We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bodmin
Certificate of Excellence
Gunnislake
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Weekend stay”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Staff, food, place and rooms all excellent! Most of the rooms look out over the golf course and also the dining room and breakfast room. This gives a very pleasant view, particularly on a sunny day. The hotel now has a brand new fitness suite which unfortunately we didn't have time to explore. The breakfast was piping hot and was a full Cornish breakfast with more healthier options available. Couldn't fault it!

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool so ignore the review of this. The rest of the place is excellent.Rooms wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waitrose656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    125
    38
    17
    3
See reviews for
76
148
15
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club. The rooms are spacious and well maintained and the food is unfussy, plentiful and of good quality.The staff were very welcoming but service was a little erratic.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacobstow, Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My son and Daughter in law had their wedding reception here the Saturday before Christmas everything about the hotel was perfect.Helpful friendly polite staff, lovely food beautifully presented a real day to remember.We stayed overnight, the room was very clean and well maintained it overlooked the golf course which was a lovely sight in the morning, we were all able to sit together for an enjoyable breakfast.So yes we would recommend this hotel Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Booked a table in the restaurant for my birthday on01/12/13.On arrival told table was not yet ready,no problem.However after 25 mins still not ready and offered a table stuck behind one of the sofas in the bar.Food was good as it allways has been,but to round off we were charged for 3 meals instead of two
Today a table booked for 1.45pm in the bar still waiting at 2.10pm so left.
Service seems to have taken a dive. Either over booking or poor managment,a shame as the food is good.What a way to start the new year will now have to look for another restaurant for future outings.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rod m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We booked a family Christmas dinner for the 22nd of december , our table wasn't decorated as the other tables were, we had no Christmas crackers and we were a party of 14. Service was ok but not as I would expect from this hotel as it always had a good reputation. The food was ok but nothing special . The beef from the carvery would have been better suited to a cobbler's shop . But the lamb was sensational because it was local cornish lamb. The cow must have walked from asia . Service was slow. And to top the dinner the coffee was cold . All in all average . Would revisit just to see if the disappointment was a one off.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff_J538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

He choice of staying here was due to convenience, I had to work nearby for a couple of days.
This is a hotel that my company use regularly, and have heard some mixed reviews, but was keeping an open mind.
First impressions were good, check in was swift, and the room was comfortable, large and airy.
I was on the ground floor, with a course view. The shower was over bath style, and the bathroom clean and bright.
The room had a half height false wall separating the wardrobes and tea/coffee fro. The rest of huge room, there was a tv, phone and freeview box.
My freeview box didn't work so a replacement was needed but this didn't appear till the following day.
Another downside to the room was that the plug socket next to the bed was positioned in a way that made it almost impossible to get my phone charger in.
Breakfast on the first morning was cooked to order, but on he second morning was buffet style.
This feels more like a club house with rooms that a resort hotel, and it's little things that make it feel like this.
The bemused look on a waitress' face when my colleague asked for ketchup, and the way it was snatched back almost straight away as she put it down
Running out of plates at the breakfast buffet, and the (again) odd look we got when we asked a staff member to get us some so we could eat
The golf shop and signs everywhere saying "no golf shoes"
The restaurant that stops serving at (I think) 9pm
But there are lots of god points too

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alleroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I've stayed here a number of times over the last twelve months. The staff are helpful, courteous and go out of their way to ensure that nothing is too much trouble. The Executive Rooms are really good with possibly the most comfortable of beds you can imagine. Previously the hotel lacked a gym and to be fair to the owners, they have invested a significant amount of time and money to provide probably the best gym you'll find in the area. The gym is well-equipped with a full range and good balance of cardio machines, resistance machines and free weights. All this equipment is in a purpose built annex to the Hotel which looks as if it 'grew there'. Excellent initiative and i look forward to my return visits. The breakfast is superb - best poached eggs!

Room Tip: Exec Suites are well worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adz551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodmin
2.6 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
4.3 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bodmin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
1.3 mi away
Westberry Hotel
Westberry Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bodmin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
3.9 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club

Property: Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
Address: Lostwithiel Road, Bodmin PL30 5AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bodmin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel and Golf Course in Bodmin, North Cornwall The acclaimed Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club is a luxury hotel in Cornwall, located on the outskirts of the old county town of Bodmin in the heart of the county. Easily accessible via the A30/A38, Lanhydrock is only one hour's drive from Exeter and boasts one of the finest golf courses in Cornwall along with a brand new purpose built Fitness Suite. Our central location makes an ideal base for holidays and short breaks in Cornwall. The hotel is a stone's throw from the Eden Project and within easy driving distance of the coast, moor and several great Cornwall attractions. UK golf hotel in a tranquil corner of Cornwall Owned and managed by the Bond Family, who created the Jack Nicklaus Course at St Mellion, Lanhydrock provides a beautiful 18 hole course which is set in mature parkland complemented by contemporary 44 bedroom accommodation with conference and function facilities. The area provides fantastic and varied attractions including the nearby Lanhydrock National Trust House, Eden Project and Fowey. Padstow and Truro are also only a short drive away. We are also very close to the Camel Trail, a popular cycling and recreational route that links Bodmin with Padstow, predmoniantly along a disused railway line and taking in the beautiful Camel Estuary. If you plan a golfing holiday, business or leisure break in a Cornwall hotel, Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club in Bodmin, north Cornwall, is the place for you. A picturesque wedding venue in Cornwall Lanhydrock Hotel hosts a range of stylish and friendly weddings throughout the year. We specialise in provising a personlised, attentive service to every couple, ensuring that your day goes smoothly and you have everything you need. Whether a ceremony or reception, we offer beautiful photo opportunities, delicious food and spacious wedding suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanhydrock Hotel Bodmin
Lanhydrock Hotel And Golf Club Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing