We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Stop”
Review of Hole in the Wall

Hole in the Wall
Ranked #14 of 68 Restaurants in Bodmin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Must Stop”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

As a group of couples, we stopped here for lunch yesterday & loved it. A quaint & quirky little pub with fantastic food. We all tried something different & thoroughly enjoyed it. You MUST try the homemade pies, the steak one was to die for.
Highly recommend to anyone who wants decent food at great prices.
Also have to compliment the staff, all really friendly & so helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    36
    9
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“nice old pub”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

got recommended by the people at the jail went there for a nice refreshing pint would def be back there

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mike t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place, great food”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We stopped in after visiting Bodmin Jail. Lovely local food, great service. The bar area is very atmospheric and was filling up with local people as we were leaving. A wonderful experience, highly recommended x

Helpful?
Thank Maurey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
521 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Delightful friendly pub in the centre of Bodmin”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We walked into this pub at lunchtime with no expectations apart from getting a bite to eat and a decent pint. Unfortunately the chef was away at a funeral but the landlord and his staff could not be more accommodating encouraging us to buy a takeway and bringing it back to eat at the pub. When we returned with our food, there were warm plates, cutlery and sauces wating for us. That's what I call service! We returned in the evening to have a night cap and chatted to the landlord who entertained us with stories about the history of the pub, its artifacts and other stories. Look out for the lion on the way in!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good real pub in centre of town”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Fantastically friendly landlord happy to allow dog and children very accommodating.
Good selection of local real beer good pub food menu reasonably priced and good standard

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hole in the Wall also viewed

 
 

Been to Hole in the Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing