We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bodmin
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have stayed here in the past, but this visit was just for lunch which we had in the bar rather than the restaurant. The fish and chips were first class, lovely and fresh, and my chicken and bacon salad was perfect and all nicely presented as well. The staff are all friendly and very helpful and the views over the course and surrounding area are stunning. Its such a lovely spot to sit and eat your meal and just relax. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamSue074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarebond, Director at Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your very kind second review. Our Cornish Ale Battered fish and chips is very popular and we are glad that it scored a hit with you. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    123
    38
    16
    3
See reviews for
76
142
15
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We attended an all day Rotary Seminar last Sunday, and 40+ had lunch. Although it was a self serve carvery, it was the most amazing choice I have seen for a long time. Plenty of different meats, the chef putting about 3or 4 half inch slices on every plate, 8 different vegetables, plus roast potatoes, yorkshires that were huge, and beautiful gravy. The other great thing about it, the whole thing was red hot which is so often not the case with a Carvery.

Well done to the Chef and his team. Great job. We shall return soon it was so good!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdjusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarebond, Director at Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Reading your review made me quite hungry - great talent as a food writer! So glad that on one of our busier Sundays, we were able to impress your organisation which drew colleagues from far and wide. Thank you for taking the time to comment and we hope to see you here at Lanhydrock again very soon, maybe for a Christmas Carvery or even before?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Some friends invited us to join them for a meal en route to the Ferry at Plymouth. They already knew that we are hard to please so opted for this restaurant. It's fair to say that they made a good choice!
There was an excellent choice on the menu, without exception, we were all delighted with the food, and the price, we all agreed, was correct for what we had.We sat at a table with panoramic views of the golf course, which looked as well presented as the table!!
We'd be sure to return. We didn't sleep over as we were on the overnight ferry, but couldn't find the venue listed as an hotel, just hotel and golf!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarebond, Director at Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your meal with us and for your approval of our pricing structure.
We know that we must be doing something right as the business is growing steadily but it is always good to hear from satisfied customers.

Please come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I wished I was a golfer when I stayed here. The surrounding golfing greens & scenery looked beautiful. The hotel was purpose built and had everything we required. Room, breakfast and staff were all excellent. Free Wifi too. At breakfast I enquired if a certain bread was gluten free, as it looked like a recent gluten free bread I'd bought. It wasn't but gluten free bread was offered and brought to us.
In the evening it's completely quiet outside. We were about 5 minutes drive from Bodmin centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brenord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

My friends booked an evening meal to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. When we entered the brasserie their was only one other couple there which was surprising as it was a saturday night . Although was a wedding going on upstairs which could have explained lack of staff. Our orders were taken and after a bit of a wait our starters arrived but had to be taken back as the order was wrong . The waiter apologised and said it would only take a couple of minutes to do the scallops. Another couple came in and their order was taken . After about 15 minute wait the other couples order arrived but no sign of ours. Eventually they arrived , two of my scallops were very tough and so were two of my husbands I think that they were part of the original order. The mains were ok but again not as nice as expected . Our waitress was very inexperienced and not very friendly . Our bill for four was about £140 which included two bottles of wine . There was no atmosphere at all . This is the first time we have not left a tip as we feel it was not deserved. All in all a disappointment

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile



We had a very good stay at the Lahydrock hotel and golf course in early September.  We lucked into finding this hotel as we were simply looking for a base for our last night in Cornwall prior to heading back to Essex. Here is our summary:

Location - centrally located near Bodmin and would be a good base to explore both the west and south coasts of Cornwall. Two minutes from the Lanhydrock House NT.

Service - reasonably friendly staff. The bar staff were very attentive.

Cleanliness - the only let down. Our bathroom had dust and dirt on the floor and the shower had minor amounts of mold around the shower cream dispenser and shower head. Suggest the management review their cleaning staff training. Otherwise the common areas and restaurant were immaculate. 

Restaurant/bar - the locals from Bodmin apparently frequent the bar and restaurant which is a good sign. Very good wine selection; better than average. Food was very good. Dinner menu is extensive and breakfast buffet is of very good quality.

Amenities we noted or used - tv in room, bar, restaurant, golf course, pro shop, ample car parking.

We Recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JasonBCessna310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

In Cornwall from France for grand daughters wedding with a couple of days either side for an Autumn break. Good quality room with views across the golf course, excellent breakfasts and price of drinks very sensible. A superb wedding well organised good food and drink and even late night dancing if you are young enough to stay the course. All in all an excellent weekend and the bride and groom looked set for a fine future.

Room Tip: Choose one looking out over the course and ground floor even better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 669Mikendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodmin
2.6 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bodmin Hotel
8.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.3 mi away
Westberry Hotel
Westberry Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bodmin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
3.9 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club

Property: Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
Address: Lostwithiel Road, Bodmin PL30 5AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bodmin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel and Golf Course in Bodmin, North Cornwall The acclaimed Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club is a luxury hotel in Cornwall, located on the outskirts of the old county town of Bodmin in the heart of the county. Easily accessible via the A30/A38, Lanhydrock is only one hour's drive from Exeter and boasts one of the finest golf courses in Cornwall along with a brand new purpose built Fitness Suite. Our central location makes an ideal base for holidays and short breaks in Cornwall. The hotel is a stone's throw from the Eden Project and within easy driving distance of the coast, moor and several great Cornwall attractions. UK golf hotel in a tranquil corner of Cornwall Owned and managed by the Bond Family, who created the Jack Nicklaus Course at St Mellion, Lanhydrock provides a beautiful 18 hole course which is set in mature parkland complemented by contemporary 44 bedroom accommodation with conference and function facilities. The area provides fantastic and varied attractions including the nearby Lanhydrock National Trust House, Eden Project and Fowey. Padstow and Truro are also only a short drive away. We are also very close to the Camel Trail, a popular cycling and recreational route that links Bodmin with Padstow, predmoniantly along a disused railway line and taking in the beautiful Camel Estuary. If you plan a golfing holiday, business or leisure break in a Cornwall hotel, Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club in Bodmin, north Cornwall, is the place for you. A picturesque wedding venue in Cornwall Lanhydrock Hotel hosts a range of stylish and friendly weddings throughout the year. We specialise in provising a personlised, attentive service to every couple, ensuring that your day goes smoothly and you have everything you need. Whether a ceremony or reception, we offer beautiful photo opportunities, delicious food and spacious wedding suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanhydrock Hotel Bodmin
Lanhydrock Hotel And Golf Club Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing