We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Relax at Thyme Cottage in the Cornish Countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax at Thyme Cottage in the Cornish Countryside
Beautifully restored cottage converted from a stone barn. Thyme Cottage with its small enclosed garden and patio area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Relax at Thyme Cottage in the Cornish Countryside
Beautifully restored cottage converted from a stone barn.
Thyme Cottage with its small enclosed garden and patio area.
Lounge with wood burning stove
Kitchen in Cottage
Double room with ensuite on ground floor
Double room on ground floor looking towards ensuite shower room
Double room downstairs
Room with full size bunk beds and ensuite shower
Our Studio will cater for groups wanting to eat together
Our Studio
Our Studio is ideal for larger groups or for day/residential courses
Our Studio for larger groups incorporates everything needed for larger groups to eat together
The Games room at Lower Trengale has darts board,table tennis and pool tables.
The outside childrens play area with swings,small slide and trampoline.
View from the communal garden outside Thyme Cottage looking over grounds at Lower Trengale
Wander around the grounds and relax by the upper pond.
Lower Trengale is a haven for nature lovers.
You will be my best friend if you throw my ball for me again,again and again!!
Don't forget me.Ruby as a young pup.
A warm welcome and cream tea awaits you at Thyme Cottage.
Just 20 minutes from the beaches at Seaton and Looe and the South Coastal path.
There are numerous rock pools to explore
The chesswring at Minions on Bodmin Moor is but 4 miles from Thyme Cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Bodmin, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Calum P
1 review
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 4 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Stunning location, beautiful cottage and facilities. Wonderful hosts and superb food. Amazing beaches just a short drive away and lovely local pubs. Wouldn't change anything!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2018
It was lovely to meet you Callum and we are glad that you enjoyed your short stay at Lower Trengale.As you say we are right in the centre of Cornwall with easy access to both coasts and to all the major Cornish Attractions including the Eden Project...only 20 minutes away by car.
We hope to see you again soon.Mike and Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Jan 2018
Thank you for your review.
All of our woodburners are set to be lit and a basket of logs provided for guest's use for their first evening.We supply information as to where wood can be sourced for the remainder of the stay and details on how to use and light your wood burner.
We are unable to supply board games (or anything that isn't washable) for Health and Safety reasons and obviously the weather is outside of our control. Our offer to help feed the animals in the evening wasn't possible for you as you were with family locally at feeding times.
Inspite of this we do hope that you enjoyed New year at Lower Trengale with the cream tea supplied on arrival and the biscuits and wine left under your Christmas Tree.
Kind Regards, Mike and Kay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Caroline...
1 review
“Amazing accommodation, clean, spacious and dog friendly!”
Reviewed 29 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a fabulous holiday staying at Tyme Cottage Lower Trengale. The accommodation was brilliant, clean, comfortable and spacious and perfect for 2 dogs. Mike and Kay have thought of everything and the finishing touches -homemade scones with cream and jam on arrival and dog treats and beds- made us feel incredibly welcomed. The finish of these cottages is of such a high standard you did not feel like you were you were staying in a holiday rental but were in a lovely home. I can not recommend these cottages enough we will definitely be going back. Thank you Mike and Kay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
Thank you Caroline for such a lovely review.It was such a pleasure for us to have you and your family (both 2 legged and 4 legged) stay with us and we do hope that you returned home rested and refreshed.
We look forward to seeing you all again in the future.Mike and Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for this review.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Thyme Cottage.
We are almost in the centre of Cornwall and so are easily accessible to all the main attractions that this beautiful County has to offer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Hi Jenny,
Thank you so much for your review.We are so glad that you had an enjoyable time at Thyme Cottage and that the children enjoyed the play area,trampoline and Games room.We would love to welcome you back to Lower Trengale in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
birmingham
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fireworks...
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The perfect Cornish retreat. ”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you are searching for a peaceful, idyllic cottage to get away from the noise of modern day living this place is for you! Reached by a lovely high banked, narrow Cornish Lane the setting couldn't be more perfect for this Cottage; no busy road, no street lighting, no noisy neighbours just peace and tranquility to kick back and relax in. Bliss.
If you are looking for Pubs, Restaurants, Arcades and noisy nightlife within walking distance this isn't for you.
It's geographical location makes it perfect for exploring the beauty of Cornwall, Liskeard a couple of miles away for groceries, only 8 miles from Looe, a few more to St Austell, Eden Project, lots of National Trust properties, Morwellham Quay plus stunning Coves & Beaches all easily accessible.
The Cottage is a lovely Barn Conversion, multi level with 4 bedrooms, 2 ensuite bathrooms and 1 family bathroom. The Bedrooms on the ground floor benefit from being built below ground level on one side keeping them wonderfully cool in hot weather. The Bunk Bed room has a lovely ensuite but be careful not to bang your head if sleeping on the top bunk as clearance is tight. The single room is small but comfortable and the double is bright with courtyard window. Upstairs the double off the Kitchen is great with a power shower in its ensuite.
The whole cottage is clean, comfortable and well maintained with everything you could need for a wonderful stay.
Only down side, Cooking isn't too easy, as space is tight in the Kitchen/Diner, we struggled trying to cook a meal for 3 Adults and 2 Children especially when using the Oven. Power comes via an electric coin fed meter so make sure you have £1 coins handy, but I believe this is going to be replaced soon.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this lovely cottage it's a wonderful home away from home, my family had a fantastic holiday and the owners are so warm and welcoming, we hope to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for this review.
We are glad that you all had a lovely holiday and we do hope to see you again at some point in the future.
As stated we are expecting to remove the coin meter in time for 2017.
Kind Regards,
Mike and Kay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing