We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beatiful but not very friendly”
Review of Abbey Bridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbey Bridge
Ranked #7 of 26 Brampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Abbey Bridge B and B looks very beautiful both at the outside and inside, and the rooms were comfortable enough. But the service did not impress us. We were told to hurry during breakfast because more people were coming, and the packed lunch we had was small and not worth the money we paid for it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Abbey Bridge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

As a B&B, the Abbey Bridge definitely punches above its weight! From the outside, it is absolutely beautiful, giving a very good first impression. The small garden area visible at the front is very neat and tidy and the buildings look fabulous. We have stayed here twice previously and I would guess that a lot of work has gone into the place over the last few years. Inside, our bedroom was quite plain and simple, but nicely furnished, comfortable and everything spotlessly clean. It was my impression that the Abbey Bridge is used mostly by walkers doing Hadrian's Wall. There were lots of people there when we stayed, mostly though just staying one night as far as I could tell. We pre-ordered a set evening meal and it was very good indeed. There is no menu to choose from and everyone sits at the same large table, but it was fine for us (and this is a B&B so being able to order something to eat in the evening is a bonus). Breakfast was fruit juice, cereals, yoghurt and toast, followed by a really first class cooked breakfast. Attention was clearly paid to quality, the orange juice was proper fresh orange and the cooked breakfast ingredients were very good quality. There is an honesty bar, where you can just go and help yourself to drinks and leave a note, paying along with your bill. We had a bottle of wine, which was very good and a decent price. The location is extremely quiet and peaceful, great for walking and relaxing. The owners were lovely and very helpful, they have obviously put a lot of time, money and effort into the Abbey Bridge. We were inspired by the "Hadrian walkers" at the evening meal to do the walk ourselves, so we will make sure that the Abbey bridge is one of our stops!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We arrived tired and wet an had a warm welcome - room was very comfortable and well kept. Honesty Bar - good wines. Spacious rooms. Free Wifi. Excellent dinner with good company

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeDGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed at the Abbey Bridge near Lanercost Priory on our east-to-west hike of the Hadrian's Wall Path. The hike from Once Brewed to Lanercost was probably our toughest day, so arriving at Abbey Bridge was a wonderful site. We arrived late, but had arranged a cooked dinner there, and they happily served us a late 8pm meal. We soon retired to the room (we were in the "Eden" room) which was very nice, though not particularly large. The wifi signal and shower were both very good. Breakfast the next morning was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dyrewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Off the main road and very quiet in an old forge. Because we were the only couple at dinner we had our personal chief, who served an opulent three course meal for just 20 £ per head on top of the double rate. Including complimentary wifi. Big rooms and a double shower. Never seen before!
Breakfast service was very good again. All over: Go and stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed Friday May 12th for one night - gorgeous place and setting. Room was comfy and clean, and the shower was wonderful! Breakfast couldn't have been better and the owners were friendly.

Great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SazzyMCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I stayed in the Abbey Bridge on the 22 and 23 January 2012 with 3 friends as part of a shooting party from Northern Ireland. We normally don't expect too much from our B&B on these trips, just a comfortable bed and a good breakfast in the morning. We would usually get a taxi into the local village pub for an evening meal and a few drinks.

The Abbey Bridge exceeded our expectations. We were given a separate house to ourselves, which contained a large lounge with probably the most comfortable sofa I have ever sat on (or tried to get up from), a kitchen and a large dinette with an honesty bar containing local beers and a good selection of wines. We had everything we needed right here and after driving about 2.5 miles into the village of Brampton to stock up on cider and a bottle of gin (there was none in the honesty bar) and some cheese, crackers, pate and pork pies, we returned to the B&B for a very enjoyable and comfortable evening watching TV and playing dominos which are provided.

Breakfast was served next morning in the dinette and there was a good range to choose from including kippers. Guests complete a small breakfast request form the night before and Tim (the owner) cooks your selected breakfast to order. We all had a delicious full English breakfast (not quite an Ulster fry - you've got to come to Northern Ireland for one of these unbelievable breakfasts) with plenty of toast and this really set us up for the day.

The rooms and indeed the whole house was warm and spotlessly clean. Tea/coffee making facilities were in every room along with a TV, hair drier and even a clock radio (a rare thing in many B&Bs). The power shower was amazing and toiletries were all supplied. I noticed too that the toilet roll was very good quality, not cheap paper like is supplied in many other B&Bs). I think this sums up Tim's attention to quality.

Mobile reception is not good but we found if you go outside and walk to the old bridge (10m away) it worked fine there. We are all on O2 btw.

All in all we had a most enjoyable stay at the Abbey Bridge. Tim was very friendly and looked after very well during our stay. I would highly recommend the Abbey Bridge to shooting parties during the winter and it would be perfect for families as it's all self contained. I would definitely choose Abbey Bridge again if we're shooting here again next year.

Room Tip: Mobile reception is not good but if you go outside and walk to the old bridge (10m away) it worked f...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildtracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brampton
5.5 mi away
Gilsland Hall Hotel
Gilsland Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gilsland
274 reviews
23.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
704 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bush Nook
Bush Nook
#1 of 8 in Gilsland
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lanercost Equestrian and Country
5.1 mi away
Brookside Villa B&B
Brookside Villa B&B
#2 of 8 in Gilsland
332 reviews
2.0 mi away
Scotch Arms Mews
Scotch Arms Mews
#4 of 26 in Brampton
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Bridge

Address: Lanercost, Brampton CA8 2HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Brampton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Brampton
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Abbey Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Bridge Brampton, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing