We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good guided tour of vineyard”

Camel Valley Vineyard
Ranked #4 of 33 things to do in Bodmin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Working, family owned vineyards, winery, holiday cottages and shop. Scheduled tours (fee) and wine by the bottle or glass (fee) on the terrace and wine bar overlooking the vines. No food except grissini, crisps, olives etc. Opening times vary according to the season. Booking is essential for the Grand Tours. Sorry, no dogs except guide dogs.
Nottingham UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good guided tour of vineyard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Vineyard is in a Lovely picturesque valley. The tour was really interesting, we learnt a lot. Complimentary glass of wine was nice. If you are interested in wine it's definitely worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    53
    12
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best of British!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

An entertaining and informative host who is rather modest about his and his wife's journey & achievements (yes, we Googled them after the tour). Delicious wine, a lovely setting and we had no hesitation in treating ourselves to a few bottles of Cornwall to enjoy when we get home. The only question; will we have the self-control to save them 'til Christmas?

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dog unfriendly”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Having heard about the vineyard we decided to visit during a bike ride with our dog. The ascent from the Camel trail is very steep and long. Our visit was during the recent hot summer. We toiled up the approach with bikes and dog trailer. Reaching the vineyard we were dismayed to see a notice 'no dogs'. So having made the effort, and being very hot and sweaty,we decided to fasten up the dog outside the vineyard. Our dog is a very friendly, non-aggressive Staffy (typical of the breed).
On our second glass a bossy and supercilious young man approached us, and standing over our table, berated us loudly in front of all the other customers "I suppose you thought it was amusing to fasten your dog to the 'No Dogs' sign! Our estate dogs have already attacked and killed several other dogs. This warning was for your benefit ..." and on and on.
Several points:
- why not have a no dogs sign at the bottom of the hill on the Camel trail?
- why not deal with the issue in a polite,discreet manner instead of humiliating patrons?
- why keep dangerous dogs where members of the public are supposedly welcome?
- and finally - the two wines we tasted were not very good. There may have been better ones but we were obliged to leave.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Alec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobCornwall, Owner at Camel Valley Vineyard, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
This is a malicious and libellous review. You are correct on just one point in that we don't take dogs (except guide dogs). You say you saw no signs. It says 'no dogs' on the Trip Advisor profile, ‘no dogs’ on our web site, 'no dogs' on the leaflet which is available at our entrance on the Camel Trail, 'no dogs' on the enormous sign opposite the Camel Trail entrance, 'no dogs' on each of the 2 signs on the drive as you come up. You ignored all of them and then tied your dog to a sign that said: 'no dogs, resident Labrador about’. If you look through previous reviews, you will see that the dog signs have been perfectly clear to previous visitors.

Your dog, a Staffordshire bull terrier, barked aggressively and continuously, which is not surprising as you had tied it up in the hot sun, without water, (to the ‘no dogs’ sign) after you abandoned it at the pedestrian entrance to the visitor centre and partly in the road. Whatever you say about Staffordshire bull terriers, they can appear vicious and how would you expect the average person to know that you think your dog is different? Visitors, especially those with young children, were scared to walk past it. You were asked to move it politely, but you argued and then clearly simmered for a few months before joining Trip Advisor just to write this review, which is filled with malicious exaggeration.

As for the nonsense about ‘estate dogs’ killing dogs (I’d laugh if your statement wasn’t actually libellous), we have our own very docile Labrador, her predecessor Bruno was bitten by a visitor's dog (not the other way round) and run over and sadly killed by another visitor's car. The young man was telling you this because we wouldn't want that to happen to your dog, which was tied up on the edge of the road and causing annoyance to other visitors. However, the main reason we don't take dogs, apart from being a food premises, is that we have a lot of visitors and potentially a lot of dogs and the winery is not big enough for all of them.

We do provide shaded parking for cars with dogs, for customers popping in for a short visit to collect wine. Most visitors manage to see the signs and do not bring dogs to the vineyard, or let them out of their cars or trailers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A real treat.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We called in here whilst cycling the trail and the b*****d of the cycle from the trail to the vineyard is certainly worth the effort.
Great staff who are welcoming and knowledgable greeted us on arrival and plenty of tasting had to be done:)
After deciding on a mixed crate we ordered for home delivery to next week.......we were on cycles after all!
Lovely place, people and produce :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Finbar2966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staple Cross, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

It was pouring with rain and we passed a sign to this vineyard. About a mile away, well a very long mile! We drove down to the spacious car park, where a guided tour was in progress, we went into the shop and reassessed at the number of prizes they had won.decidedl to try a glass of well chilled wine, well it was so good, the sun came out and I bought 6 Bottles straight away. Not cheap but tasted great, it made the diversion well worthwhile. So if you a passing by I recommend you stop in for a refreshing glass of top quality wine.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Camel Valley Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to Camel Valley Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing