We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite simply superb”

Cornwall's Regimental Museum
Ranked #1 of 36 things to do in Bodmin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Explore one of Bodmin’s most imposing historic buildings, Bodmin Keep. Discover a warm welcome at Cornwall’s Regimental Museum, a fun and friendly attraction, suitable for all the family. Open 7 days a week during school holidays. Situated close to Bodmin & Wenford Railway, we house one of the finest military collections in the South West. Our displays include uniforms through the ages, paintings and decorative arts, superb medals, an outstanding collection of weaponry and a few surprises! Join us for one of our many events, or just come along to browse our collection. While you're here why not have a go at our museum quiz, or give the bugle a go! ENTRANCE RATES 2018 All paid entry includes an annual pass, including adults, children, family passes and railway discounts. • Adults – £6 • Ages 6 – 16 years – £2 • Ages 5 and under – FREE • Family Pass (2 adults and up to 4 children): £15 • Dogs – FREE. We are proud to be a dog friendly attraction and dogs are welcome
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Well, my opinion is subjective because the visitor must have some element of interest in a military museum. Goodness knows how many years I have planned to visit and, finally, I did today, taking a 1924 commercially-produced book of photographs of the DCLI in India to donate. I've no idea whether it will be of interest to researchers but did note somebody in the archive room going through papers.

Any body over thirty is likely to have heard of Harry Patch, the last veteran of the Great War, to die and there is an interesting small display in his memory; for those of artistic bent, there's also a display to Stanhope Forbes' son, Alec, killed in the same war.

In terms of interpretation, the 'level' seems just right. One additional interpretive booklet has been put together by somebody on 'work experience' from Callington College and this emphasises the outreach nature of the museum, along with tunics for children to dress up in.

All in all, I'm pleased that I visited today although I didn't allow long enough...

Thank plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie H, Marketing Manager at Cornwall's Regimental Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you so much for your glowing review! We're delighted that you made it for a visit, and that we lived up to your expectations once here. Thank you for the donation of your photographic book, I'm sure it was much appreciated - indeed, our research team help over 300 people a year with their research enquiries and I'm sure it will come in useful.
We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"military history"
in 10 reviews
"berlin wall"
in 5 reviews
"on display"
in 8 reviews
"entire history"
in 3 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 14 reviews
"american war"
in 2 reviews
"peace keeping"
in 2 reviews
"exhibits cover"
in 2 reviews
"great grandfather"
in 2 reviews
"value for money"
in 8 reviews
"different eras"
in 2 reviews
"amazing history"
in 2 reviews
"family visit"
in 3 reviews
"bodmin railway"
in 4 reviews
"fascinating visit"
in 2 reviews
"all ages"
in 4 reviews
"entry fee"
in 2 reviews
Filter

28 - 32 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Took my 10 year old son with me for the visit. Both really enjoyed it. Very interesting and informative. Spent 90 mins and was thoroughly impressed. Will be using the yearly ticket again.

Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie H, Marketing Manager at Cornwall's Regimental Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review, we're delighted that both you and your son enjoyed your visit. We will look forward to seeing you in the museum again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Set in the original barracks the museum is a fascinating story of the history of the regiment. Good displays of medals and uniforms as well as explaining the context of the actions the regiment has been involved in. See if you can get a note or tune out of a bugle. Discount tickets if you have travelled on the Bodmin railway. Very moving modern war poems on display upstairs. Dog friendly.

Thank Sam3314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie H, Marketing Manager at Cornwall's Regimental Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you very much for leaving us a 5-star review, it's much appreciated. We're delighted that you enjoyed your visit, and look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

I visited this museum for the first time after getting reduced admission from visiting the Bodmin railway earlier in the day.

The museum traces the history of the various Cornish regiments from the American war of independence through to peace keeping roles in Bosnia.

There are lots of weapons, uniforms and medals on show along with information about the solders who won the medals.

Sadly time was pressing for me on this visit but I will certainly be back when I'm in the area.

Thank Trev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie H, Marketing Manager at Cornwall's Regimental Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you very much for leaving us a review. We're delighted that you're hoping to return soon, and we'll look forward to your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Lots of military memorabilia and a reminder of how our ancestors fought - so very hands on. So many stories, your heart goes out to what those men went through and such a reminder of their sacrifices and yet we are all still sacrificing our men (and now women) around the world. A very sobering experience really, very interesting and to view takes a few hours. Everyone of all ages should go and take a guided tour before a wander around..

Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie H, Marketing Manager at Cornwall's Regimental Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your visit, and hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cornwall's Regimental Museum also viewed

 

Been to Cornwall's Regimental Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing