We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the Camel Trail”
Review of Lavethan

Lavethan
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bodmin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lavethan
Ranked #26 of 42 Bodmin B&B and Inns
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect for the Camel Trail”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My friend and I stayed for one night because we were cycling the Camel Trail. Lavethan is just the most peaceful, beautiful house you can imagine and is slap bang at the end of the Camel Trail. Breakfast was wonderful and our host recommended a pub for an evening meal that was perfect. Like all old houses the place is quirky and creaky - what's not to like about that.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moretonhampstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Hosts were accommodating to my request for an early check in and kindly left me directions to my room incase they were out. I had a courtyard room, so could come and go as I pleased without going into the house. Lovely big comfy bed. Very quiet beautiful setting, quite isolated. Breakfast was good. The only negative is, that I tried to have a bath at seven am but there was no hot water, tried again 45mins later and still no hot water.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmadevon1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

The house and grounds are beautiful and the owners are charming. The accommodation is superb and very comfortable. This is indeed a wonderful place to stay and very good value for money. I would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulStrasbourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We had a pretty and comfortable bedroom with a large bathroom on the first floor of this charming house in a lovely valley. There were even fresh flowers put in the room.
There was an elegant sitting room with lots of magazines, Tv and fireplace for cosy winter evenings. Delicious full english breakfast produced by a very helpful owner who gave us good suggestions as to what to visit and where to eat well. We went to Boscastle, Port Isaac and Padstow and had a delicious dinner at the pub in St Kew.
Take you sat nav as there are few road signs and the roads are very narrow, so careful if you have a large car. Eden project is close but we avoided it owing to the August crowds.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2010

I stayed with my husband at Lavethan in January, during the snow. The house was AMAZING - I've never seen such lovely rooms or slept in such big beds. It was cosy, with real fires. Perfect start to the year. The owners couldn't have been kinder, chatting about the house but also leaving us in peace to relax - the perfect combination to be. I will definitely be back in the summer to have another mini-break and to see the garden - even in winter, with the ancient courtyard and garden sculptures it looked great. Thoroughly recommend: sophisticated and comfortable piece of history, great value for what it is.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Fascinating and very old house within walking distance of the pub, but when we told the hosts we had eaten there (there is nowhere else within walking distance) we were given the impression we should not have done anything so common. Communication is not one of their strengths. The website shows a swimming pool but you would have to look very hard to find it. We had to show another couple, who had been there a few days, how to find it!
The gardens are interesting but we were not invited to look around. I have a doctorate in art history and I suspect that the family have strong artistic connections but there was no opportunity to discuss any common interests. It is almost as though they resent having strangers in their house. That may be wrong and, if so, it is sad they give that impression.
It is expensive at £90 per night and we think that it is overpriced. Still at least it keeps the working classes out!
Would recommend to a friend only if money was no object.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2006

Our first holiday in 3 years couldn't have started in a more beautiful, relaxing place. With a very warm welcome from our host we were shown our lovely room with enormous bed in a glorious building, the YOUNGEST part of which is 300 yrs old. Quite apart from having the best 4 nights sleep we'd had in ages, a delicious breakfast and the wonderful freedom to come and go as we pleased (and explore the grounds of this exquisite home), we spent each night of our stay at the wonderful Blisland Inn sampling a large array of VERY well kept local beers. It's just a short stroll away from the house ( bring a torch for the homeward journey) and a great place to while away the evenings and meet the locals. There's SO much to see in Bodmin Moor and Lavethan is the PERFECT place to explore it from.

  • Liked — historic building and location
  • Disliked — what's not to like?
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hownow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bodmin hotels
0.6 mi away
Trewint Farm Bed & Breakfast
2.2 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
186 reviews
4.1 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
292 reviews
0.0 mi away
Treliver Farm
Treliver Farm
#1 of 1 in Saint Wenn
74 reviews
5.2 mi away
No photo provided
Paths End B&B
#1 of 1 in Saint Teath
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavethan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavethan

Property: Lavethan
Address: Lavethan Blisland, Bodmin PL30 4QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Bodmin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Lavethan Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing