We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ruthern Valley Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely place.”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Just returned from a short weekend break on one of the holiday bungalows. Bungalow very clean and nicely appointed. Very peaceful site and friendly and helpful owners. Enjoyed the chickens, sheep and pigs!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atomic_Elk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    27
    8
    9
    7
See reviews for
77
66
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We booked this after being let down by the place we had booked, and were upgraded from Pod to Wigwam as soon as we put the phone down. And we loved it. Much bigger than a pod and with power, microwave [although I don't ever use them], kettle, fridge, beds and room to move. Outside was a lovely picnic area and the wildlife was amazing. Really pleased to see Ransoms [wild garlic] growing just by the door. We both slept like babies.

Room Tip: Definitely try and get a wigwam rather than pod if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This is not our first time here but it was our first time as a family. This time we opted for a lodge as the thought of entertaining an 18 month old in a tent in a downpour was awful. The lodge was more spacious than expected, with a great shower and comfy beds and tv. Must when little ones get up at dawn. The deck was great as people must have fed the birds and squirrels and this provided plenty of entertainment in the morning and evening sun was good for an evening G&T after bedtime. We love the fact that it is a quiet site that feels very relaxed. Minimal noise and very friendly, mainly due to the owners hospitality. The shop seems to have most things even if your only after advice as where to go during the day. Families may spend a lot of time by the play area, be warned. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Just returned from our second visit to Ruthern Valley and once again delighted. The site is tidy and tranquil, the owners are endlessly helpful (Nicola even opened the shop when she saw us peering through darkened widows out of opening hours). We stayed in a lodge - main benefits over a bungalow are the decking area (hours spent with our 2yr old watching/feeding birds), superior TV set, and progress with cosmetic updates eg new carpets. Simple accomodation but entirely adequate and the shower had plenty of oomph - so very important! The lodge was a little chilly first thing but in a poor summer, and our reluctance to waste energy, we managed with it. The lodges&bungalows catch the evening sun and are perfect for relaxing and listening to the local wildlife after a busy day exploring the county. We felt so welcome, and so sorry to leave.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lemonsorbet01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Just come back from a week in a wigwam at Ruthern Valley and we were pretty impressed. The wigwams were much bigger then they looked on the website, clean, modern and surprisingly warm even without the heater on. We were lucky in the fact that the site was very quiet when we arrived as it wasout of school hols which made it very peaceful and relaxing. We were also very pleased that out of the 4 wigwams there was only us and another couple staying in them so the owners very kindly put us away from each other so we had even more peace and quiet. Toilets, showers, sink/cleaning area were immaculate and overall had a great stay at the site.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bex2helme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Disappointing ... On the night we visited we found hair in the shower, caravan smelt damp, insufficient blankets, television didn't work, neither did the gas fire ... Also told we were having a free upgrade ... Not happy at all if I would of known what we were getting for the price I would of stayed in a tent !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruthern, Owner at Ruthern Valley Holidays, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
This was a deal as a favour to a local family who where having a party. I really do not know what we did to upset the guests. When I went up to the caravan to say hello, check everything was ok and show them how things worked all was well. The local family have apologised to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

I have just returned for a break here with my husband and two small daughters, aged 5 & 1. We were joined by my in laws too. We stayed in a bungalow and had a fantastic stay. The site is in the most stunning of locations, its truely beautiful. The nights are silent, a real treasure for those of us who live in a city.
Fantastic location. 5 minute drive from bodmin which has all the shops you need. Equally distanced between north and south coast. It was perfect for visiting both which we did several times in our stay.
The accomodation is simple but spotlessly clean. Its got everything you need for a comfortable stay. The owners are a lovely couple who are very helpfull and attentive but at the same time, leave you to enjoy your holiday unless you require their help. Our children adored the freedom they had here, being able to roam safely.
We would not hesitate to return.
An absolute bargain.
Lets just say, none of us missed home once during our stay and i admit to being a homebird.
Fab holiday allround.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mel1289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodmin
2.3 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
272 reviews
2.6 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
331 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hengar Manor Country Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
#10 of 37 in St Austell
168 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tregolls Farm Holidays
Tregolls Farm Holidays
#3 of 42 in Bodmin
74 reviews
8.5 mi away
Cabilla Manor
Cabilla Manor
#1 of 22 in Bodmin
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruthern Valley Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruthern Valley Holidays

Property: Ruthern Valley Holidays
Address: Ruthernbridge, Bodmin PL30 5LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Bodmin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a beautiful wooded valley near Bodmin Moor, this is a holiday site that offers a selection of accommodation types, camping, camping pods, 8 timber cabins, 4 cedar bungalows and 6 static caravans. Ideal for families (a well equipped play area away from the lodges and tents), groups of friends and couples who wish to stay where there is no bar, no disco, no bingo. A quiet, peaceful get back to nature site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ruthern Valley Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruthern Valley Holidays Hotel Bodmin
Ruthern Valley Holidays Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing