We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lakeview Country Club
Reviewed 13 June 2014

These A frame lodges are extremely spacious and comfortable...we had a good deal

for last minute and were a little appehensive but we can see the site is being improved

It was very quiet and relaxing and plenty of space between the lodges .

Perhaps a bit more attention to detail could be applied ..eg where was the shower curtain?ended spraying water everywhere downstairs
couldn,t understand how to work the upstairs shower.

Bits of the fridge were broken..etc., some kitchen items missing - no inventory

the lodges are huge though with 2 big bathrooms and a huge front bedroom need better

quality mattresses though

Some garden furniture would be nice on the balcony and outside - tables and chairs

rather than the pub style table and stools - diffiicult to sit on as you get older need something
to be be able to relax and sun yourself

Nice to have a dishwasher though .

The pool is very pleas ant although a little small ..as to cleaning all round the side is grime

needs a good clean.....also where are the entry showers everyone getting in dirty

The changing rooms are antiquated and dated ..like old school changing rooms, and a long
way from the pool

the floor is always wet and needs some lockers and shower gel to make it country club standard.

I think if Lakeview is going to call itself a country club it has along way to go

as ones expectations are high and something special desired.


However we realise there is a change of owner and things can only get better I am sure

The lake was divine to walk around .

The location is also very good as it is central to both north and south devon

So on balance we will return as the accommodation is so spacious and comfortable

and well spaced apart

Room Tip: Ask for a sunny facing lodge away from the main reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank oldharryDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my friends went to the spa for a mini spa day for my hen do. The staff made us feel very welcome in the spa and we had a relaxing time. We will definately be back! The only let down was the welcome we got in the bar when we went for a tea and cake.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed in a chalet, for 3 nights. Lovely accommodation, whole site beautifully laid out and maintained. Ate in Hardy's bar, excellent food and service. Overall a good experience. Would recommend to anyone wanting a good relaxing base in Cornwall.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stuarthayleysasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeviewCC, Manager at Lakeview Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for leaving us a review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Lakeview and that you found our site to be well presented.

I shall pass your kind comments on to our restaurant team who will be delighted that you enjoyed their food.

We hope to see you back at Lakeview in the future

Best Wishes

Lakeview Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had a good deal and stayed in an A-frame lodge. For the price it was very luxurious and well fitted. It seemed very spacious with four of us; two adult and two small boys.

The whole resort was quiet, the main activities seem to be fishing and golf, so perfect for the dad who doesn't like his family. The indoor swimming pool is small but warm with a mall semi-detached toddler bit.

There s a restaurant and a bar which we didn't use but looked nice. We got a little noise from a wedding on Saturday night but nothing the other nights and our lodge was about as close to the restaurant as it was possible to be.

The resort is about equally spaced between the north and south coast and about 25 mins from everything; Eden, Heligan, Padtstow, Newquay etc. You definitely need a car.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeviewCC, Manager at Lakeview Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thankyou for taking the time to leave us a review, we very much appreciate your feedback.

We are pleased that you found Lakeview the perfect base from which to explore Cornwall and as you say, as we are in Central Cornwall, we are very close to both coasts and all major attractions

Please look out for our 2015 brochure that will be out later this year

Kind Regards

Management,
Lakeview Cornwall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a lodge for four nights and found the accommodation average but well equipped - what you would expect from a self catering cabin/caravan and it was very spacious.
We loved the huge bathroom with Jacuzzi bath and power shower.
The place was crawling with spiders, but me and my boyfriend aren't bothered at all by them so didn't complain!
There is loads to do at the park if you are lucky enough to go when there is good weather, we were not and found ourselves quite bored on a number of occasions. There was no info in the welcome booklet about anything at all that you would expect such as nearby shops, towns, things to do and places to et etc which was annoying.
We did use the spa which was lovely and used the pool once but it was very small and wasn't really big enough to do lengths in but nothing entertaining for kids there so just bobbed around. Didn't use the gym.
Had a meal in the restaurant and were told to book previously as it gets busy but we were the only people there for the duration of our meal. Lovely food!
All in all had a good getaway but would have been made so much better with a few little extra info about surrounding area and more stuff to do in bad weather.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Georgie_Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeviewCC, Manager at Lakeview Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We value your feedback, particularly as we are always looking to ensure that Lakeview presents itself to a high standard.

Firstly, your comments about the accommodation being average are understandable for some of our lodges. Since Winter, we have being gradually refurbishing our lodges and have managed to improve the majority of lodges. The remaining lodges should be improved to a good standard by July 2014. We are delighted that you found your lodge to be very spacious and well equipped, particularly as we like to be able to offer ourselves as a relaxing home from home.

In reference to your comments about there being "loads to do" if the weather is nice, it is a great shame that the weather was not better for your stay. We are very much a countryside resort with acres of green space, lakes and golf course but we duly note your comments and we are looking into a variety of indoor activities that can be carried out whatever the weather. We currently have a new sauna being fitted within the pool and leisure area and we have a kids zone being fitted upstairs where there will be a variety of table tennis, pool, games console and soft play activities available. All of these sit alongside other activities such as football, tennis, volleyball, boules and croquet. We also offer laser clay shooting and archery in peak periods.

It would be great to welcome you back to Lakeview in the future and we are sure that you will be impressed with the continued investment into improving facilities. Please lookout for our 2015 brochure out later this year.

Best Wishes

Lakeview Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed in a luxury lodge, superb accommodation, as well appointed as any 5* hotel I've stayed in. very polite and helpful staff, only sorry I was only able to stay the one night. Will definitely be back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Day 1
Nobody seemed to have a clue or was bothered about what was going on and all just going about own thing and not worried about clients requirements when things needed dealing with.
Rabbits in headlights comes to mind.

Lodge 3 assigned
Stained carpets
Dirty / Stained mattress covers on 3 of the 3 beds
Surrounding area to hut like a bog and smell of damp and stagnant water in hut- son couldn't play outside due to this (very frustrated 6 year old)
Issue with boiler and no button to set heating
Noisy plumbing throughout, not good when have kids asleep in evenings
Very expensive and in my opinion not worth the money you're charged, u definitely don't get the level ud expect for what u pay
Glass Shelves in master bathroom wobbling off of wall
When I told front desk on the first evening of water smell and damp issue and ask whether we could move huts I was told internet was down so couldn't check if possible to move until next morning (The feeling I got from the look on the face of the young lady on the desk was of someone that knew of the issues around ours / some of the huts and that this wasn't the first time she'd heard these complaints)
Aggro all around not needed after a long trip and long day getting here...
Next morning... Grass strimmer noise outside window from 07:30 just to wake us up (woke our son up in a very grouchy mood that lasted most of the day so a big thanks for that) and put everyone in a bad mood
Internet was still down in morning...Heard that it had been for 3 days.
Shower door wouldn't slide
Towel warmer dirty in master bathroom and ud never put a towel on it

Day 2
Moved to lodge 36...
Visited by staff in lodge 3 before leaving in morning for the day out and told balcony broken in lodge 36.
Balcony was broken when we got there...
A slightly different apartment with less smell but was a lot more dated and could have done with a proper deep clean
Curtain hooks falling out of wall
Carpets stained again but this is probably a trait because all huts seem to be really needing attention
Tried swimming pool and changing rooms for pool where a joke with just 2 benches and nowhere to put your belongings when in swimming pool
Steam room was out of order.

I picked this resort for its additional amenities and it's huts and really wish Id have saved £200+ and stayed in a normal hotel or holiday park.

In whole the cosmetics of the whole resort are just touched up on the surface to the most minimal but it all felt old, grubby and in need of a major investment and overhaul.
It put a spoiler on our holiday and put us all in a bad mood for the first couple of days of stay.

I've stayed on better Holiday camps and in better caravans and will be staying in one of them next time in Cornwall.

Gutted with experience and the waste of money.

Please think twice before staying at this resort if u want to enjoy ur holiday in Cornwall and don't feel you've been duped in to thinking this place is above any other resort.

Check out was stated as 08:00-11:00 on booking.com, so obviously taken as being out by 11:00, but at hotel they asked for us to be out by 10:00. When u have a family this is quite hard to do with all the packing and getting ready and the 11:00 was what was needed and wanted.
Communication with booking facilities on net need to be reviewed.

I'm sure there are a lot better places for a lot cheaper.

Cornwall was amazing though which made things bearable.

Room Tip: I don't believe there are any good rooms... however I didn't view the 3 bed lodges so cannot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeviewCC, Manager at Lakeview Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and firstly, please accept our sincere apologies that your holiday did not meet your expectations. I would like to respond in full, to the comments you have left, particularly as we aim to offer our visitors a great time at Lakeview.

On your first evening with us, you did come to reception to inform us of the issues you had with Lodge 3 - unfortunately at the time we had no other lodge vacancies on site and therefore we could not move you to another lodge, in order for you to enjoy the rest of your stay. We did, however, take an immediate course of action to call out an emergency drainage company who reviewed the area around your lodge the next day. This issue was rectified promptly and was a result of a large storm that hit us in the 24 hours leading up to your arrival. This was also the reason our internet was down at reception, however, the WIFI was still operational.

The following morning, we took action to find a suitable vacant lodge for you, in the event that the drainage company could not resolve the problem. Upon your return to Lakeview after a day out, we were able to move you into Lodge 34. I can appreciate it is a huge upheaval having to move to another lodge, however, we knew that Lodge 34 had not suffered the same problem as Lodge 3.

In response to your comments about the lodges, we rarely receive any complaints of cleanliness issues, however, you had stated that you thought the lodges were 'grubby' - I shall pass your comments on to our Housekeeping team so that they are aware of this in order to rectify for the future. We are currently undergoing a huge lodge renovation program and the changes we are making will address all of the comments you have made but we appreciate your honest opinion. Unfortunately, having started and completed many other lodges, Lodge 3 has not yet been refurbished. Despite this, we still receive fantastic feedback that our lodges are clean and tidy with all the amenities required for an enjoyable stay.

I can only apologize that our Grounds Team woke you up at 7.30am. Our policies state that they are not to carry out any work around the lodges until after 10am, therefore, I shall discuss this with them to find out how this could have happened. I will also pass your comments on to our reception team who usually receive extremely positive feedback, as backed up by the majority of comments left on our TripAdvisor page. They will be bitterly disappointed that they were not able to offer the level of service that you had expected.

I would like to make specific reference to your comments about our lodges being "Huts" because the term 'huts' may of course misrepresent the quality and size of our lodges. Many lodges are three to four bedrooms in size and are quite often viewed as a home from home with decent sized kitchens and living areas, spacious rooms, TV's in every bedroom and other amenities.

Our company acquired Lakeview in April 2013 and they have invested significantly in improving the facilities on site, the decor in the lodges and the general presentation of the site. It is unfortunate that we are unable to remedy all issues raised in your feedback immediately but lodge refurbishments are very much in progress and we already have many lodges that do meet our customer expectations.

We like to think that we price ourselves accordingly in the holiday market for the facilities that we offer and May Half Term is a peak week in the year for which we charged you a total of £159 per night for 3 people which equates to just £53 per person per night for a lodge that could have slept up to 6 people. Our prices are per lodge. We all understand that perhaps you could have stayed in a hotel or at another site, however, with 200 acres of countryside grounds, lakes, leisure facilities and a range of sports equipment to hire free of charge (Refundable Deposit), Lakeview does offer a family everything they need as a base to explore Cornwall.

As we progress through 2014, there will be a variety of other improvements that will be made to Lakeview and whilst you may not feel you would like to return again, we would always welcome you back to our resort so that we can show you the results of ongoing improvements and hopefully meet your expectations. I will contact you by email so that you have my direct contact details in the event that you would like to discuss your stay with us, further.

Best Wishes

Management, Lakeview Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bodmin hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterside Cornwall
Waterside Cornwall
#1 of 5 in Lanivet
43 reviews
3.8 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
355 reviews
0.9 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
206 reviews
10.9 mi away
No photo provided
Paths End B&B
#1 of 1 in Saint Teath
44 reviews
2.9 mi away
Treliver Farm
Treliver Farm
#1 of 1 in Saint Wenn
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Country Club

Address: Old Coach Road | Lanivet, Bodmin PL30 5JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Bodmin
Number of rooms: 69
Also Known As:
Lakeview Country Club Hotel Bodmin
Lakeview Country Club Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing