We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A walkers paradise”
Review of Quarryside

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brampton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quarryside
Ranked #8 of 25 Brampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived after a long 15 mile walk from Steel Rig on Hadrians Wall completely exhausted to be welcomed by Elizabeth who immediately sat us down in her lovely lounge and served us with home made muffins and a large pot of tea. Couldn't have been a better host. The rooms are beautiful with very comfortable beds. As there are no local pubs or restaurants
Elizabeth's husband took us by car to the "Belted Will" pub for an evening meal. The Landlord who also happens to be the Chef then took us back in his car to the guest house free of charge! Great service. Breakfast the following morning was outstanding. Many thanks to Elizabeth and David.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank MijasGolfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth H, Owner at Quarryside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for the lovely review. I hope you are enjoying the sunshine in Spain and have lots of customers playing golf.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Me and 7 mates stopped here the first night of our 3 day walk of Hadrians Wall. We were walking late and the owners were more than happy for late arrival. They were even prepared to drive us all to the pub and back for our evening meal and beer HOWEVER due to some of the lads taking even longer, there was only the need to get a lift to collect the ordered fish and chips.
David - owner - met the advance party at the door. No sooner did we arrive the kettle was on. A two man tent was permitted on their back lawn (they saw how knackered we were and I am sure didn't have the heart to ask us to pitch tent on the official ground!). Shower was offered immediately (taken up).
2nd part of the group arrived and were ushered to their rooms to try and relax.
David then drove one of us to get the food. Elizabeth (owner) then arrived and almost immediately we all fell in love with her! She was all our mums rolled into one - fussing over us, giving advice, making tea, drying kit.
It felt like visiting our parent - instantly welcome and told to "just help yourself".
Sleep was undisturbed. Breakfast was make super early for us. Plates were stacked with local produce. Loads of cereal and juice, pots of tea, HOME MADE jam (delish). T-shirts for sale.

We left to fond waves from David and Elizabeth and we had to promise that we'd be back. There is a stunning holiday home there too for families.

Room Tip: Get in a early as you can. Check out the view from the garden. Eat the jam. If you throw the ball fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henstooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth H, Owner at Quarryside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your positive review. It was a surprise and pleasure to see you all eating fish and chips around our kitchen table. I hope you made a lot of money for your charity. Your blisters looked painful but I am glad you made it to the end. I hope to welcome some of you back in the future. Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I will remember Elizabeth's B&B forever! She was so sweet, and we fell in love with her lush backyard, Peggy the dog, Monni the cat, and her delicious coffee! We slept with our windows open to fall asleep to the sound of sheep. Although our bathroom was outside of our bedroom, it had just been remodeled and was very spacious! It was the biggest bathroom we had the whole trip! Her son-in-law came over to drive us to the local pub for dinner, and the chef at the pub actually drove us home! The house was very cozy and welcoming, but Elizabeth's hospitality and personality is what made our stay so enjoyable. It was one of the best accommodations we had during our hike along Hadrian's Wall.

Room Tip: Buy a bottle of wine from the local pub so you can sit in her backyard and enjoy it while you watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth H, Owner at Quarryside, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you. Peggy is on good form and has just been out for a walk. It was nice to talk to you on our patio and thankfully the weather was good. I hope you will come again.
Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a gem of a bed and breakfast establishment, set in a beautiful location on the Hadrian's Wall path and run by friendly people, for whom nothing is too much trouble. Our room was very comfortable and breakfast more than adequate. Although there is precious little else in Banks, the owners will give you a lift to a local pub for dinner (and the pub owner will bring you back. But make sure that you book in advance, particularly if you are walking, as the three bedrooms will soon fill up.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth H, Owner at Quarryside, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your review. You saw Quarry Side at its best in the sunshine. You were fortunate to sit outside on the patio. I enjoyed welcoming you and I hope your stay will be amongst your happy memories.
Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

After a hard day's 15 mile hike from Carlisle we reached the village of Banks and without wavering from the Hadrian's Wall route we arrived at Quarryside B & B which was our stop for the night. This is a beautiful house on the edge of the village. We were shown our rooms by Elizabeth and then she invited us down to her sitting rooom where she made tea and coffee for us which was also supplemented with her home made scones and cakes. Not many places would give such a greeting. Because Banks is quite isolated. David ( Elizabeth's husband) drove us a couple of miles to a lovely restaurant in a neighbouring village, where I had the best fish and chips ever. After our meal Davis took us back to Quarryside. Our rooms were beautifully furnished. Tea, coffee and biscuits were also supplied in each room. After a great night's sleep in the most comfy of beds, we headed for breakfast where the choices were varied and plentiful. David and Elizabeth are a charming couple and run one of the best boarding houses I have have ever stayed in. Dont hesitate to book this place if you can. You wont be disappointed

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_lochiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth H, Owner at Quarryside, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your positive comments. I enjoyed your company and chat and I hope you will come again.
Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed here after the second day of cycling the Hadrian's Cycleway and could not have been happier about my choice. I arrived fairly late as the weather was beautiful and I couldn't resist stopping for a swim in Talkin Tarn close to Brampton. Nevertheless, after a very friendly welcome David gave me a lift to the pub where he had taken the other guests for dinner already - what a brilliant service! The landlord of the pub took us back so you really don't need to worry about having no car while being a few miles away from the next larger village. And if you are on your bike doing the Hadrian's Cycleway west to east you will just have mastered the first steeper climb when you arrive at Quarryside, no detours required as the B&B is right on the route!
My bedroom and bathroom felt cosy and modern as the rest of the house and Elizabeth cooked us a great breakfast. The only downside of this place is that you may not want to leave on a murky morning - not exactly a downside, is it? Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oktanol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth H, Owner at Quarryside, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. I enjoy welcoming cyclists and walkers. I have been busy making muffins for my guests. I hope you will visit us again. Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

What a lovely B&B! Right from the warm welcome received on entering this house, through the escort to the local pub, the filling breakfast and the spacious and comfortable bedroom - everything about this B&B was superb - and it is right on the trail - highly recommended!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank MarkWestbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth H, Owner at Quarryside, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your encouraging comments. We enjoyed having you and I hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brampton hotels
6.5 mi away
Gilsland Hall Hotel
Gilsland Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gilsland
281 reviews
2.6 mi away
Farlam Hall Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Bush Nook
Bush Nook
#1 of 7 in Gilsland
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Howard Arms Hotel
The Howard Arms Hotel
#21 of 25 in Brampton
195 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Belted Will Inn
The Belted Will Inn
#7 of 25 in Brampton
80 reviews
3.2 mi away
Scotch Arms Mews
Scotch Arms Mews
#4 of 25 in Brampton
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarryside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarryside

Address: Banks, Brampton CA8 2JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Brampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Brampton
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast accommodation in a modern farmhouse in the tiny hamlet of Banks, on the route of the Hadrian's Wall Path. Great accommodation in a wonderful location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quarryside Brampton, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing