We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wine delicious wine”

Camel Valley Vineyard
Ranked #4 of 34 things to do in Bodmin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Working, family owned vineyards, winery, holiday cottages and shop. Scheduled tours (fee) and wine by the bottle or glass (fee) on the terrace and wine bar overlooking the vines. No food except grissini, crisps, olives etc. Opening times vary according to the season. Booking is essential for the Grand Tours. Sorry, no dogs except guide dogs.
cornwall
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wine delicious wine”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We had never truly taken in the skill needed to grow and make a good wine. Friendly and educational outing, with a big plus to taste the produce and buy some.

Helpful?
Thank dotpaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobCornwall, Owner at Camel Valley Vineyard, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
'Wine delicious wine', is lovely to read, many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    54
    12
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice idea but charge for tasting, even when intending to buy”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We had a lovely bottle of Atlantic wine whilst in Cornwall this week. We are big wine fans and decided to drive to the vinery and stock up on Atlantic, to take home with us plus try their selection with a view to buying a selection.
We were told that we would need to buy half glasses of each wine that we wanted to try. I mentioned we would be buying but was not informed of any offset of tasting cost against purchase.
The wine was put firmly back into the fridge and we left disappointed.
We like to buy British and support our economy but this made us feel like our business was unwanted.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Island_Girl_888S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobCornwall, Owner at Camel Valley Vineyard, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
I'm happy to take criticism, but this is untrue. I wrote to this person ,because she wrote the same thing to me in an e mail on the evening following her visit. She responded to my response, and I quote exactly from her e mail: 'We would have happily paid for a taste, 'I am a marketeer myself and I do hate to see missed opportunities!'

It might be a 'missed opportunity' but we don't charge for wine tastings and we don't offer free wine tastings either. We do tours with the wine maker or a family member and some of these take well over an hour and include a tutored tasting and they have a cost (bookable on line). Between tours we operate as a Wine Bar and offer wine by the glass, botle or half glass from £1.50 and it's very popular.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great fun, very interesting and the wine is excellent”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We did the Grand Tour and tasting which was a birthday gift. Mr Lindo is very enthusiastic and entertaining as well as knowing lots about his craft. If you know someone who likes wine give them one of these tours. They explain everything from the vines to the wines! At the end you have a tutored tasting on the terrace by the wine shop which is south facing and looks over the vineyard . We had a nice sunny evening so it was a very pleasant experience. If you want somewhere local to stay try the Trehellas House Hotel (see separate review).
We did buy some wine and yes it does travel well!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeAtsill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobCornwall, Owner at Camel Valley Vineyard, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thank you, that's lovely to hear and i'm so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“you have to try the wine”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

lovely location and loved the wine. my wife loved the pink fizz

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jaapiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobCornwall, Owner at Camel Valley Vineyard, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thank you very much, I'm very glad that you enjoyed your visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The Best Vineyard in the World”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

The family have visited this vineyard many times over the years. This years visit was made the more special as the visit was made on Bicycle. We rode the Camel trail and took time out to visit the vineyard. Easily accessable from the trail. The vineyard never ceases to suprise with its natural beauty. The real star of the show though are the world class award winning wines that are available. We took a Cornwall Brut and drank it on the sun drenched terrace. I tell you its heaven no wonder its won so many world awards. Visit Camel valley you will not be dissapointed. In fact come and meet me i will back in June 2012 can't wait. What is made more special you will meet the family Lindo who produce these fantastic English wines.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank GoolieBrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobCornwall, Owner at Camel Valley Vineyard, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Thank you for a fantastic review and we look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Camel Valley Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to Camel Valley Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing