We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So relaxing in this charming old cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blisland Cottage

South facing front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
South facing front
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
South facing front
Side garden
View east from front lawn.
Kitchen/breakfast room.
Kitchen breakfast room
Sitting room with log burning stove
Bright sitting room with garden views
Conservatory
Master bedroom
Bedroom 2 (double)
Bedroom 3 (twin)
Bedroom 3 (twin)
Detached double garage.
The Camel Trail which can be followed to Padstow
Bluebells at Cardinham Woods
Cardinham Woods
Cardinham Bridge
Blisland Village Green
Moorland river
Moorland river with 'swimming pools' and 'clapper' bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bodmin, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Navigate6...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So relaxing in this charming old cottage”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from another week at Lease Cottage, Blisland. The idea was to chill out two grandsons after their A levels and GCSEs ,, also their mother who had been coping with the stress! Mission accomplished, the cottage lends itself to total relaxation or lots of lovely walks, whichever you want. Super village, very friendly people and good pub with food. Lovely village community run shop, again with very friendly people running it. We would highly reccomend this cottage, so comfortable and all you will need there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
Thank you for your great review. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Oct 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back in Blisland.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jill H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful location near the ideal village of Blisland, Bodmin Moor and the Camel Trail.”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely cottage with lots of homely touches - a real home from home. Kitchen was well equipped and even had an aga for the winter months. Two dining areas: one in the kitchen and one in the dining room as well as plenty of comfortable seating in the cosy lounge and also the conservatory. Two woodburners and plenty of books, magazines and games to keep everyone entertained. Two bathrooms and another downstairs toilet and utility room, and two seperate parking areas.
Very secure private garden for dogs - our dog loved it and enjoyed his walks on the moor and down into Blisland to the local shop and the Blisland Inn (also dog friendly).
The country lanes are narrow in this area, but would suit those wanting a complete escape from the rat race as it is a very peaceful spot, but also those seeking an active outdoors holiday with Bodmin Moor behind, the start of the Camel Trail close by, and the surfing/paddle boarding beach of Polzeath only 1/2 hour away. We had a great holiday with our three teens and the dog.
The owners customer service was excellent, and we wouldn't hesitate to return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2016
Thank you for your fantastic review. Glad you had a great time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanja B
Grafschaft
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage - perfect holidays”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We just returned from a wonderful stay in Ben's Cottage in Blisland. Have been there with friends and their teenage daughters. Everyone enjoyed the house: perfect for a big family or friends (especially because one bedroom with it's bathroom is in a separate part of the house, accessible by stairs from the kitchen). The other two bedrooms with shower room are accessible from stairs in the dining room. Large kitchen with great equipment, bright conservatory where you can sit and read or play games. Cosy living room with lots of guide books and maps, games, videos etc.
We liked the small garden with its chairs and table and the other one to play Boule in. The cottage is just a few minutes walk from Blisland, where you have a little shop and a nice pub (with good live music and pub quiz). Ben cared a lot, e.g. when the dishwasher broke down, he immediately arranged a new one. He answered all our questions before and during our stay and was a friendly host. I hope to get there one day again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Conservatory, garden, kitchen
Liked least: low ceilings in bedroom and bathroom (but that was not a problem)
Travelling group: Großer Gruppe
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to have you as guests at the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
koszeg
canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Lovely rustic cottage”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this cottage in July for a week. The owner answered my questions promptly and kindly even before the trip. The cottage is well equipped and is in a quiet area. My favourite was the sunroom for an early coffee or tea.
You can have nice walks on the moor or in the nearby countryside.
We did lots of great day trips and the owner has some good recommendations for things to see in the area.
Cornwall is amazing.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
outintheo...
Helston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from home - only better!”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Apologies that this is almost a month after we stayed at the cottage. Life takes over & people forget to leave feedback. However, we loved our stay at Lease cottage so much that we feel a review, albeit a little late, is important.

We stayed at Lease Cottage with our two Border Terriers & were particularly impressed with the attention to detail offered for canine visitors. There were stable doors throughout, so that we could manage which rooms they went into & well thought-out, safe routes to the fenced garden & brilliant secure dog exercise area. (For dog owners: there was a very handy dog waste bin to be found in Blisland, which seems to lead to everywhere you may want to go for the day!)

The cottage was beautifully furnished & equipped with everything we might need. It came with unexpected & pleasant surprise discoveries, like the dog sculpture nestling in the flowers & the atmosphere in the old wood store. We ended up never going out to eat, because sitting by the Aga with a glass of wine & leisurely cooking our own meals, was all we could want after a day out.

The cottage is beautifully situated within walking distance of Blisland: a pretty moorland village, with a pub on the village green & a well stocked community shop & café. We just loved the church bells & the sound of the hymns on the Sunday morning. It was possible to walk to beautiful areas of moorland directly from the house, with wild cattle & sheep roaming free, interesting rocks & clapper bridges close by.

There was more than enough to do & see & in fact, we left wanting another week! Entrances to the Camel Trail & various woods were all within a few miles & the stunning coastline just a short car drive away. (We particularly liked Port Quin)

This is the first place we’ve stayed, where we felt really relaxed & comfortable so quickly & were referring to it as home by the second day! It doesn’t just look nice on the website – it’s amazing! Thank you too Ben, for the calls to check we were ok & had everything we needed. You have created a place that is a welcoming, warm & very relaxing temporary ‘home’ for those of us; (human & canine!), lucky enough to stay in it. We will certainly be back … soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
idevlin
County Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great cottage, really clean and cosy, a superb base for exploring Cornwall.”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed for a week and ended up wishing it was longer. Lovely cottage in a nice location close to Bodmin. Set in a quiet country lane with a lovely garden. We had our young child with us but there were stair gates too. A number of nice rooms to relax in. Kitchen is very well equipped and had everything we needed when we felt like cooking. There is also an Aga and two wood burning stoves but the weather was still warm enough so we didn't need to heat the place.

The house is about an 8min walk into Blisland, a nice small village with a good pub that does food till 9pm I think. Roadworks on the A30 were the only issue we had (especially on the Aug bank holiday weekend), but it was easy enough to navigate alternate routes to everywhere we wanted to go. These are due to finish in Summer 2016 if I recall correctly.

Rang the owner Ben just the once and he was very helpful and friendly, a pleasure to deal with. If I'm holidaying in the area again I'd definitely book the cottage again if available.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review. Your comments are really appreciated, and I am delighted that you had such a great time at the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing