We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely long weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rivermead Holidays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bodmin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rivermead Holidays
Ranked #12 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Bodmin
Rugeley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely long weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

I would like to say a big thank you to the owners of rivermead holidays, this has been our second stay and it was again a pleasure we felt very welcome and enjoyed every second we where there, the surroundings are fantastic and the village is quiet, perfect for a relaxing break away.

Thank you so much

The Harvey Family

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harveysnails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Went with a few family members for a short weekend break (2 nights) on the weekend of 10-12 August 2012. We were in a 4 berth caravan, the site was really great and the Owners Steve and Julie were very welcoming! The site is a small site and ideal for walkers or a quiet break. The site does accept dogs (providing they are well behaved!).

The caravan was really nice, in excellent condition inside and out and very clean. Had a DVD flatscreen TV with Freeview so ideal for the little-uns when not out and about, the kitchen was well stocked with microwave, oven with grill and hob, kettle, toaster etc! My only very small negative would be that the caravan could have done with one or two small chairs / stools as 4 people eating around the table was a bit of a squeeze as the table can only be around one of the two corner sofas, there was however a lap tray in the kitchen and also an outdoor table and chairs for the better weather.

Rivermead is situated in a small village on the outskirts of Bodmin on the edge of the moor, about 15-20 minutes from Bodmin town and 15 minutes from the North Coast.

The village has a local pub/restaurant (we did not visit but reviews seem pretty good for this), post office / cafe (does Pizza's on a friday evening and breakfast on a saturday morning and another small shop which was well stocked and most things were very reasonably priced for a small shop.

If you are after a quiet relaxing break then we would definitely recommend Rivermead!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gte_16v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivermeadHols, Owner at Rivermead Holidays, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank you so much for the lovely review. Very detailed with lots of useful information.
Made a note about the lack of seating in the dining room and have recently acquired a couple of stools. Hope to see you again.
Kind Regards Julie & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwest
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

After trawling through various websites looking for a last minute UK break - Rivermead appeared offering a great rate for a 5 night stay. After my initial enquiry via email, the owners gave me loads of information prior to the stay. Ensure you follow their directions and not the sat nav when arriving. After a long journey, it was great to arrive with beds made up and a very clean caravan. The caravan is well-equipped with everything for your holiday - even clean pots and pans! Normally, I clean all the utensils prior to using but this was not necessary. My only concern was that the site allows dogs into the vans and I have an allergy to pet hair. I have to say that the van was so clean I didn't even need to use my anti-histamines. The location feels quite remote however you are only a short drive away from Beaches and attractions. Be prepared for the narrow roads!!!! All in all a brilliant break away from the hustle and bustle of life allowing time to really relax and chill out. The hosts are so friendly and welcoming and the site is extremely clean and tidy and well looked after.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank hattieNorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivermeadHols, Owner at Rivermead Holidays, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. Doing flexible start days enables us to be very thorough when preparing them for our guests, We only allow dogs in 4 of the lets. Keeping 3 of them totally dog free enables us to make sure that anyone with an allergy is allocated dog free accommodation.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

The owners were really friendly and we were greeted on arrival. The site is small, quiet and peaceful but without feeling enclosed. The caravans were clean and well maintained. A great location to explore the north Cornwall coast without the hustle and bustle of the busier destinations.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris186291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Julie and Steve the owners gave us a lovely welcome on arrival. Their small site is immaculate and so well kept, accommodation spotless....in fact couldn't fault any of it. Such a quiet location but a great base for you to explore other areas of Cornwall. We stayed in a cabin/chalet which the kids absolutely loved. Has everything you need plus a great little laundry room next door. They also allow pets which was also a plus point. Such a great price for well kept accommodation. Will be looking to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Steve and Julie the owners are really friendly. The site was immaculate, difficult to believe that the caravans were not new. The location is amazing, so peaceful but only a short drive from some of Cornwalls fantastic beaches. Driving over to moor to the location is an experience not to be missed. You felt all your problems disappear as you left the rat race on the A30.
We will certainly be going back.

Linda B

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivermeadHols, Owner at Rivermead Holidays, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Hi Ken & Linda
Thank you for the review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. We had a few long chats, maybe even put the world right on the odd occasion. Look forward to seeing you again.
All the best
Julie & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We arrived at Rivermead after a long drive from the North West, Steve and Julie the owners were there to welcome us. We were staying in Bray a lovely spotless one bedroom caravan which comes with everything you need for a comfortable stay. The bed was made up ready and the only things we needed to provide was towels. The site is tiny - only six vans and a chalet, the small garden areas are kept immaculate and each caravan is equipped with outtdoor table and chairs. On one side of the site is a wooded area of moorland and on the other side a field with a few chickens. Steve and Julie live in a house on site too. The village has a pub, shop and post office/internet cafe/pizza parlour and the mobile chip shop visits every Tuesday evening.
Can't understand why people go to caravans on the big sites when you can find little gems like this one! Great caravan, great value, great place.

Room Tip: They allow dogs in some vans. Suggest you specify dog free if you are not the doggy type!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southportsands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bodmin hotels
3.1 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
3.4 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
3.1 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Treliver Farm
Treliver Farm
#1 of 1 in Saint Wenn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bodmin Hotel
8.6 mi away
No photo provided
Paths End B&B
#1 of 1 in Saint Teath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivermead Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivermead Holidays

Property: Rivermead Holidays
Address: Lower Penquite | St Breward, Bodmin PL30 4LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Bodmin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small,unique,tranquil holiday park situated in the moorland village of St Breward, Bodmin Moor, Cornwall. With the moors on the doorstep, with its rugged scenery, babbling brooks and endless walks: and the nearest beach on the north coast only 11 miles away; we are centrally based for exploring the whole of Cornwall.Fishing, horse riding, cycling and walking all close by; a haven for those who love the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rivermead Holidays Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing