We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A CORNISH IDYLL...”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bodmin, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Scarface3...
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A CORNISH IDYLL...”
Reviewed 19 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

After a very friendly exchange of emails to confirm booking details, we arrived to find a welcome 'hamper' of milk, butter, scones, clotted cream and strawberry jam. We had not travelled far to get to Rivermead, but that welcoming gesture, and the personalised welcome on the chalk-board above it, set the tone for the whole week. Really well appointed and comfortably furnished, with all mod cons in the kitchen (even the mugs are Dunoon ceramics!) we wanted for nothing in Rivermead Cottage. A family group of four, with a 93 year old lady who used the downstairs bedroom and bathroom (a REALLY useful feature of this cottage) we immediately felt right at home. With an 8 month old puppy (we had notified the owners of this and they agreed we could take Lotti, our German Wirehaired Pointer) the estate was a dream come true; straight out of the door and a short walk down to the river bank (of the River Fowey) then a half mile walk along it to the trout pond (stocked with brown trout, and a birdwatchers haven), before going up hill onto the wide manicured lawns and back through little spinneys with wild undergrowth in the bottom. Fantastic for a young dog, who really developed confidence in water and learned to swim properly. As a touring base it is excellent; we did not venture out every day (it was a wettish November and some attractions were closed or on limited hours) but went to Lanhydrock House, the Eden Project and the town of Fowey on 3 of our 6 days there. With a beautiful golden autumn this year, the remaining days were spent in the delightful, tranquil, grounds of Rivermead. Marjorie and Kevin, the owners, have thought of everything - even down to providing raised chairs, binoculars and bird species charts in the wooden 'birding' hut overlooking the pond! That level of forethought and 'customer care' is a rare find these days. In addition, Kevin is an ever-present smiling and friendly face for whom no problem is insuperable; what he cannot find or fix then, he will sort out ASAP. We were delighted with our stay, and have vowed to return again in 2017 to this realy charming, relaxing, hospitable and beautiful little Cornish idyll - and it's caring and consciencious owners. Only down-side (if it IS a down-side!) was that the wifi signal was a bit hit-and-miss and fairly weak; once we knew that, the iPads were abandoned - which probably added to the 'get away from it all' feel of our holiday there!

Date of stay: November 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The picturesque location.
Liked least: The weather!- but the owners cannot control that.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2016
Thank you for the lovely review, we did enjoy meeting your family and Lotti and are delighted that you have already enquired about next year. WiFi in this area can be a little problematic but we can also supply a mobile MiFi for guests experiencing Issues, we have found this does overcome any BT issues, so please ask next year if you have problems with a signal. Thanking you once again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kennethmZ...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful relaxing stay. ”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My girlfriend and I enjoyed a wonderful week at Rivermead Farm staying within the Kingfisher lodgings. I cannot stress the peace and tranquility enough. Fortunate for us, we enjoyed having the amazing river fishing facilities to ourselves and spent the time relaxing and chatting amidst the serene surroundings. Both Kevin and Marjorie were the perfect hosts and the literature within the apartment led us to enjoy some cosy pub lunches nearby.
The accommodation was spotless and catered to every need.
A fantastic stay with cherished memories. Thank you both very much.

Date of stay: August 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to give such a positive review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and fishing on the river. We do hope to see you again in the future. Kevin & Marjorie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funkyfin2...
Hixon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, Amazing, Wonderful....”
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Well, what can we say, both my family and our friends family have literally arrived back from Rivermead this afternoon and we are SO sad to go. The place is gorgeous, it's set in acres of it's own land with walks, games and fun to be had before you even get into the property or into other things in Cornwall to do!

Marjorie & Kevin were just amazing hosts, a lovely hamper full of freshly prepared scones and jam and clotted cream with other goodies was left and everything was just amazing. We talked with Kevin lots during our stay and you can tell the business is so well looked after and cherished. They were both so friendly, not intrusive in anyway and they have a beautiful Old English dog who was lovely.

The property itself was the large cottage - very old - 17th century I think, creaks and low ceilings, just wonderful. Wifi was poor, but not to be unexpected and just sat outside if we needed it more :)

Our one regret was not doing a BBQ but we cooked in every night and the kitchen was VERY well equipped, you had everything you could ever want!

All in all, we would love to come back, very reasonably priced, not far from the sea at all (about 10-15miles each way (North and South) and was a great location for anything you could ever way being in Cornwall!

Thanks again - what a perfect week for us all!

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! Cottage, Surroundings, the Hosts!
Liked least: Wifi strength - but it was good to get away from work! :)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2016
Thank you for such lovely comments. We are delighted you all enjoyed your holiday at Rivermead Farm and that you have taken the time, immediately on getting home, to leave your review. We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Kevin & Marjorie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cottage & surroundings”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at Rivermead Farm (Bluebell Cottage) from the 20/06/2015 for two weeks, on arrival we were greated by the owners (Marjorie & Kevin)
The cottage was well equiped with all the mod cons, a wonderful hamper was provided.
It was an ideal base to visit a very beautiful part of Cornmall. The grounds were well kept, well laid out and very pretty, I would really recommend this location for a holiday as we didnt want to leave.
A big thank you too Marjorie & Kevin.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful well laid out.
Liked least: nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2015
We are delighted you enjoyed your two week stay, we, too enjoyed, getting to know you and share in your love of plants, hope the hydrangeas thrive! Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Marjorie & Kevin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria p
shropshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent break”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

A great cottage equipped with everything you can imagine .a lovely hamper when you arrive,which we all enjoyed.gorgeous countryside all around .good fishing .kevin and Marjorie are lovely people who have thought of everything so u can have a lovely holiday.will definitely be stopping again .

Date of stay: November 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
Delighted you enjoyed your stay at Rivermead, we are looking forward to welcoming you back this year, here's hoping you can bbq your catch!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kencat196...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Quality throughout”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Everyone of our extended family with ages ranging from 64 to 11 greatly enjoyed the magic experience of this quality cottage set in idyllic surroundings that resulted in a memorable holiday experience for all concerned.
The cottage is well equipped with quality fixture and fittings in every room but the real bonus was the extensive grounds where our grandchildren could play virtually every sport possible including a 4 hole golf course that was certainly challenging.
None of our party are keen on fishing as that it was one of the big attractions but it did not detract at all from the enjoyment of our holiday and I would recommend this cottage to all

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Golf Course
Liked least: Not very good wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Farm Cottage and Rivermead Farm. We did enjoy meeting the family and are delighted to hear that all loved their stay, we love it too! We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl H
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday base”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Rivermead again with my daughter who took full advantage of the beautiful grounds, seeing many birds (including the kingfisher). The cottage is very well equipped, comfortable and a fantastic base for touring both north and South Cornwall. Marjorie and Kevin really understand their guests needs and nothing is too much trouble. The hamper is great too.
We explored more this visit particularly the coast from Padstow down to Gwithian which is amazing.
Would definitely recommend and will certainly be back.

Date of stay: June 2014
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. We are delighted that you and your daughter so enjoyed your stay, it was great to welcome you back! We did enjoy hearing about the many wonderful new places you found to visit and have noted your restaurant and cafe recommendations to pass on to future guests. We do hope to see you back at Rivermead Farm in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.