We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and welcoming staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bodmin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is the third time we've visited and the second time we've had a Sunday roast. The choice of meat was very good, in fact they had beef cooked both rare or well done. Other meats included turkey, lamb and ham. All the vegetables were cooked to perfection and the only slight let-down was the Yorkshire pudding which was overcooked and dry (I would have given this a five if they'd been better). The Guinness toffee pudding was lovely, a lot like a sticky toffee one, very tasty and light and came with a good portion of clotted cream. The food was priced about right for the quality. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
There are newer reviews for Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

We were lucky to have been squeezed in for a Sunday Carvery lunch without a prior booking. This is a popular family destination and deservedly so. Busy but very comfortable lounge and dining room . Excellent service in a well organised operation - no crowding at the servery as diners are invited to go up in small numbers. Food stocks are replenished frequently so everything is fresh and the roasts are absolutely first class - we (2 of us ) had both thickly sliced lamb and pork and both were succulent and tender. Starters and puds were attractively presented - some of the usual favourites and some which would not disgrace the tables of a fine dining restaurant - we were on holiday and live 400 miles away otherwise it would be a regular venue for us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuisboroughJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Went for Sunday lunch with the family and it's fair to say our overall experience was very disappointing. Firstly we visited at the same time as the venue was doing a wedding fayre, so it was exceptionally busy, but I'm sure this could have been made clear to us at the time of booking two weeks prior. We'd booked for 13.45hrs, but when we got to the restaurant we were told there would be a delay of an unspecified timescale, but nothing was offered by way of compensation for this. We were eventually shown to our table at 14.05, at which point I made it clear to the maitre d that one of the forks that had been laid up had food on it. We sat for approximately 15 mins before menus were brought to us, but we made up our minds immediately and ordered 6 carveries. The meals themselves were very good, plenty of meat, hot plates and a huge selection of veg, so absolutely no complaints on that front. However having returned to our table that is where the good news ended. Not one member of staff approached us at any time to ask if everything was OK, but having sat and sweltered behind ceiling high glass for 10 mins we eventually had to ask a waiter if he could open a door or window. We never saw him again, so after a further 10 mins we asked another member of staff and he eventually returned to say no, but we have put the aircon on. By this stage those in our party sat directly adjacent to the windows were in no mood to eat a roast dinner, both were sweating profusely and not at all happy. Once out of the restaurant I made our experience clear to the maitre d, who then confessed that he should have come and asked who requested the window or door to be open, as he had wrongly assumed it was someone else at the rear of the restaurant. At no time during this conversation did he offer anything other than his apologies, which I frankly found astounding until I later discovered from the owner that he was covering for the real maitre d who was tied up with the wedding fayre. It must be said everyone in our party felt this was an operation run by very young adults, many of whom appeared to have had little training in either service or customer relations. Perhaps due to the wedding fayre we were just unlucky, maybe not, but the whole experience has certainly tarnished 6 peoples opinion of the venue and I think it will be sometime before we return again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdrianCrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarebond, Director at Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your Sunday lunch experience having spoken with me as you left.
Your comments on the room temperature and customer service have been taken very seriously and as a result additional staff training will be undertaken. I am pleased that the standard of the food was good as we are proud of our reputation for our Quality Cornish Carvery.
We do hope that this will not deter you from returning to Lanhydrock as we value our loyal local custom and hope to see you and your family here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Attending a Reunion organised by Blind Veterans UK, we decided to treat ourselves to two nights away from home. We were delighted to find that our twin room was adapted for disabled with a bathroom including a walk in wet room shower. The room was immaculate and comfortably furnished with good quality beds.
Staff were in general charming, and it's the first time in a long time that a receptionist has taken our cases and shown us to the bedroom. They went out of their way to help my husband, seeing him walking with a white stick.
The slight let down was the food, which although nicely presented was perhaps not all we expected for the price of the dishes.
However, all in all, this is a hotel which seems to know what it's doing. It is purpose built, not chintzy and fussy, but modern and clean, with plenty of areas to sit and chat or read. There is a new wing being added with a Fitness suite.
It would have been nice to have a Welcome pack in the room to give times of meals, time for departure etc, but we didn't seem to have that, so had to ring reception with questions. One small caveat was the pricing structure. We booked in August for a stay in October. When we paid the bill we realised that if we had simply walked in that day the price would have been much lower than it was when we booked. £109 in August for an October stay, but £89 on the day we arrived. Not altogether fair,
But, we will go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabethd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarebond, Director at Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that our limited disabled facilities (one of only two special Executive Twin rooms) were reserved for you by booking early. We have the choice of two areas for dining - our Nineteen Bistro for evening meals and the Nineteen Bar open all day for lighter meals which you may like to try when you return next time. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lanhydrock Hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have stayed here in the past, but this visit was just for lunch which we had in the bar rather than the restaurant. The fish and chips were first class, lovely and fresh, and my chicken and bacon salad was perfect and all nicely presented as well. The staff are all friendly and very helpful and the views over the course and surrounding area are stunning. Its such a lovely spot to sit and eat your meal and just relax. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NottinghamSue074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarebond, Director at Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you for your very kind second review. Our Cornish Ale Battered fish and chips is very popular and we are glad that it scored a hit with you. Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We attended an all day Rotary Seminar last Sunday, and 40+ had lunch. Although it was a self serve carvery, it was the most amazing choice I have seen for a long time. Plenty of different meats, the chef putting about 3or 4 half inch slices on every plate, 8 different vegetables, plus roast potatoes, yorkshires that were huge, and beautiful gravy. The other great thing about it, the whole thing was red hot which is so often not the case with a Carvery.

Well done to the Chef and his team. Great job. We shall return soon it was so good!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sdjusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarebond, Director at Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Reading your review made me quite hungry - great talent as a food writer! So glad that on one of our busier Sundays, we were able to impress your organisation which drew colleagues from far and wide. Thank you for taking the time to comment and we hope to see you here at Lanhydrock again very soon, maybe for a Christmas Carvery or even before?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Some friends invited us to join them for a meal en route to the Ferry at Plymouth. They already knew that we are hard to please so opted for this restaurant. It's fair to say that they made a good choice!
There was an excellent choice on the menu, without exception, we were all delighted with the food, and the price, we all agreed, was correct for what we had.We sat at a table with panoramic views of the golf course, which looked as well presented as the table!!
We'd be sure to return. We didn't sleep over as we were on the overnight ferry, but couldn't find the venue listed as an hotel, just hotel and golf!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarebond, Director at Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your meal with us and for your approval of our pricing structure.
We know that we must be doing something right as the business is growing steadily but it is always good to hear from satisfied customers.

Please come and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodmin
1.8 mi away
Westberry Hotel
Westberry Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bodmin
268 reviews
2.1 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
305 reviews
4.0 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,576 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
3.5 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club

Address: Lostwithiel Road, Bodmin PL30 5AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bodmin
Price Range: £91 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel and Golf Course in Bodmin, North Cornwall The acclaimed Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club is a luxury hotel in Cornwall, located on the outskirts of the old county town of Bodmin in the heart of the county. Easily accessible via the A30/A38, Lanhydrock is only one hour's drive from Exeter and boasts one of the finest golf courses in Cornwall along with a brand new purpose built Fitness Suite. Our central location makes an ideal base for holidays and short breaks in Cornwall. The hotel is a stone's throw from the Eden Project and within easy driving distance of the coast, moor and several great Cornwall attractions. UK golf hotel in a tranquil corner of Cornwall Owned and managed by the Bond Family, who created the Jack Nicklaus Course at St Mellion, Lanhydrock provides a beautiful 18 hole course which is set in mature parkland complemented by contemporary 44 bedroom accommodation with conference and function facilities. The area provides fantastic and varied attractions including the nearby Lanhydrock National Trust House, Eden Project and Fowey. Padstow and Truro are also only a short drive away. We are also very close to the Camel Trail, a popular cycling and recreational route that links Bodmin with Padstow, predmoniantly along a disused railway line and taking in the beautiful Camel Estuary. If you plan a golfing holiday, business or leisure break in a Cornwall hotel, Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club in Bodmin, north Cornwall, is the place for you. A picturesque wedding venue in Cornwall Lanhydrock Hotel hosts a range of stylish and friendly weddings throughout the year. We specialise in provising a personlised, attentive service to every couple, ensuring that your day goes smoothly and you have everything you need. Whether a ceremony or reception, we offer beautiful photo opportunities, delicious food and spacious wedding suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanhydrock Hotel Bodmin
Lanhydrock Hotel And Golf Club Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing