We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B stay”
Review of Abbey Bridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbey Bridge
Ranked #7 of 26 Brampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B stay”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed at the Abbey Bridge near Lanercost Priory on our east-to-west hike of the Hadrian's Wall Path. The hike from Once Brewed to Lanercost was probably our toughest day, so arriving at Abbey Bridge was a wonderful site. We arrived late, but had arranged a cooked dinner there, and they happily served us a late 8pm meal. We soon retired to the room (we were in the "Eden" room) which was very nice, though not particularly large. The wifi signal and shower were both very good. Breakfast the next morning was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dyrewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    27
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
18
40
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
europe
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Off the main road and very quiet in an old forge. Because we were the only couple at dinner we had our personal chief, who served an opulent three course meal for just 20 £ per head on top of the double rate. Including complimentary wifi. Big rooms and a double shower. Never seen before!
Breakfast service was very good again. All over: Go and stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed Friday May 12th for one night - gorgeous place and setting. Room was comfy and clean, and the shower was wonderful! Breakfast couldn't have been better and the owners were friendly.

Great stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SazzyMCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I stayed in the Abbey Bridge on the 22 and 23 January 2012 with 3 friends as part of a shooting party from Northern Ireland. We normally don't expect too much from our B&B on these trips, just a comfortable bed and a good breakfast in the morning. We would usually get a taxi into the local village pub for an evening meal and a few drinks.

The Abbey Bridge exceeded our expectations. We were given a separate house to ourselves, which contained a large lounge with probably the most comfortable sofa I have ever sat on (or tried to get up from), a kitchen and a large dinette with an honesty bar containing local beers and a good selection of wines. We had everything we needed right here and after driving about 2.5 miles into the village of Brampton to stock up on cider and a bottle of gin (there was none in the honesty bar) and some cheese, crackers, pate and pork pies, we returned to the B&B for a very enjoyable and comfortable evening watching TV and playing dominos which are provided.

Breakfast was served next morning in the dinette and there was a good range to choose from including kippers. Guests complete a small breakfast request form the night before and Tim (the owner) cooks your selected breakfast to order. We all had a delicious full English breakfast (not quite an Ulster fry - you've got to come to Northern Ireland for one of these unbelievable breakfasts) with plenty of toast and this really set us up for the day.

The rooms and indeed the whole house was warm and spotlessly clean. Tea/coffee making facilities were in every room along with a TV, hair drier and even a clock radio (a rare thing in many B&Bs). The power shower was amazing and toiletries were all supplied. I noticed too that the toilet roll was very good quality, not cheap paper like is supplied in many other B&Bs). I think this sums up Tim's attention to quality.

Mobile reception is not good but we found if you go outside and walk to the old bridge (10m away) it worked fine there. We are all on O2 btw.

All in all we had a most enjoyable stay at the Abbey Bridge. Tim was very friendly and looked after very well during our stay. I would highly recommend the Abbey Bridge to shooting parties during the winter and it would be perfect for families as it's all self contained. I would definitely choose Abbey Bridge again if we're shooting here again next year.

Room Tip: Mobile reception is not good but if you go outside and walk to the old bridge (10m away) it worked f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildtracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nz
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We booked 8 months in advanced and were a party of 2 lots of couples. However one lot was put in the new part of the building and the other couple was in the old building - we would have thought since booking so far in advanced we would have been put in the same building. Our room in the new one was cramped and the one in the old part was dark and musty ....also thought the breakfast was basic and limited in choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nearyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
675 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 888 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Myself and a friend stayed one night in a twin room (Askerton)

Consists of two separate buildings: Abbey Bridge (the owners ran it as a family pub until 5 years ago) and Blacksmiths (a former Blacksmiths cottage, but originally built as a hostelry). 

Quiet location 2.5 miles away from the newest town (Brampton). 

Twin room contains:
3 drawer bedside cabinet with twin desklamps and clock radio/alarm. 
8 drawer cabinet with mirror. Electronic hairdryer. 
4 drawer cabinet with Sony Wega widescreen TV and Ferguson Freeview box on top. 
Kettle with tea/coffee/hot chocolate making facilities and 2 mugs. 
2 seater wicker chair.
Floor lamp. 
Wall radiator. 
2 door wardrobe with numerous hangars and suitcase stand. 
Ensuite bathroom with sink, bath/Mira shower and toilet. 2 handtowels, 2 bathsheets and 1 floor towel. Bin. Towel radiator. Shaver socket (115V). Mirror with light. Soaps and lotions. 2 cups. 
Typed instructions and hand-drawn maps (laminated) for two walks starting from the B&B: Four Woods and a Castle (6+ miles) and Normans, Romans and Countrymen (4 miles). 

The Abbey Bridge rooms are named after local castles. The Blacksmiths rooms are named after local rivers.

Abbey Bridge guest lounge - featuring 3 seater sofa and 3 comfortable chairs, coffee table with magazines, Sony widescreen TV/Freeview box/DVD player, log fire, several board games, walking books and local maps. 
There is a second guest lounge in Blacksmiths as well. 

Free WiFi (ask for access code). 

Dinner and breakfast served in the dining room of Blacksmiths. For a cooked breakfast, complete and hand in the breakfast order form the night before. 

NB. There are pubs in Bramptons (2.5 miles from B&B) including Howard Arms and Huntingdons. Taxis available. There are ATMs for Barclays and HSBC in Brampton.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonotennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We had a very comfortable night at Abbey Bridge. The accomodation was very good and had been refurbished quite recently.
There were a couple of things that detracted from our stay. There wasn't anywhere to change out of dirty boots and no drying room for wet clothes. The most disappointing thing was the packed lunch - two small pieces of brown bread with tuna and mayo, a small chocolate biscuit and a bag of crisps - total value 50p - Cost to us £5.00. Great place but the packed lunch was a bit of a rip off.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snogweed, Owner at Abbey Bridge, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
We are glad that the guests had a very comfortable night and found the accomodation to their liking. We do have a large and a small drying room (see next review) and guests are informed of this on arrival and in the information pack to be found in each room. On the day of this stay the weather was dry and none of our guests requested that their boots or clothes be dried.

I note the comments about the packed lunch. We try to provide value for money. The guests' description of what is offered is exaggerated and the cost underestimated especially when labour, overheads etc. are taken into account, however we will take the underlying sentiment on board and look at what we can do to improve our offer to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brampton
17.5 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,109 reviews
23.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
683 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bush Nook
Bush Nook
#1 of 8 in Gilsland
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Scotch Arms Mews
Scotch Arms Mews
#4 of 26 in Brampton
132 reviews
5.1 mi away
Brookside Villa B&B
Brookside Villa B&B
#2 of 8 in Gilsland
309 reviews
21.4 mi away
Fairshaw Rigg
Fairshaw Rigg
#1 of 1 in Low Gate
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Bridge

Property: Abbey Bridge
Address: Lanercost, Brampton CA8 2HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Brampton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Brampton
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Abbey Bridge Brampton, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing