We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another relaxing week”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bodmin, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

cajon71
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Another relaxing week”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We are regular visitors to East Rose and always look forward to returning. We have stayed in several of the Cottages over the years, this time we chose Mowhay which we found to be comfortable, spacious and very well equipped and as always spotlessly clean.

There is a small selection of books – should you forget to bring one. The cottages are in a perfect spot for enjoying peace, quiet and tranquillity. We particularly enjoy the cream tea that awaits us in the cottage on our arrival - after our long drive. There is a very pleasant well maintained and well stocked lake complex for those that like to do a bit of fishing.

Matthew and Becky are always most helpful and nothing is too much trouble, the whole holiday set up is a credit to them and their hard work.

We will be back next year.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in Mowhay Cottage at East Rose. We are both glad to hear that you have enjoyed your holidays at East Rose and we look forward to seeing you again next July!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevie2bi...
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet..”
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Mowhay cottage is a well equipped holiday cottage. Cream tea on arrival. Spotlessly clean. The grounds and lakes are beautifully kept and provide some enjoyable fishing.
Plenty to see and do within the surrounding area.. You just need to be lucky with the weather...And we were!

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2017
Thank you very much for your review of Mowhay Cottage at East Rose. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjb602016
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dog friendly Winter Break”
Reviewed 17 May 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We have stayed at East Rose for 16 consecutive years, Owners are vey friendly and helpful. The whole of the East Rose grounds including the lakes are kept to a high standard. We have also stayed in two of the other cottages and each one has been outstanding.
The welcoming scones, jam and tea on the table is a very welcoming site after a long journey it just gives you that nice start to your holiday.
A great place to walk from over the moors or to travel and see Cornwall.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in Mowhay Cottage at East Rose. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy C
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This was my third visit and will definitely be going again. Fabulous location on Bodmin Moor. Cottages are great Warm welcome from Matthew and Becky and nothing was too much trouble. East Rose is a great destination for a peaceful holiday but not too far from amenities. The lakes are gorgeous and very well kept.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in Mowhay Cottage at East Rose. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us again, and look forward to seeing you for your next stay with us later in the year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“WOW Ideal Family friendly home from home”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in May 2016

We love the location, the owners are so helpful would not book anywhere else now. Family and pet friendly, although you would not know if a dog had been staying the previous week as the standard of cleanliness is so high. Suitable for everyone either as a base or a complete hideaway. We love it!!

Date of stay: May 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments - we are glad you enjoy your holidays at East Rose and we look forward to seeing you again in May and September 2017!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
125Margo
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect spot”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our third visit to East Rose and second in Mowhay Cottage. This time we were accompanied by relatives from Fiji who were as delighted as us with the excellent accommodation. We received a warm welcome and a tasty cream tea.
Although not fisher folk ourselves, we can appreciate that East Rose's lakes must be a haven for anglers.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location!
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2015
Thank you very much for your comments - we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.