We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place worth a look”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Endless fun for your little ones
Toddler ride-on park
Endless space
Rory has got an itch.
Peace and tranquility.
Local places to explore.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bodmin, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Badger777...
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place worth a look ”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Glynn Barton cottages are a great place to stay with young children and has facilities equalling and surpassing many places.
Huge play fort / climb on, animal feeding, indoor swimming pool and a trampoline. Small indoor soft play and a games room / ride on area. So it's great.
It's quiet and a good place to stay (narrow country lanes to get there of course Cornwall style). The cottages are done out decently and have most of what you want. Laundry room on site which is very handy.
The only real gripe for us (and I see I'm not the first ) are the really awful beds. We stayed in Bull Run and the double bed was tiny 3ft 6 maybe at best. It was old and very very soft with a mattress beyond its best. As a couple we could barely fit in it and ended up sleeping in separate rooms and putting one of the kids with us. Even the kids made it seem small as they spread out :).
The room could fit a 4.5 foot wide or even a 5ft wide bed really so no need. The kids beds were a bit better but also old creaky springs and worn mattresses.

Grounds were good. Lots of rules but the kids had great fun. It's a decent enough location for a host of great places to visit.
I think we would visit again but please sort the beds out and get firmer mattresses and a bigger bed. These have been there for a long time. We didn't have a single,good nights sleep.
Otherwise it was a great place and we had a great time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2017
Thank you for your review . On the whole it would appear that you had an enjoyable experience with us and we are sorry to here that you did not find our beds comfortable. All of our 4 star cottages have 4ft 6 beds in them and king size beds in our 5 star cottages with mattresses changed on a regular basis, we always keep spare new ones in stock an are able to change them at a moments notice. Best wishes

Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rj38
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful family holiday at Glynn Barton”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Came with family including 19 month old grandson - perfect for him, soft play area, little tykes cars, swings, two adventure forts, playhouse, animals, indoor pool......wonderfully relaxing for us and perfect for our son and daughter in law who were here last summer.

Also very handy for Newquay Zoo (which is great), endless beaches, walks (Cardinham Woods are a couple of miles away, Stick Man trail etc), Lost Gardens, Lanhydrock......and the recommended Indian takeaway in Bodmin is excellent.

Expect we'll return next Spring - even the weather was good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfect for a young family (and the older generation)
Liked least: Roadworks on A30 - not sure the owners have a lot of control over that though.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robin M
West Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fantastic setting for an exciting family holiday”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I joined our daughter, son in law and two grandchildren for lovely family holiday.
The site is VERY child friendly with lots of things to do.
There is daily animal feeding with the children helping to feed a donkey,sheep, cattle, pigs, goats and chickens and then collecting the eggs.
Lots of place to play, an indoor swimming pool, games room and a big open area with tractors, cars etc.
The owners are very very approachable and friendly.
The cottage we were in had 3 nice bedrooms with excellent facilities.
It is also a good base situated in the middle of Cornwall to visit either coast.
Well worth a visit, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flowerk
Birmingham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring Cornwall”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Stayed at Glynn Barton for a week in April with husband and 2 kids (7 and 5). Great base for exploring Cornwall as it's pretty much in the centre of everything. Lovely cosy cottages with everything you need. Kids loved the animal feeding and playground and we loved the convenient location and the extras such as the on tap ready meals, washing machine, honesty shop and great hospitality from Steve and Shirley! Nice to have a self-contained holiday home but with others around for the kids to play with but to be honest, I think it is most suited to younger children. Most on site were a bit younger than ours. Still- would highly recommend as a great base with extras. My only gripe was the soft bed and its effect on my middle-aged back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: extras
Liked least: soft bed
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macna
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A perfect find”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A broken foot for our daughter-in-law necessitated a last minute change of holiday plans from New York to Glynn Barton - we joined them there to help out and what a find these cottages are!
They describe themselves as "family friendly" which must be one of the understatements of the year. After a week there we could not think of anything which was missing. Lovely swimming pool, soft play room, trampoline, general play room, outdoor play vehicles, animals to feed, lovely grounds to walk around, freezer room full of quality foods and fresh eggs gathered by the children and everything kept in excellent condition.
We had two separate cottages, each of which was fully equipped inside and had seating outdoors too. Very comfortable and clean.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTravel...
England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect for families with kids under 5. Loved every moment.”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Just an awesome experience. You really don't need to leave the farm - they have thought of everything for kids under 5. A really good find.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing