We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bodmin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lakeview Country Club
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just came back from a 4 night stay in one of the A frame lodges. Upon our arrival we were greeted by friendly faces on reception. The accommodation has recently been refurbished to a very high standard and the lodges are spacious and comfortable. Our only gripe was that the floor boards above the living room were very creaky and as we had 2 sleeping on the pull out sofa it resulted in a disturbed nights sleep for those below. Apart from that though our stay was everything it hoped it would be. The swimming pool was lovely and warm, gym was good although a bit dated but on chatting to one of the guys working there we found out it is a work in progress and new equipment will be delivered shortly. We didn't really like walking through the shared corridor in our swim suit to the pool and the changing room is a bit basic but that's being picky on the minor details. The grounds are lovely and well kept, bigger newer play equipment for kids would be a fab addition. We had two lodges next door to one another and the children enjoyed playing on the grass between the lodges. Overall this place was a lovely quiet spot to stay and as a good place to visit other destinations. Will definitely be returning and look forward to see the continued improvements.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 00sun-seeker00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Just had the most enjoyable family break at Lakeview. We stayed in an A frame lodge which was surprisingly spacious and very well equipped for a self-catering stay. My active 11 year old son loved the tennis, fishing and golf and my 13 year old daughter loved the swimming pool and a trip to the beauty spa. Even our Labrador got to stay and I took her running around the grounds every morning.
The fishing lake and little bridges is much more picturesque than the photos. Really pretty. We had drinks on the terrace in the sun and ate in the restaurant most nights and although there are only a few items on the menu, it's done really well. Can strongly recommend the fish and chips with the chef's light batter.
We were worried about the location not being close enough to the coast, but we could get to Deymar beach (where dogs are allowed) in under 30 minutes. Hawker's Bay (also for dogs) is absolutely stunning, so well worth a trip.
The staff were all friendly and helpful. We saw a wedding party there and would agree the lake would make great wedding backdrop photos. I heard the new management are making some changes and renovating the Manor House which will be gorgeous overlooking the lake, especially for weddings. We'll try and book into that accommodation next time.
Overall, we had a great, relaxing, country meets coast holiday, which we thought was excellent value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeviewCC, Manager at Lakeview Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your review of Lakeview. We are genuinely delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our central location was the perfect base for you to explore Cornwall.

You rightly mention that we are currently turning the Manor House in to a fantastic Bed & Breakfast facility with well equipped rooms finished to a high standard and we would be delighted if you were to come and visit us again.

The great thing about Lakeview is that we make continued strides in upgrading the lodges and general facilities and now have the bulk of the work completed with additional lodge upgrades happening this Autumn/Winter

Once again, thank you for your kind review, it is very much appreciated and our staff will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your holiday

Best Wishes

Management
Lakeview Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just returned from our 2nd visit to lakeview. Last time we stayed in a A frame got a good price and enjoyed it. This time we upgraded to a Long Island with hot tub. Lodge a great size with all you could ask for ( dishwasher, oven, jacuzzi etc ) however there were some negatives........ Stains on the lounge carpets, patio curtains could do with a deep clean, sofas very tired! Power shower in master ensuite - door dodgy- tends to flood the bathroom floor and very hard to get a temperature that doesn't burn you......luckily there were 2 other showers we could use in the lodge instead - where screens and temperature were not a problem! Hot tub was fab.....shame that the decking hadn't been re-stained prior to our visit as this made it look tired and unkept...... A lakeview man did ask us on Wednesday if they could stain it then - I refused as this just is not what I signed up for!!! Last year "major" refurb plans were stated ready for this summer - I failed to see any other than a lick of paint in the bar and the bistro which was very good but also very limited in its menu.
Don't get me wrong it's ok but just does not live up to luxury as it states but when you pay good money you expect luxury to be just that ....luxury. Wifi is also a must to move this resort forward to keep up with competitors such as retallick who is only a few miles away.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulap90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeviewCC, Manager at Lakeview Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your detailed review. This type of feedback is always appreciated and we very much listen to what our customers are saying.

You very correctly state that Lakeview has been undergoing major refurbishment and whilst the particular lodge that you stayed in was not, in your opinion, at the level you had expected, I can assure you that we continue to make progress in upgrading our lodges with approximately 50% now upgraded and redecorated. Over the course of this winter, we shall continue the progress with a view to having all of our lodges refurbished by next spring.

We are currently upgrading our leisure suite, installing a new sauna and will shortly have one of our lakes dedicated as an activity lake that will include canooeing and other water sports. We have recently appointed a new head chef in our restaurant, who comes to us with a multitude of awards and we are receiving very good feedback about the new menu in place that sources local produce.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the hot tub at your lodge and with the planned upgrades, we are confident that if you were to return to Lakeview again next year, you will be pleasantly surprised with the outcome.

At the time of your stay, we were having WIFI installed across the site and this amenity is now functional.

Once again, we very much appreciate your review and would love for you to return again to see the progress we have made. In the autumn, we are launching our new Lakeview Manor House which will comprise of 6 high spec rooms, furnished to a very high standard with views over looking our stunning lakes.

Kind Regards

Management,
Lakeview Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Long Island Bungalow for 3 nights over the Mother's Day weekend. Also booked here so that we could enjoy the spa facilities. On arrival we were informed that the spa was closed for refurbishment. We were obviously extremely disappointed as this was one of the main reasons why we had booked. The bungalow itself was very tired looking. Paintwork was chipped , big cracks in wall. TV didn't work in one of the bedrooms, no shower screen on one of the showers. All it would need is a bit of a spruce up and this place would be back to how it should be. Location is ideal as you can easily get to most places .

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayqueenExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeviewCC, Manager at Lakeview Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback.

Since you stayed at Lakeview in March we have undergone somewhat of a major transformation with some work still to complete this autumn/winter. Due to the abysmal weather last winter, we were pressed for time and perhaps didn't get as far as we would have hoped but with many lodges refurbished and several to complete this winter, we are sure that you would find a huge improvement should you return to visit us.

We are delighted that you found us to be well located and with the improvements we have made and continue to make, we hope that you would find we have addressed your valid points. The spa is refurbished and is open with a new sauna about to be installed. We have a new Fitness Suite that is a few weeks away from completion in what has been a major overhaul and our newly appointed Director of Fitness aims to transform our leisure offering so that there is something for everyone.

Finally, we have converted the Lakeview Manor House, overlooking the lakes, into a 6 Bedroom B&B, decorated to a high standard with fantastic interior design, therefore, we are ever evolving and with a lot of good feedback, we feel we are not far off being the prime resort to welcome our customers to.

We hope to see you back at Lakeview and should you wish to return, please contact Richard Yeo to discuss your future stay.

Best Wishes

Management,
Lakeview Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We booked as a family of 7 to stay in a VIP bungalow for 3 nights, on arrival we found the staff to be helpful and courteous and were even allowed to check in early as our lodge was ready. The lodge was stunning, had been recently refurbished and really was a home from home. The hot tub was ready for use immediately (we had requested this be the case at booking).
On the other hand, when one of our party had a serious accident, we contacted reception to find there was no first aider on site, and no assistance or concern was offered as we tried to transport them to hospital (different staff to checkin). In the end we had to contact emergency services who assisted them to hospital where they were treated overnight.
Our biggest disappointment was on arrival being informed that hardy's was closed due to unforeseen circumstances, and were told would be open on the Sunday. As a family we booked for a Sunday roast, only to receive a phone call to say it would not be available 2 hours before we had planned to eat, and after considering an alternative of only 3 main course options decided to go to a local pub instead.
These problems highlighted aside I would recommend staying here as the lodge made up for the problems and it is placed in an ideal location for exploring Cornwall.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Hardy's bar and restaurant was absolutely amazing,best thing to happen to Lakeview in a long time! My mother is elderly and so I take her out for days out and she often wanted to go for a drink and a chat at Hardy's. I cannot fault the food,or service,and the owners were a complete delight to everyone. Also,the changes they put in place such as the decking are brilliant and a massive improvement (especially in this lovely weather we have had). I have never heard a bad comment about them,and have recently been telling everybody to go there,which is why i'm extremely disappointed to hear they are not open anymore due to ' unforeseen circumstances' which I read on the Lakeview Facebook page. I'm not sure of the exact reason behind this,but i'm extremely disappointed and will be following them wherever they hopefully end up.
Good luck finding a replacement to fill their place,high standards to match! I wish you all the best!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emily a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeviewCC, Manager at Lakeview Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review

Leasing our restaurant facility was a new venture for us and the Hardy's certainly worked very hard to try and establish their business. With any new venture, these set ups are always on a trial basis and whilst we did not offer a longer term lease, we absolutely wish the Hardy's the best of luck in their future endeavours.

We have now brought the restaurant facility back under our control and have appointed a new Head Chef, Ben Harmer, who trained under some well know and prestigious chef's and restauranteurs and we are delighted that Ben and his team are in place and offering their fantastic food and service which saw them win "South West Restaurant of the Year" at their previous restaurant.

We would absolutely love to see you and your Mother back at Lakeview where you can enjoy a range of locally sourced produce in our restaurant or on our Lakeside terrace which offers a lovely backdrop at this time of year

Best Wishes

Management,
Lakeview Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We held our wedding at lakeview this June, it was an amazing day thanks to all the staff that help in making the day, even with last minute changes and add on's they still did their upmost to cater for us all! We also stayed the night in one of the A Frame lodges and so did some of our other guests there were no complaints and everyone has said how good the whole experience was.

We both want to say a thank you again to Hannah and Kate who were always on hand to help and made our day, just wish we could relive the whole thing!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodmin
3.6 mi away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
7.8 mi away
CLC Trenython Manor
4.3 mi away
Westberry Hotel
Westberry Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bodmin
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Waterside Cornwall
Waterside Cornwall
#1 of 5 in Lanivet
36 reviews
5.3 mi away
Retallack Resort and Spa
Retallack Resort and Spa
#1 of 3 in St Columb Major
1,010 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hengar Manor Country Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Country Club

Address: Old Coach Road | Lanivet, Bodmin PL30 5JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Bodmin
Number of rooms: 69
Also Known As:
Lakeview Country Club Hotel Bodmin
Lakeview Country Club Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing