We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Without question, the most hospitable, friendly and interesting people in the best B&B anywhere!”
Review of Cabilla Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabilla Manor
Ranked #3 of 42 Bodmin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Louella and Robin are the perfect hosts. They want to know about you, and will go out of their way to make your stay the best it could be. The house is fascinating, and has something interesting around every corner. Superb. We can't wait to visit again, and would have no hesitation in recommending it to all our family and friends!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ponderosa56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2010

Cabilla Manor

The most special place we have ever been to. It is remote and quiet with amazing views, especially from the large conservatory where welcoming afternoon tea and the wonderful breakfast is served.

Extremely comfortable, lovely old house and like - no, better than - staying with friends.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Forthetimebeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We have stayed at Cabilla Manor for long weekends over several years and we love it. Robin and Louella are the most welcoming hosts, the house is lovely and the grounds are just wonderful. If you enjoy beautiful surroundings, wild moorlands, good restaurants and seaside eateries, friendly and engaging hosts and stimulating conversation over breakfast, Cabilla Manor is the place to stay. Convenient for the Eden Project, Heligan, the Camel Trail, etc.. Our only hesitation was in writing this review - we would rather keep our favourite place to stay a secret!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonyOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Even on our first stay at Cabilla, in 2003, we were welcomed like family. Louella and Robin are very interesting people themselves, but they are interested in learning about YOU.
We were offered tea upon arrival; some hosts give you tea and disappear, but Louella sat down with us to get acquainted. She will call for dinner reservations, then arm you with a map of how to get there, and perhaps a different way back to Cabilla.
Her cooked breakfasts are first-rate, made better because she and Robin will sit and visit over the meal.
Now, each time we plan a return trip to Cornwall, the first contact we make is Cabilla Manor, to make sure the dates we want are available. There is so much more here to appreciate. The setting is at the end of a road on Bodmin Moor: serenely peaceful, with the moorland dropping away beyond the property. We seek out places to stay away from the bustle of cities and towns, and this location is superb!
Louella has decorated their stone cottage home with ingenuity and humor. Besides her stenciled furniture and stitched pillows, there are mementos from their adventures scattered through the house. Every corner is interesting and charming.
Nothing is too much trouble for them when it comes to assisting you with your stay. In 2007's persistent rainstorms, Louella would be there at the car with an over-sized umbrella each time we drove up. One year, when we were planning to travel with a friend, who would need to go by train back to London from St. Austell; we wrote Louella and asked her how to buy the ticket, and she purchased it for him. Such service! We will be returning this summer, and we look forward to returning to Cabilla the same way we would anticipate a visit with cherished relatives.

Signed, Happy Yanks

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nojetlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

This was a wonderful place to stay. Louella was a lovely hostess, very helpful and pleasant, and the rooms were beautiful. Would recommend it highly to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harmonicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We had a lovely time during our stay, Robin & Louella are extremely warm and friendly people, even for a first stay we were made to feel as welcome as any family member would be, you actually do share the breakfast table with the family, a most charming experience. This is a home first and foremost and Robin and Loualla are consummate hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank corruna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Wonderful place to stay.Robin and Louella are thoughtful and highly entertaining hosts, nothing is too much bother and you really feel welcomed like one of the family. Breakfast is shared with them and their wonderful stories and adventures will keep you enthralled . The surrounding area is full of delights and they will make sure you make the most of it. Their suggestions for eating out were superb and even with poor weather we had a wonderful time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marilyn36NorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bodmin hotels
6.7 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
360 reviews
5.4 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
208 reviews
7.6 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bodmin Hotel
8.6 mi away
Paths End B&B
Paths End B&B
#1 of 1 in Saint Teath
45 reviews
10.3 mi away
Treliver Farm
Treliver Farm
#1 of 1 in Saint Wenn
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabilla Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabilla Manor

Address: Cabilla Manor,, Bodmin PL30 4DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Bodmin
Price Range: £114 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabilla Manor is a spacious Georgian farmhouse on the edge of Bodmin Moor – right in the heart of Poldark country. A working farm surrounded by acres of woods and moorland. Horses from the Camargue in Southern France, and sheep and cattle are farmed. Built on the site of a Domesday manor, the present house is a listed building built in 1780 and 1820. Walks through the woods, across Bodmin Moor and along many footpaths are all close by. The home of the explorer Robin Hanbury-Tenison and his wife Louella, Cabilla Manor is full of interesting artefacts brought back from their travels. Newlyn school pictures, stencilled quilts and decoupage are in every room and a warm welcome is assured. Half an hour’s drive from both north and south coasts, the spectacular Cornish beaches and fishing villages, plus the many famous gardens of Cornwall, including the Lost Gardens of Heligan and the astonishing Eden Project are easily reached. Good local pubs, restaurants and pretty villages are all around and the house is comfortable with wonderful views. Louella is happy to provide dinner occasionally by prior arrangement. £50 per person. Terms Bed and Breakfast £55.00 to £65.00 per person per night. Rooms 2 double with own bathrooms. 1 other double room and a twin bedded room share one bathroom. Open All year except Christmas and New Year. Dinner By arrangement. £50.00 per person. Notes ○ Well behaved children welcome. ○ Dogs welcome, but not in the house. ○ Own transport and prior booking essential. ○ No smoking in the house. ○ Daily Housekeeping included with the rate ○ Tennis court. ○ Credit Cards not accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cabilla Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabilla Manor Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing