We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bodmin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The is a fantastic complex. The new fitness suite and the instructors are second to none. The place is suitable for the elderly and disabled, I have been there on a number of occasions recently and have been impressed. The rooms which they have for disabled visitors are very good everything has been taken into consideration the food is excellent they cater for your every need if they haven't got something they will try and arrange it for you but will let you know in good time. I have been here both for business and pleasure and can't recommend enough.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

Staff, food, place and rooms all excellent! Most of the rooms look out over the golf course and also the dining room and breakfast room. This gives a very pleasant view, particularly on a sunny day. The hotel now has a brand new fitness suite which unfortunately we didn't have time to explore. The breakfast was piping hot and was a full Cornish breakfast with more healthier options available. Couldn't fault it!

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool so ignore the review of this. The rest of the place is excellent.Rooms wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waitrose656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club. The rooms are spacious and well maintained and the food is unfussy, plentiful and of good quality.The staff were very welcoming but service was a little erratic.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My son and Daughter in law had their wedding reception here the Saturday before Christmas everything about the hotel was perfect.Helpful friendly polite staff, lovely food beautifully presented a real day to remember.We stayed overnight, the room was very clean and well maintained it overlooked the golf course which was a lovely sight in the morning, we were all able to sit together for an enjoyable breakfast.So yes we would recommend this hotel Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Booked a table in the restaurant for my birthday on01/12/13.On arrival told table was not yet ready,no problem.However after 25 mins still not ready and offered a table stuck behind one of the sofas in the bar.Food was good as it allways has been,but to round off we were charged for 3 meals instead of two
Today a table booked for 1.45pm in the bar still waiting at 2.10pm so left.
Service seems to have taken a dive. Either over booking or poor managment,a shame as the food is good.What a way to start the new year will now have to look for another restaurant for future outings.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rod m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We booked a family Christmas dinner for the 22nd of december , our table wasn't decorated as the other tables were, we had no Christmas crackers and we were a party of 14. Service was ok but not as I would expect from this hotel as it always had a good reputation. The food was ok but nothing special . The beef from the carvery would have been better suited to a cobbler's shop . But the lamb was sensational because it was local cornish lamb. The cow must have walked from asia . Service was slow. And to top the dinner the coffee was cold . All in all average . Would revisit just to see if the disappointment was a one off.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Geoff_J538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

He choice of staying here was due to convenience, I had to work nearby for a couple of days.
This is a hotel that my company use regularly, and have heard some mixed reviews, but was keeping an open mind.
First impressions were good, check in was swift, and the room was comfortable, large and airy.
I was on the ground floor, with a course view. The shower was over bath style, and the bathroom clean and bright.
The room had a half height false wall separating the wardrobes and tea/coffee fro. The rest of huge room, there was a tv, phone and freeview box.
My freeview box didn't work so a replacement was needed but this didn't appear till the following day.
Another downside to the room was that the plug socket next to the bed was positioned in a way that made it almost impossible to get my phone charger in.
Breakfast on the first morning was cooked to order, but on he second morning was buffet style.
This feels more like a club house with rooms that a resort hotel, and it's little things that make it feel like this.
The bemused look on a waitress' face when my colleague asked for ketchup, and the way it was snatched back almost straight away as she put it down
Running out of plates at the breakfast buffet, and the (again) odd look we got when we asked a staff member to get us some so we could eat
The golf shop and signs everywhere saying "no golf shoes"
The restaurant that stops serving at (I think) 9pm
But there are lots of god points too

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alleroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodmin
2.3 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
319 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
206 reviews
3.9 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Westberry Hotel
Westberry Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bodmin
274 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,623 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club

Address: Lostwithiel Road, Bodmin PL30 5AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bodmin
Price Range: £87 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel and Golf Course in Bodmin, North Cornwall The acclaimed Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club is a luxury hotel in Cornwall, located on the outskirts of the old county town of Bodmin in the heart of the county. Easily accessible via the A30/A38, Lanhydrock is only one hour's drive from Exeter and boasts one of the finest golf courses in Cornwall along with a brand new purpose built Fitness Suite. Our central location makes an ideal base for holidays and short breaks in Cornwall. The hotel is a stone's throw from the Eden Project and within easy driving distance of the coast, moor and several great Cornwall attractions. UK golf hotel in a tranquil corner of Cornwall Owned and managed by the Bond Family, who created the Jack Nicklaus Course at St Mellion, Lanhydrock provides a beautiful 18 hole course which is set in mature parkland complemented by contemporary 44 bedroom accommodation with conference and function facilities. The area provides fantastic and varied attractions including the nearby Lanhydrock National Trust House, Eden Project and Fowey. Padstow and Truro are also only a short drive away. We are also very close to the Camel Trail, a popular cycling and recreational route that links Bodmin with Padstow, predmoniantly along a disused railway line and taking in the beautiful Camel Estuary. If you plan a golfing holiday, business or leisure break in a Cornwall hotel, Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club in Bodmin, north Cornwall, is the place for you. A picturesque wedding venue in Cornwall Lanhydrock Hotel hosts a range of stylish and friendly weddings throughout the year. We specialise in provising a personlised, attentive service to every couple, ensuring that your day goes smoothly and you have everything you need. Whether a ceremony or reception, we offer beautiful photo opportunities, delicious food and spacious wedding suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanhydrock Hotel Bodmin
Lanhydrock Hotel And Golf Club Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing