We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite family holiday”
Review of Higher Lank Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bodmin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Higher Lank Farm
Ranked #7 of 42 Bodmin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This is our fourth visit to Higher Lank Farm and we'll be back again next year. We've stayed in the farmhouse and both self-catering cottages - and find that both have their advantages. Staying in the farmhouse is more sociable and good if you only have one child as they make friends easily at mealtimes, and in the lovely living room which has a great selection of toys - all in excellent condition. Having a few meals made in the evenings, and babysitting on offer once a week is also a bonus. We also like the self-catering barns - Bo Peep works well with grandparents staying too, but we have a slight preference for Humpty Dumpty as it has a lovely large kitchen and the bathroom is quite luxurious. The garden with sandpit is also a plus. Andrew & Lucy really make this place special and our daughter talks about them all year. We always look forward to the sumptuous high tea & tractor trailer over the fields on the first day to feed the cows, and the warm welcome from Lucy & Andrew. We've been with two sets of friends too who are just as hooked - it just works.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ricciolina76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

Our daughter and son - in - law invited us to share this week with them and our grand - daughter Georgia in the unique and fantastic holiday farm which Lucy , Andrew and their children provide . Higher Lank Farm is a working farm and it certainly worked for all of us ( in fact it was our daughter's fourth visit there ) .It is fun and educational -- lovely to see our grand- daughter and the other children interacting with the animals every morning -- collecting the eggs and feeding the orphan lambs always a highlight .
We stayed in one of the beautifully converted barns , Bo- Peep , and it worked so well for us -- everything available for self - catering , lovely living - room with plenty of toys for Georgia, very comfortable beds and good bathrooms .Nor should we fail to mention the great welcome tea on the Saturday afternoon , just right after the journey and a good chance to meet the other visitors . So thanks to Lucy and Andrew and the children -- we shall not gorget you -- nor would any other family who visited you

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank john P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We recently enjoyed a relaxing week at Higher Lank Farm with our three children (6,4 & 3yrs old). The kids loved the animals, cottage and outdoor toys along with the huge array of high quality toys (which kept them fully occupied for the week). We loved the Humpty Dumpty cottage. Plenty of space to spread out, very warm underfloor heating, high quality appliances and fittings, relaxing 'proper' shower and deep long bath. Farmer Andrew & Lucy are welcoming, excellent with the kids and helpful with local knowledge (without intruding on your privacy). We were also greeted with a home cooked gluten free cake (in lieu of the standard High Tea) and a basket of fresh eggs (both of which we enjoyed for days). We were secretly pleased it rained during our stay so we could just stay in the cottage and relax. Highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We are just coming to the end of an exceptional week staying in bo peep cottage with my children and parents. We have a six year old, three and two year old little boys and they are begging to come back again soon. Lucy and Andrew have just got everything right, beds comfortable, sofas relaxing, reliable wifi, well equipped kitchen. Great range of toys. We can not find a fault. They even unpacked our supermarket order for us.

It's early November and the weather is awful but it has not mattered. The high tea is a must on arrival, the tractor ride to see the cows perfect after the drive here. The daily feeding of the animals the highlight for my sons.

I really can not recommend this place enough, we hope to come back next year and I came here because the reviews were so good and it has been better than expected.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Katrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We just got back from a week at Higher Lank Farm. I've never written a review before but we had such a fabulous time, I wanted to share our experience. My husband and I stayed in Bo Peep cottage with our son (14 months) and my parents. Lucy and Andrew were excellent hosts. Our son was already quite into animals but this experience has made him even more in love with them. He loved feeding all the animals every day, he couldn't wait to get out there in the morning. His confidence grew daily and was quite happy feeding, touching and stroking all the animals. He was so excited to have a pony ride he wanted to get back on again when it finished. The accomodation lovely and was very well equiped which made packing so much easier. There were so many toys our son didn't know which to play with first. Lucy had lots of useful local knowledge that was useful when the weather wasn't so great. My husband and I had a lovely meal at The St Tudy Inn recommended by Lucy, we were lucky enough to get a table and the food was amazing. We will be back soon for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GED1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Higher Lank Farm is the perfect family holiday. Our kids (3 and 18 months) loved feeding the animals in the morning, collecting the eggs for breakfast and heading out on tractor and pony rides. The immaculate cottages are ideally set up for young children with toys galore, safety gates, high chairs and the most wonderful hand-carved 'tree bed'. Andrew and Lucy simply can't do enough for you and were always on hand to help out.

The countryside is stunnning and you're only 30 minutes away from fantastic beaches and lovely towns like Padstow for top-notch sea food. We'd highly recommend it for parents looking for a little haven away from hectic city life.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We were slightly worried that our 5yr old was at the top end of the suggested age range (the farm is aimed at those 5 and under), however, we needn't worry as we all had a fabulous time. The morning feeding sessions were very well organised by both Andrew and Lucy with plenty of interaction from pigs, lambs, chickens, goats and even an opportunity to hold day old chicks. One day there is a pony ride and another, a pony and trap ride, both very well received.

Breakfast was excellent every day. We didn't make use of the evening meals as we tended to eat out in local pubs most days. For our night of free babysitting we went to the Tudy Inn which is highly recommended.

There is plenty of play areas for the kids at other times, although we spent most of time out exploring cornwall. At the bottom of the (steep) hill by the farm there is the start of the excellent camel trail cycle route. One day we cycled 8 miles or so to an excellent vinyard stopping for lunch at the camel trail tea rooms, and another day we drove to Wadebridge and cycled to Padstow (5 miles each way).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajfvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bodmin hotels
4.8 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
355 reviews
8.1 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
319 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
No photo provided
Paths End B&B
#1 of 1 in Saint Teath
44 reviews
8.8 mi away
Treliver Farm
Treliver Farm
#1 of 1 in Saint Wenn
82 reviews
6.9 mi away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Higher Lank Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higher Lank Farm

Address: St Breward, Bodmin PL30 4NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Bodmin
Price Range: £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique farm holidays for families with young children, babies and toddlers in Cornwall.We would love to welcome you and your children to our working farm, for a totally relaxing and happy farm holiday, whatever the weather!We have two fantastic self catering cottages, Bo Peep Cottage sleeps four adults and five children and Humpty Dumpty Cottage is designed to sleep a family of either two adults, three children in beds and three children in cots OR three adults, two children in beds and three children in cots.Tractor rides, animal feeding, pony rides, swimming pool and more fun to be had on the farm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Higher Lank Farm Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing