We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple but worth it! ”
Review of Westberry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Westberry Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bodmin
Certificate of Excellence
Tidworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simple but worth it! ”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

My dad booked a twin room for us for 1 night as we were visiting for my grandads birthday! Brilliant value for money!

The room we stayed in was in the cottage, it was fairly basic but suited our needs perfectly! It was very clean, The ensuite was clean with a modern sink unit in the main bedroom. Only grumble was it was a bit too cold for myself personally but my dad found it not to be a problem! The shower was quite powerful and lovely and warm!

We didn't eat in the Thai restaurant as we went for a meal elsewhere for my grandads birthday. We did have breakfast though, and the service was brilliant! Cooked to order, with friendly service! I think the best poached eggs I've ever tasted!!

Overall a really pleasant stay, and would stay here again!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linzimoo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    95
    25
    8
    9
See reviews for
40
96
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Big bedroom, comfy bed, great food, superb staff.
We came to stay overnight to go to a funeral.
Family members arrived at different times during the morning, completely unexpected by hotel staff but nothing was too much trouble.
Coffee and drinks were served as people came, the lounge was taken over by our group but there was total consideration and kindness shown by all the hotel staff.
Thank you everyone your cheerful attention to us all, which helped to make a difficult day bearable.

Room Tip: Explain your needs and you will be looked after.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelmsford essex uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

we found the room was excellent with a four poster bed and large end-suet the food was fantastic the hotel had free wifi the staff was very good and pleasant the only thing i would say is the gentleman who greeted us on arrival who i think was the owner needs a happy pill he was abrupt when showing you to our room. but i would recommend the westberry

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here several times on business in 2013. The food has always been fantastic and would recommend it.

The hotel its self needs to raise that bar as its stuck in the past. The management can come across rude at times and the bar closes early if the staff feel like it. The rooms need modernising.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mph140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We weren't guests at the hotel, and turned up just after their serving hours without booking prior to arrival. The courteous and friendly staff member saw us to a table and promptly took our drinks order. She returned in good time and took our order for starters & mains.

The food was very good - spicy and well-presented chicken satay skewers and the also very well presented pate - which was a very large starter and tasted amazing!
For mains we had the gammon steak and the steak and ale pie. The gammon was very flavoursome - only very small downside was the that I prefer crispy fat, although we didn't ask for it that way! The pie was lovely - and served with an awesome portion of veg (including carrot & swede mash! yum).

We skipped the dessert but only through being too full! Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monandfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

this little hotel is great ,we stayed here for one night as a small break away ,our double room had a four poster bed huge bathroom with bath and a shower ,it was very comfy and very clean..downstairs in the bar area and restaurant its very up to date and modern very nice was very impressed ,the thai and steak restaurant in the hotel was absolutely amazing the food was out of this world .so if your staying there you have to try the food, i had the chicken panang :) .Also the breakfast was lovely we both had cooked english and couldnt fault it ,quick service and staff were lovely .only thing i would say is not really suitable for children and a visit to bodin jail is very interesting .thank you for our lovely stay westbury hotel .

Room Tip: room 5 has a four poster bed :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

If your looking for a tasty roast visit the Westberry Hotel for a Sunday carvery. Fresh veg, nice and hot, real Yorkshire puds. Very comfortable dining room. Didn't have room for a pudding but they looked delicious. Very good value for money.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank CalamityJaynep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bodmin hotels
3.0 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bodmin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
2.7 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#7 of 9 in Bodmin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westberry Hotel

Property: Westberry Hotel
Address: Rhind Street, Bodmin PL31 2EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bodmin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Westberry Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westberry Hotel & Restaurant is AA 2-star rated and offers an elegant balcony restaurant with adjoining lounge and bar. The hotel also offers a premier dining room and function suite with bar, suitable for both family and business events up to around 120 persons. All of our 21 bedrooms are en-suite, offering Sky television, radio, ironing facilities, telephone, free wireless internet access and tea/coffee-making facilities. A full breakfast (English, continental or speciality) is included in cost of every room, and in the evening our elegant panoramic Terrace restaurant overlooking the town serves a carefully chosen selection of local, English, European and Oriental dishes. We are also open for Sunday lunch from 12:00 to 14:30 offering an "eat as much as you like" Oriental buffet during summer months and a filling carvery selection during the winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Westberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westberry Hotel Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing