We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic and relaxing”
Review of Low Rigg Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brampton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Low Rigg Farm
Ranked #15 of 25 Brampton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Myself and my family stayed here while walking Hadrian's Wall recently and it was a really lovely place to stay. All of the rooms were comfortable and clean. After a long day's walk it was a relaxing place to rest our weary legs. All of the beds were ideal and we never noticed any bunk beds. We all slept well! Although for one of our rooms the bathroom was across the hallway, it was our private bathroom and no-one else used it. We didn't find this a problem at all.

The breakfast the next morning was a great way to start the day and the home made breads and jams were delicious! We all enjoyed our brief stay here and would certainly stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 678SarahS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

While walking Hadrian's Wall, we had the bad fortune to stay one night at Low Rigg Farm. The only way in is through ankle deep cow dung, the hostess had no time for us, the twin room was tiny and full of the families stuff, not a flat surface to be had to put our things on. The beds were a kids bunk bed that had been set down to make to kid's size singles. The odor was overwhelming, in a bad way. The bath across the hall was shared with family. Just a really, really bad stay. Absolutely the worst place we stayed during our month in England.

Room Tip: Try the High Rigg Farm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MuddyMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

While walking Hadrian's Wall, we had the good fortune to stay one night at Low Rigg Farm. Anne was a most gracious host (despite being ill), and had a lovely bed & breakfast. We were fortunate enough to have an ensuite room, with a fantastic view. I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a nice dinner at the local tea room, which was arranged by Anne.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christinagail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stayed here one night while walking Hadrians wall Path.
The farm is situated 1/4 mile out of the village with lovely views over the northern Pennines.
This is a busy working farm but has a nice garden and patio area for relaxing.
The twin room was adequate, this is an old house, with the bathroom across the corridor.
There was plenty of hot water for a leisurely soaking bath - an important criterion!
The local pub is closed at present but a taxi can be taken to nearby Brampton.
There is however a nice tea room in the village - closes about 5pm.
The breakfast was of a high quality with fresh locally made ingredients - as you would expect on a farm.
This was a very pleasant stay with the owner going out of her way to make us welcome and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prudol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed here as part of a cycle along the Hadrian's Cycleway. It's a lovely, friendly place to stay that is definitely recommended. The dinner provided by the owner was ideal - nice home cooking.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here on the 3rd day of our Wall walk, a very long day having walked nearly 18 miles. The farm is just outside Walton & is as near to perfect as I think you can get. After moving cars & showering we sat outside with some beers, we had a meal organised which was great & at the end we finished off the wine, again sat outside. Great breakfasts & packed lunches.
Wish we'd booked 2 nights here instead of the Carlisle hotel we used.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank covblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

After cycling/driving all day on our charity cycle ride, Low Rigg provided a good and comfortable night's sleep along with a very warm welcome from its owner. The rooms are all a good size although sharing a bathroom wasn't great - it is understood in a working farm.
One small criticism - the walls are a little thin so noisy neighbours in other rooms can be a bit of an issue but the comfy beds do make up for that!
The breakfast was delicious and so obviously fresh - highly recommend before a strenuous day in the saddle.
Great to see the calves - but do remember this is a working farm so those not used to or liking the smell - think, some of us didn't mind but others weren't so keen!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eandkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brampton hotels
6.8 mi away
Gilsland Hall Hotel
Gilsland Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gilsland
285 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Howard Arms Hotel
The Howard Arms Hotel
#22 of 25 in Brampton
198 reviews
4.3 mi away
Farlam Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Greenhead Hotel
Greenhead Hotel
#3 of 11 in Brampton
125 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Blacksmiths Arms
The Blacksmiths Arms
#13 of 25 in Brampton
136 reviews
5 mi away
The Belted Will Inn
The Belted Will Inn
#8 of 25 in Brampton
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Rigg Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Rigg Farm

Address: Walton, Brampton CA8 2DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Brampton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Brampton
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Low Rigg Farm Brampton, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing