We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!”

Lanhydrock House and Garden
Ranked #1 of 33 things to do in Bodmin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This 19th-century high-Victorian country house is one of the most fascinating in England. Colourful gardens, riverside walks and family friendly cycle trails.
Englefield Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

What a surprise. Fabulous house and 'well dressed' by the National Trust interior designers.
Excellent lunch and afternoon tea

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank FLYINGBLUEDOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,981 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,520
    387
    51
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent day out for adults and children”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Fantastic day out lots to see so many rooms to walk round I particulary enjoyed the kitchens(more than one) the gardens are lovely it is a long walk down to the house from he entrance but there is transport available for hard of walking and disabled and we had a ride back on one as children get tired legs too. would definitely recommend it

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Char934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Shameful confession but...”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Went all the way there and didn't actually get to see the gardens nor the house.

However, as a coach driver with 48 German tourists I can reflect that they were more than pleased that we had added it to our itinerary. They were suitably impressed by the buildings and gardespns.

Me, I was impressed by the parking, the greeting by a lovely young lady (Emily?) in the coach park who clearly explained everything to the group and arranged for a buggy to pick up one of our ladies who was slightly less mobile than the others,merely ensuring that she too enjoyed everything in view.

The restaurant was ok, The Stables, if I recall correctly and the staff although slightly phased by the request for 42 cappuccinos, once who was paying was sorted, made it very easy indeed, even handling the "but I'd rather have hot chocolate" changes. Nice job guys.

All in all a nice afternoon stop on the way home from St Michael's Mount and one I will be promoting to future tours.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tablespider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lanhydrock for a day”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We as a family and dog were on holiday in Cornwall and being NT members took the drive to visit Lanhydrock house, which would otherwise be out of reach of our home. We noted there had been a vast investment, as all the buildings next to the car park were new. Now I sit on the fence as to how this scheme of new style outlets fits in with the very historic house!

I try to think that the NT have tried to find a balance of keeping a younger visitor happy without spoiling the open walk to the house, both buildings are out of sight of one another. I do feel that their's is a difficult path to walk, in that it costs millions to keep these buildings for the future enjoyment of a younger generation and so they need to attract younger familys to their fold to raise that expenditure!

However lets move away from the pros an cons of this thoughtline and say we had a fantastic day. We were mildly restricted because of the dog not being allowed into certain areas of the grounds, but got around this by splitting up. My wife and I went round the house first and were took to another time zone, it was so well laid out and you almost expected to meet the good lord and lady in one of the rooms taking tea! We felt that this being a year to remember the toll of the First World War was well represented by the story of this house and its family being ripped apart due to the tragic demise of part of its next generation, despite their wealth they were the same as everyone else and suffered the heartbreak of loosing a loved one to the war. I must say we ran out of time!

We were so enthralled by the story of this house and its family, that we would need to come back to cover the gardens and parkland in more detail, It has left us hungry for another visit. Thanks must go to the fantastic guides, for bringing it all to life with their many vebal insights to the life of another time.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Llanhydroc offers a country house in extensive, attractive parkland grounds but with formal gardens surrounding the house. The house itself is a gem, full of architectural, historical & social interest & history. The catering is up to the NTs usual standards. A must-visit if you're in Cornwall.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 12Felix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lanhydrock House and Garden also viewed

 

Been to Lanhydrock House and Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing