We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a proper relaxing break should be!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ruthern Valley Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We recently stayed in one of the lodges here and we loved it. When we arrived the lodge was spotless. The rooms where lovely sizes (the only thing needed would be another 2 seater sofa). The beds were some of the most comfortable we have stayed in. The bath is actually human adult size. The surroundings were amazing and after 7pm you could hear a pin drop it was so quiet. The owners are delightful and always happy to help. A real hidden gem. We will amd cant wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kimmyb28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

We somehow managed to get what we considered a 'too good to be true' price for a 4 night stay at the end of August so we weren't expecting much from the lodge but it was fantastic.. very clean, comfortable, spacious and provided everything we needed. We enjoyed barbecuing on the lawn outside the lodge for 2 of the nights we stayed watching the sun go down - we recommend the sausages and burgers from the onsite shop! It was a very relaxing and peaceful setting and the highlight of our stay was seeing a hedgehog on our terrace one night :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller8708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed in a wigwam at the weekend for a bit of glamping, which we used it as a base for the Eden Project. The site was very quiet and all of our fellow campers were incredibly considerate, even the youngsters staying in the other wigwams.

I will say I was slightly disappointed that the wigwams were so close together and I had hoped for a little more privacy. The photo on the website is a little misleading. BUT that didn't spoil our stay. As I said the other campers were very considerate.

The Wigwam itself was very comfortable. Much more comfortable than a tent! The fridge, microwave and kettle were handy too. I think they must be well insulated because we didn't hear a sound all night, only my husband snoring.

Very family friendly, a nice play area for the kids. We didn't explore very much as we were only there for one night and left early in the morning. I'm sad that we didn't find the animals, maybe next time. The toilets were clean and well lit. Didn't use the showers. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful, and the shop was useful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruthern, Owner at Ruthern Valley Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2014

We have taken your comments on board, it had also been mentioned by a few other people and have now moved the wigwam so that they are now further apart.
Kind regards,
Andrew & Nicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We (1 adult, 2 kids) spent 2 nights in a wigwam at Ruthern Valley. It's a very pretty area and the site itself was tranquil and well laid out. This is the third wigwam holiday we have been on and the wigwam was identical to the other sites but with the addition of a microwave. The other sites offered a full indoor kitchen with seating area for campers rather than providing individual facilities. Thankfully the weather was nice for this trip and we were able to eat and cook outdoors. If the weather had been bad I would have preferred the option of a campers kitchen as offered elsewhere.

The other sites also offered kids play areas undercover - again with the fine weather this was not a problem but may be a consideration if we decide to go back again. The outdoor play area was really great with football goals and big play equipment. The kids were in heaven and the safe wooded area was great for exploring.

The washing up area was clean, showers and toilets were clean and well kept. The campsite felt quite spacious although the wigwams (of which there are 4) were arranged in twos so the outdoor areas where close to each other. The neighbours were nice so this didn't cause us any problems but definitely not as far apart as we have had previously.

The owners were very nice and helpful. Lots to do in the local area and not that far from some great beaches. The on site shop was a real bonus with freshly cooked pan au chocolat in the morning (be warned they sell out quickly!).

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank KatS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

An absolute gem of a site. This is the second time we have stayed and will certainly be back. It's a reasonbly small site but you're not crammed in. Facilities are spotless and the shop well stocked and prices aren't overly inflated.

The additional perks such as the park and secure wooded area were great for the kids. They fell in love with the animals too.

Being so close to the Camel trail is a bonus and it is quicker to cycle to Wadebridge than drive (and thats with children too).

The hosts are most welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have just come back from a delightful bank holiday camping weekend at Ruthern Valley. The site has a relaxing and laid back feel and we all felt the holiday pace kick in as soon as we arrived. The beaches nearby are outstanding, as are the cycle paths and there are some family theme park type things to do nearby as well (we ended up karting). One of the nicest things for us as a family was the chance to kick back and spend time together. We have three boys who are great at most of the outdoorsy stuff but who also like their laptop time/x boxes and we found the thing they liked doing most was meeting other children and hanging out in the play area, woods and dens. Children don't always get enough time outside these days, we live on a busy road and it isn't always easy to give them the freedom they need to go out and make their own fun but this is what they can do in buckets at Ruthern Valley, they are out being physically active (good exercise and it tires them out) and making friends and memories. Andy and Nicky are amazing at what they do, they offer an amazingly warm welcome. And if you are desperate for WIFI it is always available near the shop and often further across the site.......but personally, we were grateful our three boys had a break from all that and got on with the real business of being children......playing, hide and seeking, torches in the woods in the dark, chatting, chasing, laughing, running and getting up to all kinds of great mischief!

Room Tip: We have camped here and the camp site itself is great, clean and well managed facilities with roomy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

If you want a relaxing family friendly break then definitely come here. We stayed in a lodge which had everything you need away from home. The play area was great with plenty of room for a game of footy and with swings and woods to explore and with chickens, sheep and a pig for the kids to get to know farmyard animals it was perfect. We found Wadebridge town delightful and the coast could be reached in about 25 mins by car. The site shop stocked everything you could need (have the sausages..gorgeous). Come here you wont be disappointed, thanks Nicky and Andrew.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodmin
10.3 mi away
Carvynick Holiday Park
Carvynick Holiday Park
#49 of 79 in Newquay
6 reviews
2.6 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
359 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
321 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bodmin Hotel
9.5 mi away
Paths End B&B
Paths End B&B
#1 of 1 in Saint Teath
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruthern Valley Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruthern Valley Holidays

Address: Ruthernbridge, Bodmin PL30 5LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Bodmin
Price Range: £10 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a beautiful wooded valley near Bodmin Moor, this is a holiday site that offers a selection of accommodation types, camping, camping pods, 8 timber cabins, 4 cedar bungalows and 6 static caravans. Ideal for families (a well equipped play area away from the lodges and tents), groups of friends and couples who wish to stay where there is no bar, no disco, no bingo. A quiet, peaceful get back to nature site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and PitchUp so you can book your Ruthern Valley Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruthern Valley Holidays Hotel Bodmin
Ruthern Valley Holidays Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing