival, but personally I'd prefer the ability to make a cuppa. Only an observation, not a criticism in any way.

I'll be back with the family.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Cliff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brampton
8.8 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
2.6 mi away
Farlam Hall Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Gilsland Hall Hotel
Gilsland Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gilsland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Brookside Villa B&B
Brookside Villa B&B
#3 of 8 in Gilsland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bush Nook
Bush Nook
#1 of 8 in Gilsland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
3.2 mi away
Scotch Arms Mews
Scotch Arms Mews
#5 of 27 in Brampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarryside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarryside

Property: Quarryside
Address: Banks, Brampton CA8 2JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Brampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Brampton
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast accommodation in a modern farmhouse in the tiny hamlet of Banks, on the route of the Hadrian's Wall Path. Great accommodation in a wonderful location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quarryside Brampton, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing