We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first visit to a military museum.”

Cornwall's Regimental Museum
Ranked #1 of 36 things to do in Bodmin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Explore one of Bodmin’s most imposing historic buildings, Bodmin Keep. Discover a warm welcome at Cornwall’s Regimental Museum, a fun and friendly attraction, suitable for all the family. Open 7 days a week during school holidays. Situated close to Bodmin & Wenford Railway, we house one of the finest military collections in the South West. Our displays include uniforms through the ages, paintings and decorative arts, superb medals, an outstanding collection of weaponry and a few surprises! Join us for one of our many events, or just come along to browse our collection. While you're here why not have a go at our museum quiz, or give the bugle a go! ENTRANCE RATES 2018 All paid entry includes an annual pass, including adults, children, family passes and railway discounts. • Adults – £6 • Ages 6 – 16 years – £2 • Ages 5 and under – FREE • Family Pass (2 adults and up to 4 children): £15 • Dogs – FREE. We are proud to be a dog friendly attraction and dogs are welcome
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 20 September 2017

I spotted this museum from the railway and thought I would take a look around. I was not disappointed and enjoyed seeing all the exhibits in this well structured museum.
As you walk through you experience in stages the historic to the modern era. I was delighted with my visit and amazed at the weapons that were on display.

Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie H, Marketing Manager at Cornwall's Regimental Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review - we're delighted that you enjoyed your first ever visit to a military museum. Let's hope it's the first of many! Thank you for visiting and we hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"military history"
in 10 reviews
"berlin wall"
in 5 reviews
"on display"
in 8 reviews
"entire history"
in 3 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 14 reviews
"american war"
in 2 reviews
"peace keeping"
in 2 reviews
"exhibits cover"
in 2 reviews
"great grandfather"
in 2 reviews
"value for money"
in 8 reviews
"different eras"
in 2 reviews
"amazing history"
in 2 reviews
"family visit"
in 3 reviews
"bodmin railway"
in 4 reviews
"fascinating visit"
in 2 reviews
"all ages"
in 4 reviews
"entry fee"
in 2 reviews
Filter

37 - 41 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017

My wife and I visited on a typical rainy Cornish Sunday. We took the guided tour around the site and spent a couple of hours looking at the varied and interesting displays. Parking isn't easy to find nearby so best to visit on a Sunday or come early.

Thank JimandCarol71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie H, Marketing Manager at Cornwall's Regimental Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for your review - it seems that you were fortunate enough to visit us on one of our special open days! We don't often do guided tours except by prior arrangement. This may be why you found the parking so busy. The museum's free car park (behind the museum) usually has spaces, and if not there is a pay and display car park 100 metres from the museum in Victoria Square.
We hope that you enjoyed your visit despite the rain, and we hope to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

a very well lit and well laid out museum. we went because of family connections of the duke of cornwalls regiment. we had our dog and our grandson, both were made welcome. agreat display of the regiments history, uniforms, arms and medals including eight VCs. well worth the time and money.

m. martin. bodmin

Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie H, Marketing Manager at Cornwall's Regimental Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review! We're so pleased that you came to visit us, and we hope that you learned something about your family connections with the DCLI. Did you know that we have a volunteer research team who help over 300 families a year to discover their military family history? (you can find out more on the Learning / Research pages of our website).
We hope to see you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

We visited on a gloomy morning as an activity to keep us all entertained on a pretty grey and gloomy morning Adam activity to while away a couple of hours. From the beginning we were greeted in a warm and friendly manner from the lady at the desk, which is not always the case in museums when you turn up with 4 children under 9! She gave a some helpful tips and we followed the loop round a well organised and informative museum. The children were genuinely interested in most of the exhibits especially the small model dioramas of battle fields and the vast collections of weapons all kept in an impressive old keep, which was part of the barracks. There was lots of little things to keep all the children entertained such as a quiz (nice small prize and certificate for successful completion), wooden rifles, dressing up clothes, bugle playing and a craft section for making medals. Family ticket (2 adults and 2 children, with out 2 under 5's free) was £15. This gives you unlimited annual visits, however not sure we would we go back unless they was an activity day which was of interest (which again we were helpfully told there was throughout the year). But all in all a very successful trip, all enjoyed it and we were very happy with our visit. Thanks again to the lady on the front desk for being so nice!

Thank AndrewRyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie H, Marketing Manager at Cornwall's Regimental Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you for your lovely review, we're delighted that you enjoyed your visit despite the weather! We like to think we're a great attraction no matter what the weather - we even have a picnic area outside where people can sit and enjoy the sunshine... when it makes an appearance!
We're delighted that your children enjoyed their visit, we have worked hard to make the museum family friendly and your feedback is very much appreciated.
I have passed on your comments to my colleagues and it put a smile on their faces! Thank you again for leaving such a lovely review and we hope to see you at one of our events soon!
(PS, More details about our upcoming events can be found on our website or on our Facebook page)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2017

This is well worth a visit. Museum is jam packed with exhibits and information, all very well presented and clearly labelled. The children loved trying out the bugle, not sure the rest of us did though :) There is a dress up and craft area too. The whole building is dog friendly and Spingo the terrier is a star!

We really enjoyed our visit, thank you for a great experience.

Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie H, Marketing Manager at Cornwall's Regimental Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a lovely review, we're so pleased that your entire family (including your dog!) enjoyed their visit. We love being a dog friendly and family friendly museum, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cornwall's Regimental Museum also viewed

 

Been to Cornwall's Regimental Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing