We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and Great Food”
Review of Westberry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westberry Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bodmin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at the Westberry hotel ion Bodmin for a one night bed and breakfast stay on our way from South Wales to West Cornwall. The room was very clean and well appointed with a flat screen TV and en-suite shower room. When we could not find the TV remote control, the staff went to a lot of trouble to firstly try and find it before trying spare ones they had to see if another one would work. The TV was able to be operated manually when a replacement could not be found. The 'Steak and Thai' restaurant was very good value and the service was excellent. There was a good choice of British and Thai dishes. The Thai dishes ordered were delicious and well presented. Breakfast was included in he price and was excellent - very good choice including full English. A recommended stop over hotel in central Cornwall at a good value price - cheaper than national chain competitors. The only criticism is that the car park was on the small size with fairly difficult access if you have a large car.

Room Tip: South facing rooms have a lovely view over the town centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dickcoleman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

a very clean and really spotless hotel. lovely rooms lots of hot water however pressure on both hot and cold was strong lovely bathroom. Food was First Class and great portions. well stocked bar and a great staff especially Emma. nothing was too much trouble.
Its art deco style decor is well done and gives a warm cosy atmosphere. Can't understand why this is only a 2 star hotel. its worthy of much better.
Its the place to stay always worth staying again.
Thanks to all for a great stay

Room Tip: Try the room with the 4 poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

A pleasant little hotel, well sited with a steak & Thai restaurant included. Meals are reasonably priced, well presented and tasty. Breakfast is served there in the mornings. There are great views of this small country town from the dining area.
Be aware that the restaurant closes at 8.30 on Friday nights.
Rooms are a reasonable size and decently presented. Modestly priced.
A very nice place, no wow factor but nothing really wrong either.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 335KenL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed towards the end of April for one night. Hotel was easy to find and well located. Room was pleasant. Check in and out was quick and staff were friendly.
Ate in the restaurant and dinner and breakfast were very good. Food was very tasty and well presented.
Good value.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank leeleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have just returned from a 3 day stay at the Westberry. Our greeting was friendly and this attitude continued throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble. Our meals were really good value and we were not rushed or neglected even though the hotel had functions in the large dining room on the evenings we were there. Our room was large and comfortable and it had all we needed. Only one thing missing, no games room now, it was mentioned on their web-site.

A good choice for a short stay in Cornwall.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanYork_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

My dad booked a twin room for us for 1 night as we were visiting for my grandads birthday! Brilliant value for money!

The room we stayed in was in the cottage, it was fairly basic but suited our needs perfectly! It was very clean, The ensuite was clean with a modern sink unit in the main bedroom. Only grumble was it was a bit too cold for myself personally but my dad found it not to be a problem! The shower was quite powerful and lovely and warm!

We didn't eat in the Thai restaurant as we went for a meal elsewhere for my grandads birthday. We did have breakfast though, and the service was brilliant! Cooked to order, with friendly service! I think the best poached eggs I've ever tasted!!

Overall a really pleasant stay, and would stay here again!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Linzimoo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Big bedroom, comfy bed, great food, superb staff.
We came to stay overnight to go to a funeral.
Family members arrived at different times during the morning, completely unexpected by hotel staff but nothing was too much trouble.
Coffee and drinks were served as people came, the lounge was taken over by our group but there was total consideration and kindness shown by all the hotel staff.
Thank you everyone your cheerful attention to us all, which helped to make a difficult day bearable.

Room Tip: Explain your needs and you will be looked after.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodmin
1.8 mi away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
3.0 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
311 reviews
2.7 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
202 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#8 of 9 in Bodmin
98 reviews
5.0 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westberry Hotel

Address: Rhind Street, Bodmin PL31 2EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bodmin
Price Range: £78 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Westberry Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westberry Hotel & Restaurant is AA 2-star rated and offers an elegant balcony restaurant with adjoining lounge and bar. The hotel also offers a premier dining room and function suite with bar, suitable for both family and business events up to around 120 persons. All of our 21 bedrooms are en-suite, offering Sky television, radio, ironing facilities, telephone, free wireless internet access and tea/coffee-making facilities. A full breakfast (English, continental or speciality) is included in cost of every room, and in the evening our elegant panoramic Terrace restaurant overlooking the town serves a carefully chosen selection of local, English, European and Oriental dishes. We are also open for Sunday lunch from 12:00 to 14:30 offering an "eat as much as you like" Oriental buffet during summer months and a filling carvery selection during the winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Westberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westberry Hotel Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing