We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat!”
Review of Cabilla Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabilla Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A real treat!”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Sue and I spent a weekend with Robin and Louella recently and had a fantastic time, we were not made to feel like paying guests but more like old friends. Nothing was too much trouble for them and the accommodation was exceptional, at a very reasonable price. I recommend Cabilla Manor to anyone who is looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
33
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

After 45 years of travelling the world for a living, I find it hard to get overly excited by any hotel or guesthouse. They blur into each other in one's memory. But Cabilla Manor is exceptional. Robin and Luella turned a routine few days away into a truly memorable trip. I cannot remember ever having had hosts who were so accommodating, friendly, welcoming or interesting. The house itself is a gem in an incomparable setting and our room was huge, beautifully furnished, very individual and impeccably clean. We were made to feel like family friends rather than paying guests. "Paying" is scarcely the right word since, in terms of value for money, Cabilla Manor is ridiculous. For the cost of a 3 star hotel we got the run of a 14th Century Manor House in some of the most beautiful countryside in Britain. The only negative was having to leave and return to Manchester.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Everything is so well done. Rooms are very comfortable with bath and shower. Louella has great flare for design. A beautiful house in a lovely setting. Louella and Robin join guests for Dinner and breakfast and the food is delicious. A lovely dinner party with good company. We have stayed here 12 times - more than anyone else! and we love it.
over the years, Robin & Louella have become great friends with shared interests.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We spent 6 days with Robin and Louella. We got to know them well. Robin is an explorer and the manor is full of artefacts. Louella cooks a delicious breakfast. She knows Cornwall well, and can send you to pubs which have some of the most delicious food we have ever had. Don't miss the pub in Charleston. We felt extremely well cared-for. She gives you precise directions, and the directions "home" -- be sure to look on the flip side of the map.

The manor and grounds are delightful. One room has a large bed, excellent mattress, and a heating blanket that Louella turns on before bedtime (I don't know how she manages to sneak in!). Four mares had foaled. There are Highland cattle, sheep, and deer if you are quiet.

We want to go back! Sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LadySkiMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

a very special place, with warm and special people. A real treat!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMW42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Robin and Louella are charming, generous and most hospitable hosts. We walked their moorlands, swam in their lake, read on their terrace, chatted with them over afternoon tea while admiring their beautiful gardens and scenery, ate scrumptious breakfasts with them in the conservatory and slept soundly in the luxurious bedroom after sharing an evening glass of wine. Cabilla Manor is the perfect place from which to explore the delights that Cornwall has to offer. The London Inn is a charming little pub a couple of miles away in St Neot. It has delicious pub grub. When driving to and from Cabilla Manor watch out for the cattle and horses that roam freely often along the roads and Louella who brings a fresh approach to driving! A holiday within a holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brett27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Cabilla Manor is a wonderful place to stay - a lovely old house, and beautiful grounds, and
newborn Westie puppies who were gorgeous!
Louella and Robin are extraordinarily warm and welcoming hosts. I stayed for only one night but left the following day almost feeling I had been staying with friends. I would love to return one day.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chatters_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodmin
7.8 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
284 reviews
5.1 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
185 reviews
7.5 mi away
Pencubitt House
Pencubitt House
#1 of 5 in Liskeard
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Trecarne House
Trecarne House
#1 of 1 in St Cleer
52 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
22.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabilla Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabilla Manor

Property: Cabilla Manor
Address: Bodmin PL30 4DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Bodmin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabilla Manor is a spacious Georgian farmhouse on the edge of Bodmin Moor – right in the heart of Poldark country. A working farm surrounded by acres of woods and moorland. Horses from the Camargue in Southern France, and sheep and cattle are farmed. Built on the site of a Domesday manor, the present house is a listed building built in 1780 and 1820. Walks through the woods, across Bodmin Moor and along many footpaths are all close by. The home of the explorer Robin Hanbury-Tenison and his wife Louella, Cabilla Manor is full of interesting artefacts brought back from their travels. Newlyn school pictures, stencilled quilts and decoupage are in every room and a warm welcome is assured. Half an hour’s drive from both north and south coasts, the spectacular Cornish beaches and fishing villages, plus the many famous gardens of Cornwall, including the Lost Gardens of Heligan and the astonishing Eden Project are easily reached. Good local pubs, restaurants and pretty villages are all around and the house is comfortable with wonderful views. Louella is happy to provide dinner occasionally by prior arrangement. £50 per person. Terms Bed and Breakfast £55.00 to £65.00 per person per night. Rooms 2 double with own bathrooms. 1 other double room and a twin bedded room share one bathroom. Open All year except Christmas and New Year. Dinner By arrangement. £50.00 per person. Notes ○ Well behaved children welcome. ○ Dogs welcome, but not in the house. ○ Own transport and prior booking essential. ○ No smoking in the house. ○ Tennis court. ○ Credit Cards not accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cabilla Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabilla Manor Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing