We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best carvery around”
Review of Westberry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Westberry Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bodmin
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best carvery around”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

If your looking for a tasty roast visit the Westberry Hotel for a Sunday carvery. Fresh veg, nice and hot, real Yorkshire puds. Very comfortable dining room. Didn't have room for a pudding but they looked delicious. Very good value for money.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank CalamityJaynep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    102
    28
    8
    9
See reviews for
42
102
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Staff and management excellent happy helpfull.will stay more times good for shops and buses etc food very good parking good room clean bathroom etc good towels soft coffee tea etc television nice beds all in all a great stay

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed at The Westberry Hotel because of it's proximity to Port Isaac, which was our final destination. We ended up spending half of our time in Bodmin because it was such a lovely quaint town. The hotel is in a great location—near pubs, Bodmin Jail and various other points of interest.

The view out of our window wasn't great—we overlooked the car-park—but our room was very quiet in spite of this. The bathroom was clean and adequate; nothing special but nothing to complain about. This hotel certainly does not have the ambience that the pictures promise but for the money it's perfectly acceptable.

The front desk was very helpful in giving directions around town and recommending places to visit.

Our room was spacious and clean. The decor was not noteworthy.

We didn't eat in the hotel since there were so many other places we wanted to explore but the menu looked good (albeit pricey). We enjoyed our stay and will probably stay there again.

Room Tip: You might ask to avoid the car-park because the front of the hotel has some great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turtles2G0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Basing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Great decor. Modern but not twee. Food was excellent but not cheap. Good value for money. Possibly the best of Bodmin. Good for a romantic meal. Suggest not so much for families as such. Good for couples/business. Didn't go for Thai. Steaks good. Walked, so not sure re parking.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mortelini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a friend on business. We asked for a twin room but got a double. They didn't seem to have many guests but couldn't accommodate us with a twin! Seemed odd. The bed was too small for two so I barely slept. The towels were nice and big and the bathroom clean and well looked after.

The best part of the hotel is the restaurant. Steak and Thai it's called. I was very sceptical at first but the food was excellent as was the service. I had seafood green curry. The fish was perfectly cooked and the curry well made. The rice wasn't sticky enough but that's being picky. My friend had Pad Thai which was excellent. We even over indulged in desserts. I had profiteroles made with Cornish clotted cream, which was delicious. A lovely meal.

The hotel was clean and mostly comfortable. The only thing missing was a really kind welcome and some efficiency in the check in process. I felt as though we were creating an inconvenience.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mayahanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed here for one night on business. It's a converted house with add-on buildings I think. Its a bit dated (woodchip walpaper, squeeky floorboards, tired curtains) but suprisingly its not a bad place to stay.

Staff were friendly, rooms were clean, tea and coffee supplied in the rooms, digital TV and free WiFi. The bed was very comfortable, and the price of the room was excellent.

The bar/eating area was modern. The waitress was polite, friendly and quick with service at breakfast.

I suggest one or two nights here is really good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jms999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was the first time I had stayed at the hotel and I am a fussy traveler but the hotel was absolutely great. I stayed in room 22 just across from the main hotel, it was a large room with double bed, a shower and vert quiet. The food in the restaurant was excellent, try the Thai selection they are good and the breakfast was good . Staff were really pleasant and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to be in a room across from the main hotel as they are away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Fido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodmin
2.7 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
346 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
0.0 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#7 of 9 in Bodmin
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
293 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
188 reviews
5.0 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westberry Hotel

Property: Westberry Hotel
Address: Rhind Street, Bodmin PL31 2EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bodmin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Westberry Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westberry Hotel & Restaurant is AA 2-star rated and offers an elegant balcony restaurant with adjoining lounge and bar. The hotel also offers a premier dining room and function suite with bar, suitable for both family and business events up to around 120 persons. All of our 21 bedrooms are en-suite, offering Sky television, radio, ironing facilities, telephone, free wireless internet access and tea/coffee-making facilities. A full breakfast (English, continental or speciality) is included in cost of every room, and in the evening our elegant panoramic Terrace restaurant overlooking the town serves a carefully chosen selection of local, English, European and Oriental dishes. We are also open for Sunday lunch from 12:00 to 14:30 offering an "eat as much as you like" Oriental buffet during summer months and a filling carvery selection during the winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Westberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westberry Hotel Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing