We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit on a gloomy morning”

Cornwall's Regimental Museum
Ranked #1 of 36 things to do in Bodmin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Explore one of Bodmin’s most imposing historic buildings, Bodmin Keep. Discover a warm welcome at Cornwall’s Regimental Museum, a fun and friendly attraction, suitable for all the family. Open 7 days a week during school holidays. Situated close to Bodmin & Wenford Railway, we house one of the finest military collections in the South West. Our displays include uniforms through the ages, paintings and decorative arts, superb medals, an outstanding collection of weaponry and a few surprises! Join us for one of our many events, or just come along to browse our collection. While you're here why not have a go at our museum quiz, or give the bugle a go! ENTRANCE RATES 2018 All paid entry includes an annual pass, including adults, children, family passes and railway discounts. • Adults – £6 • Ages 6 – 16 years – £2 • Ages 5 and under – FREE • Family Pass (2 adults and up to 4 children): £15 • Dogs – FREE. We are proud to be a dog friendly attraction and dogs are welcome
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

We visited on a gloomy morning as an activity to keep us all entertained on a pretty grey and gloomy morning Adam activity to while away a couple of hours. From the beginning we were greeted in a warm and friendly manner from the lady at the desk, which is not always the case in museums when you turn up with 4 children under 9! She gave a some helpful tips and we followed the loop round a well organised and informative museum. The children were genuinely interested in most of the exhibits especially the small model dioramas of battle fields and the vast collections of weapons all kept in an impressive old keep, which was part of the barracks. There was lots of little things to keep all the children entertained such as a quiz (nice small prize and certificate for successful completion), wooden rifles, dressing up clothes, bugle playing and a craft section for making medals. Family ticket (2 adults and 2 children, with out 2 under 5's free) was £15. This gives you unlimited annual visits, however not sure we would we go back unless they was an activity day which was of interest (which again we were helpfully told there was throughout the year). But all in all a very successful trip, all enjoyed it and we were very happy with our visit. Thanks again to the lady on the front desk for being so nice!

Thank AndrewRyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie H, Marketing Manager at Cornwall's Regimental Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you for your lovely review, we're delighted that you enjoyed your visit despite the weather! We like to think we're a great attraction no matter what the weather - we even have a picnic area outside where people can sit and enjoy the sunshine... when it makes an appearance!
We're delighted that your children enjoyed their visit, we have worked hard to make the museum family friendly and your feedback is very much appreciated.
I have passed on your comments to my colleagues and it put a smile on their faces! Thank you again for leaving such a lovely review and we hope to see you at one of our events soon!
(PS, More details about our upcoming events can be found on our website or on our Facebook page)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"military history"
in 10 reviews
"berlin wall"
in 5 reviews
"on display"
in 8 reviews
"entire history"
in 3 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 14 reviews
"american war"
in 2 reviews
"peace keeping"
in 2 reviews
"exhibits cover"
in 2 reviews
"great grandfather"
in 2 reviews
"value for money"
in 8 reviews
"different eras"
in 2 reviews
"amazing history"
in 2 reviews
"family visit"
in 3 reviews
"bodmin railway"
in 4 reviews
"fascinating visit"
in 2 reviews
"all ages"
in 4 reviews
"entry fee"
in 2 reviews
Filter

39 - 43 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017

This is well worth a visit. Museum is jam packed with exhibits and information, all very well presented and clearly labelled. The children loved trying out the bugle, not sure the rest of us did though :) There is a dress up and craft area too. The whole building is dog friendly and Spingo the terrier is a star!

We really enjoyed our visit, thank you for a great experience.

Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie H, Marketing Manager at Cornwall's Regimental Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a lovely review, we're so pleased that your entire family (including your dog!) enjoyed their visit. We love being a dog friendly and family friendly museum, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

And I wasn't disappointed. The DCLI seen to have been involved in all the country's scurmishes abroad. So not just a regimental museum also a whistle stop tour of national history. Wonderful to find Harry Patch so honoured being a DCLI man.

I agree about the music. More variety neded perhaps. We had WW2 era, seemingly on a loop. Eventually very jarring especially when music and exhibits were of different eras.

I too have free entry for a year after my visit. I will definitely use it.

Thank mat1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie H, Marketing Manager at Cornwall's Regimental Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.
I'll pass on your comments about the music and we'll look into it!
We're glad you finally made it, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

What a lovely museum. Everything so clearly laid out and labeled. I really loved the way items were personalised. This made them come to life. Very moving and sad at times. We spent ages there and I could visit again. Well worth a visit. Thank you curator.

Thank ACB3125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie H, Marketing Manager at Cornwall's Regimental Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you for your lovely review, we're so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. I will pass on your comments to our Collections Manager, Verity. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2017

There are lots of interesting little things in this museum. I like how it is laid out simply along a timeline and follows one platoon the whole way through. Whilst this attraction was primarily for my partner I did enjoy looking at the uniforms and seeing how they were constructed and trimmed. I did feel a bit emotional thinking about all the people involved over the decades, and how important these events are to our history. The entry fee is very reasonable, and because we had been at Bodmin General the day before, our tickets got us a discounted rate. The staff were very pleasant and gave us a laminated sheet of interesting things to look at. We were also lucky as there were living era people at the museum that day, and they demonstrated Victorian weaponry and my partner was in his element chatting to them. Well worth a visit!

Thank Bethany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie H, Marketing Manager at Cornwall's Regimental Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you Bethany C for taking the time to leave us a review. We like to think that we have something for everyone here at Cornwall's Regimental Museum, including fine arts and crafts and examples of needlework, and also some unexpected objects such as our Boer War ostrich eggs, as well the medals and weaponry you might expect.
We're glad that you enjoyed your visit and we hope that you come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cornwall's Regimental Museum also viewed

 

Been to Cornwall's Regimental Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing