We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Blissful mid-winter treat - our escape to the...”
Perfect family space
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Perfect family space
Bed 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Perfect family space
Bed 1
Dining area
Hours of soft play fun
Farm animals
Boo!!
Farm animals
Splash around in the pool
An underwater adventure!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bodmin, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rhubarbOx...
oxford
2 reviews
“Blissful mid-winter treat - our escape to the divine Glynn Barton”
Reviewed 9 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

To our children's absolute delight (they shrieked when we told them we were going), we decided this year to escape again to the blissful surroundings of Glynn Barton Cottages for an end of the year/New Year get away, and it didn't disappoint! We had an absolutely blissful, restorative, refreshing, fun and indulgent five days. Pippa and James couldn't have been better hosts, not least with their with a really warm welcome, thoughtful help with baby gear for our newborn (cot and steriliser), friendly engaging animal feeding (our 9 year old son still bounces out of bed to be up in time for this every day - his highlight this year was grooming Sooty and Sweep the donkeys, though stroking goats and being in with the sheep and chickens came a close second) - and festive marshmallow roasting, hot chocolate and mulled wine around the New Years eve campfire (our nearly teenage daughter was just as enthusiastic about second and third helpings of marshmallows as the smaller ones:-).

The days naturally unfolded with lots of time spent onsite and a few trips out (though the children didn't want to leave the site:-)) - from animal feeding and swimming on site in the morning to walks in the 'Gruffalo' forest from the cottages, in Cardinham Woods locally and on the beaches near Padstow and an outing to the Eden project (ice-skating and saw the lights festival). The swimming pool was wonderfully warm and quiet (felt like our private pool).

The Old Stables was a great size for our family of five - we loved the open plan design yet cosy atmosphere and bedrooms on two sides (space for one adult and the other children at least to escape a small but noisy baby).

I'm not a regular poster of reviews but we had such a fantastic break that it felt important to feedback. Thank you Pippa, James, Max and Freddie, and all of the animals for a brilliant start to our 2018 - we'll be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2018
Hi Ruth,
Many thanks for a lovely review. We are absolutely thrilled you had such a wonderful time and look forward to having you back. The daily interactive animal feeding is a huge hit and its lovely to see the children so enthusiastic to learn about our four legged friends. Have a wonderful 2018.
Pippa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CN56285
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We're just returning home after another wonderful week at Glynn Barton, staying in The Old Stables. We're all really sad to be leaving behind the warm pool, soft play, trampoline, animals, views, comfy beds, Steve and Shirley, Oscar the Cat... I'm even sad to be leaving the soft water behind!

Glynn Barton is wonderful for families with young children (& grandparents!) and whilst you might like to pop up to Padstow, visit Lanhydrock or explore the Eden Project, you really don't have to, unless you want to. There is more than enough to keep you busy for days, just at Glynn Barton! Definitely don't fear a rainy day - they're great fun at Glynn Barton.

Steve and Shirley are the most wonderful hosts and the cottages are all gorgeous. You will not regret staying at Glynn Barton for a moment, it's a fabulous place.

Thanks for another set of brilliant memories,
We're looking forward to next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuperDr
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Perfect Family Staycation”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Just spent a lovely week break at the Old Stables with a 4 year old and a 2 year old. The venue was perfect for our family. The cottage was clean, spacious, warm and welcoming. Beds were comfy as was the sofa. All the home essentials were in the cottage or around the corner. The fireplace was great in the evenings once the kids were asleep.

The set-up is very child friendly and our kids were thoroughly entertained: Feeding animals and collecting eggs every day at 09.30. Indoor warm swimming pool and soft play for under 5's and also outdoor trampoline, maze, castle and lawn for all the kids to run around on to mention a few.

Venue is in a great location with Bodmin only 10 minutes drive away and most of the family attractions within an hour drive. This allowed for either half/full day trips away or time at the farm making most of the facilities if we wanted.

Steve and Shirley were so friendly and great with the kids. They were always approachable and welcoming. The other positive was meeting the other families and children during our week stay.

Would definitely come back again!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2017
Thank you for your review and hope to see you again soon Shirley & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandaknig...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Toddler heaven”
Reviewed 31 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Shirley and Steve have created a really perfect environment for young children. Their welcoming nature and thoughtful approach to every aspect of the site meant our 3 year old had a fantastic time from the moment he bounced out of bed asking to go to soft play until he crashed out in the evening after feeding the animals, playing with the vast array of toys and running in the beautiful surroundings...and Mum and Dad were able to really relax knowing he was having the time of his life! We have never stayed anywhere before where our son wanted to hug the owners and never leave, and that is testament to Shirley and Steve's relaxed friendly encouragement that they gave to all the children who were staying.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The devil is in the detail ! ”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our third trip to Glynn Barton - lovely facilities. New Camelot play area just great. A perfect base but always things to do here. Steve and Shirley have a natural feel for holidays with young children. From spare wellies and beach equipment to family friendly, cosy cottages. Animal feeding and toy dinosaurs in the play house, a maze, toddler ride-on, tennis court ( with small rackets for the little ones ) indoor pool ( which at certain times of day feels like your own) indoor play room and they even have a wig wam! Lots of people say 'child /toddler friendly' - but here they take it to a different level but it's subtle, non intrusive and with only 8 cottages - the perfect break for families with young children.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2016
It was great to see you again , we are happy that you keep coming back and enjoy the new attractions Thanks for a great review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMichae...
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location, Fantastic Facilities”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a wonderful week in the Old Stables, Shirley and Steve made us feel very welcome and were extremely helpful. We had an issue with our water and Steve sorted it out as soon as we made him aware.

The feeding of the animals was great fun, for adults and children.

The location is great for days out but equally there is plenty to keep you occupied on site!
We stayed in the Old Stables with Friends and the children (aged 2) shared a room.

The weather was not great whilst we were away but this didn't stop the enjoyment! There were free washing machines and reasonably priced tumble driers which was great for the drying of clothes.

Would like to return again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was superb
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and surroundings
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing