We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing and unexpected experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeview Country Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bodmin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lakeview Country Club
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing and unexpected experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Although the central amenities are looking just a little tired, this is more than made up for by the tranquil setting and the quality of the accommodation. I have stayed in 5* hotels all over the world and the suite of rooms in the lodge that we had was every bit as good as many of these.
Spotless and extremely well appointed, all of the rooms were very comfortable including a wonderful sunken bath and a great, massive shower in the 3rd bathroom.
With its central location close to all the Cornish tourist sights I cannot recommend Lakeview more highly.
Ps I understand that the central amenities are likely to be undergoing some revitalisation in the near future

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eagle444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    86
    34
    12
    17
See reviews for
112
69
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We love Lakeview Country Club particularly the bungalows. We have stayed several times over the last 4 years usually for 7 day holidays. We love the tranquil setting and space in the bungalows which are very well equipped. Being central it is very easy to get to the coastlines and other parts of Cornwall. The clubhouse is excellent and the pool very tempting. We have usually been lucky with weather either in May or September when we usually go (although we did stay over last Christmas). We are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a long weekend and enjoyed every minute, very welcoming staff nothing was too much trouble, the accommodation was out standing for the price this was very good value and we look forward to using lakeview for regular weekend breaks, my husband enjoys the golf and fishing and I spent time having relaxing beauty treatments. We will be booking a bungalow with a hot tub next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was the first family holiday in a very long time. We had an 8 hour journey but it was worth it. My son and son in law enjoyed the fishing and got up at 5 am every morning. We all played golf and made use of the fitness agenda. The children and adults enjoyed the indoor swimming pool and as the weather wasn't brilliant we appreciated it being an indoor pool. The accommodation was very nice and spacious. The setting was very peaceful and we had a great time. Staff were very friendly and helpful, we would love to return!

Room Tip: The lodges were very spacious and clean as well as being fully equipt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Br0wn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed in VIP bungalow with hot tub for a long break over the new year. We had loads of space in the bungalow. Every thing we needed was available in the bungalow and the hot tub was perfect. Very central location for all areas of Cornwall. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I have just returned from a week at Lakeview with the family. On arrival the site looked gorgeous, we were all really impressed with the surroundings. After the nightmare journey down, we got there for the 4pm check in. We were left waiting for 45 mins - would have been lovely IF they offered us a complementary drink for the wait but they didn't! When we got the key an access to the lodge, we found it tired and in need of a refurb. The sofas were awful, the TV was tiny in the living room an the only other TV was even smaller in the master suite. The cooker felt dirty as the oven dishes hadn't been cleaned. An who puts a Fridge next to a door, that was a strange and Inconvenient design?! The loo seat fell off and it just felt like the general fixtures an fittings really need to be updated. Oh an don't even get me started on the beds / bedding it would have been comfier to sleep on the floor.

The wifi was rubbish! The reception said our lodge should get intermittent access which was untrue we didn't get access at all.

All in all, rather disappointing stay an as a yearly visitor to Cornwall we shall go to Retallack next year.

Lovely weather and lovely week. The site is a great location to get access to Padstow and Newquay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We are just back from a stay here. We had a 3 bedroom Long Island lodge for a week. Really nice location, nice comfortable lodge with plenty of room and friendly staff. The lodge had a hot tub ready to go when we arrived and the reception has a warm swimming pool. There is some improvement work going on at the moment but it didn't interrupt us. There is a gym and tennis courts plus a driving range, small golf course and fishing. Location wise it is really good. 15 mins to Newquay and 15 mins to St Austell. Also, to please the kids there is a brand new services 1 mile away with a McDonalds! We treated them to a breakfast 1 day!
The weather in Bodmin whilst we were their was a bit more overcast than if you drive to Newquay. I don't know if that is usual but it was definitely sunnier at the coast on most days.
There are a few negatives, there was no wifi in our lodge which is a nightmare for techy kids, the TV was small and old fashioned, and the food in the reception was not brilliant and a bit expensive. No ice-cream when we were there which didn't suit the kids. Also the kids play ground is a bit basic but all in all this place is really nearly perfect. I would recommend it and would consider going back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu-Charl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodmin
4.1 mi away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
1.5 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
4.3 mi away
Westberry Hotel
Westberry Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bodmin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bodmin Hotel
7.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
7.6 mi away
Premier Inn Newquay (A30/Fraddon) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Country Club

Property: Lakeview Country Club
Address: Old Coach Road | Lanivet, Bodmin PL30 5JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Bodmin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 69
Also Known As:
Lakeview Country Club Hotel Bodmin
Lakeview Country Club Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing