We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely country house hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Farlam Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Brampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Farlam Hall is a typical English country-house hotel. A pleasant house det in attractive grounds with comfortable public rooms and excellent bedrooms. The hotel is family-run so the sevice is warm and efficient.
An outstanding feature is the food which is quite superb. There is an extensive wine-list, but the mark-up is less than many similar establishments which means you can drink well without breaking the bank.
Overall a lovely place to stay

Room Tip: Room one is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanHYarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

We were staying nearby at a Landmark Trust property but decided to treat ourselves on the Saturday with dinner at Farlam Hall - and what a treat it was!

We arrived in the snow and there was a warm welcome, not only from our hosts, but from the log fire in the lounge.

Our dinner was perfect and the roast guinea fowl beautfully cooked. I cannot recommend this place too highly.

Service, Quality and great attention to detail.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gustav_von_Aschenbac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed two nights at this lovely English country house hotel that is only a few miles from junction 43 of the M6 and yet is set in lovely surroundings. The staff greet you as if you were a house guest rather than as a paying hotel guest and they simply cannot do enough for you. The hotel has none of the threadbare querkiness that some country house hotels have and clearly the owners keep on top of their maintenance schedule. As a consequence the hotel fittings are in good order if a little dated, but there again this is a country house hotel. The chef, who is one of the owners, is first class and I would put his food way above the offering from from a certain TV celebrity chef's restaurant that I had the misfortune to patronise recently. We were attending a relatives 60th birthday bash on the second night with over 40 guests sitting down to a four course meal. There was no difference in the quality of the food, either in taste or presentation, when they catered for the 40 guests compared to the night before when they were catering for only 6. Outstanding! Worth a visit for the food alone!

Room Tip: We heard room 10 is the one to go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

From the moment I arrived, to the moment I left, this was a wonderful experience!
Warm welcome, log fires in beautiful lounges, lovely bedroom with huge en suite, 5 star dinner and service, excellent breakfast. Perfick!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We have visited Farlam Hall several times over the years. Their exceptionally high standards have been maintained throughout the hotel. We stayed in room 10, a spacious, delightful room with a bath and shower room complete with television! Breakfast was a feast, diner a gastronomic experience. There are Wi Fi hot spots available for guests. The grounds and surrounding countryside are beautiful with resident llamas and sheep in the grounds. Carlisle is a short drive away, the castle is worth a visit and Hadrian's Wall a must. In summary, the Quinion family and their staff made our 5 day stay memorable.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The Hall is lovely, small and intimate. The owners looked after us wonderfully and the food was great. We had two bedrooms, one being a little too warm but all the luxury you could wish for. Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This is about the finest and most relaxing hotel my wife and I have stayed in (7-10 August). Family owners and staff very, but not oppressively attentive without ulterior (ie angling for tips) motives. Attention to the most minor details impressive. Also splendid cuisine. Might not suit modern whizz kids looking for glitz and spas, but perfect for us. Anyone posting unpleasant reviews of this exquisite hotel are probably unpleasant, or merely malicious themselves.

David Hollingdale, Edinburgh

Room Tip: Don't think there is a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brampton
4 mi away
Gilsland Hall Hotel
Gilsland Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gilsland
283 reviews
16.5 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,182 reviews
7.3 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Blacksmiths Arms
The Blacksmiths Arms
#13 of 25 in Brampton
136 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bush Nook
Bush Nook
#1 of 7 in Gilsland
359 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Belted Will Inn
The Belted Will Inn
#7 of 25 in Brampton
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farlam Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farlam Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Brampton CA8 2NG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Brampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Brampton
Price Range: £196 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Farlam Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farlam Hall has been run by the Quinion family since 1975. It is an elegant and luxurious country house hotel blending Victorian elegance with modern comfort. It is set in large ornamental gardens and offers the very best of food, comfort and service. The hotel is recognized by all the leading guide books. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Farlam Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farlam Hall Hotel Brampton
Farlam Hall Country House Hotel Brampton, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing