We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with impressive views of the golf course”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bodmin
Certificate of Excellence
Andover, Hampshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with impressive views of the golf course”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We booked on 26 June to stay at this hotel for 4 nights from 29 June. We arrived at the hotel and received awarm welcome from the hotel reception. Our room was modern and clean, doors opened onto the golf course...was completely surprised and appreciated the views. It was great base to see around Cornwall. The breakfast was a limited choice..cooked to order..am still unsure what a cornish breakfast consists of..guess no hash browns :( The bathroom was modern with lovely shower but got blocked twice..did get fixed though. The hotel was quiet at breakfast and evenings so not much social or entertaining going on however was a good base to stay so we extended our stay on the 3rd day to stay an extra day but disappointed that TripAdvisor shows offer starting 29 june if you book 2 nights the 3rd night is free. We booked with reception but they never honoured this offer!! We paid higher room rate than advertised but even when i called to chase it up after the hotel didn't contact us back. :(

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shan104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    128
    41
    17
    3
See reviews for
78
152
15
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed here overnight as was presenting a seminar in one of the conference rooms the following morning.

Very nice setting, golf club attached to the hotel (or vice versa) and my large double room (with luxury bathroom) was excellent with a nice view over the 18th hole. A large screen TV and trouser press were nice additions and the bed was comfortable although the pillows were a bit soft for my liking.

Downstairs there's a reasonably sized gym and the only thing that would have made this perfect for me would have been the inclusion of either a pool, a sauna or a steam room but I know I'm being fussy!

Breakfast is a buffet type affair with a few extra things (such as kippers) available to order and I have to say the local sausage, free range eggs and mushrooms I had were amongst the tastiest I've had recently, especially the mushrooms, simply popping with flavour.

The conference room and refreshments were well presented and overall I would definitely recommend this hotel for a night or two.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianandOlya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Used this Hotel for one night recently. As a business traveller I have stayed in many golf hotels.
This one was very welcoming and relaxing without the pretentious tendencies that some of these establishments tend to hold. No snooty dress code for residents here, thank god.
Rooms were well appointed - Clean, free WiFi, Satellite TV, great bed and a decent shower.
Dined in the bar area for dinner, and the food and service were first class. I would understand if females travelling alone may be put off, but room service was an option here.

Sadly, a bit disappointed with the buffet style breakfast - never been a fan of food kept under warm lamps, for all to gaze at.
Will not let that put me off staying again though.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarebond, Director at Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to our family owned hotel and golf club. So glad that you enjoyed your stay and will be happy to return. Regarding your preference for a plated breakfast, our Chef will gladly serve you a freshly cooked hot breakfast from the kitchen. Simply choose from the menu on your table when you are next in the Hotel. Our buffet breakfast is quite a hit with our golfing groups and we change to this style from time to time, not pleasing everyone! Your comments have been welcomed and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
Clare Bond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night golf package with bed, breakfast and dinner to be taken in the Nineteenth Bistro. Checked out the menu online which sounded good
The rooms were clean and comfortable - could perhaps have done with a mini fridge.
When we went for dinner the first night we were sat in the restaurant off the bar and given a different menu from the Bar menu which we had seen at lunch time. My husband and I had Cornish lamb - 3 thick slices of lamb, over cooked, dry and tough. The vegetables were the best part of the meal.
The second night my husband ordered the duck which arrived as 2 large breasts which were very tough, dry and in fact he was actually not able to cut either of them. This time he sent his meal back.
Reading other reviews I think we must have been eating at a different hotel!!
The breakfast was good, but not award winning
A 2 day break spoilt by the food

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryEmms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regan B, Guest Relations Manager at Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you did not experience our normal standard of dining. I have spoken at length with the chef and can only apologise that your meat on both occasions was not served to a satisfactory level. As you have mentioned, we are renowned for the quality of food offering and work closely with local suppliers to ensure we offer a consistent level of high quality food complemented by the service given by our staff. I am truly sorry you felt your stay with us had been spoilt, I do hope you will return to stay with us and experience a stay at Lanhydrock that lives up to our excellent reputation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel is on a golf course and is bright and modern. The rooms are spotless and the food quite good. The location, while ok for touring is too isolated for those who like to be within walking distance of a town (Bodmin in this case)

Room Tip: rooms are all good although the rooms on the ground floor right hand side have a little terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regan B, Guest Relations Manager at Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are well known for our central location and host many tour groups all year round. Whilst we are situated a little out of the main town centre, one of the main benefits of being located just on the outskirts of Bodmin town does mean we offer some of the most stunning panoramic views of the surrounding Cornish countryside. I am sorry to hear you found us a little isolated however I do hope you enjoyed your daily excursions to the well-known local attractions of Cornwall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed here and played golf with friends and partners.

Accommodation is comfortable and spacious.

Staff were all excellent, friendly, helpful and true to Cornwall projected a relaxed air at all times

Golf course was fine, we played in the festival and members were welcoming to us

Best part was the food, congratulations to the chef and his staff we all commented on how good it was - scallops are recommended

We will return!

Room Tip: Superior rooms are a step up
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eastbourneoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regan B, Guest Relations Manager at Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves in creating a friendly and relaxed atmosphere for all our guests and will certainly pass your comments on to the staff. The chef and his team also work hard to deliver a high quality dining experience so they will be delighted to hear your comment ‘Best part was the food’. It’s also lovely to hear you took part in our annual Festival of Golf Week. This is a hugely important week in our Golf calendar, with this year proving to be one of our most popular to date. I do hope to welcome you back to Lanhydrock soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We recently booked a three night break at this hotel. We had been there previously for restaurant meals and liked the look of it. It turned out to be great! The rooms were comfortable and elegant with a fantasist view across the immaculate golf course to the west. It was helped by the incredibly warm weather and we enjoyed beautiful sunsets each night. Breakfast was excellent, as good as I've had anywhere and better than most. We ate in each evening, one night in the restaurant and two nights in the bar area. One drawback is that it can be noises in the restaurant with golfing groups. One night we were somewhat overwhelmed by tales of fantastic shots at the 10th and narrowly missed puts. However, it's what it says on the tin - it's a golf hotel so some tolerance is expected. However, it was absolutely quiet at night and we had excellent night's sleep. I haven't played golf for many years but the experience at Lanhydrock certainly stirred some interest. The hotel is situated just south of Bodmin and is very well placed for visiting either North or South Cornish Coast. It is very near to Lanhydrock House ( National Trust) and the A30. We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at this hotel and will certainly be paying further visits in future.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have a small patio area with a table and two chairs. Upstairs rooms have a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodmin
2.6 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
292 reviews
3.9 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
343 reviews
1.3 mi away
Westberry Hotel
Westberry Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bodmin
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
186 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,547 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club

Property: Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
Address: Lostwithiel Road, Bodmin PL30 5AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bodmin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel and Golf Course in Bodmin, North Cornwall The acclaimed Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club is a luxury hotel in Cornwall, located on the outskirts of the old county town of Bodmin in the heart of the county. Easily accessible via the A30/A38, Lanhydrock is only one hour's drive from Exeter and boasts one of the finest golf courses in Cornwall along with a brand new purpose built Fitness Suite. Our central location makes an ideal base for holidays and short breaks in Cornwall. The hotel is a stone's throw from the Eden Project and within easy driving distance of the coast, moor and several great Cornwall attractions. UK golf hotel in a tranquil corner of Cornwall Owned and managed by the Bond Family, who created the Jack Nicklaus Course at St Mellion, Lanhydrock provides a beautiful 18 hole course which is set in mature parkland complemented by contemporary 44 bedroom accommodation with conference and function facilities. The area provides fantastic and varied attractions including the nearby Lanhydrock National Trust House, Eden Project and Fowey. Padstow and Truro are also only a short drive away. We are also very close to the Camel Trail, a popular cycling and recreational route that links Bodmin with Padstow, predmoniantly along a disused railway line and taking in the beautiful Camel Estuary. If you plan a golfing holiday, business or leisure break in a Cornwall hotel, Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club in Bodmin, north Cornwall, is the place for you. A picturesque wedding venue in Cornwall Lanhydrock Hotel hosts a range of stylish and friendly weddings throughout the year. We specialise in provising a personlised, attentive service to every couple, ensuring that your day goes smoothly and you have everything you need. Whether a ceremony or reception, we offer beautiful photo opportunities, delicious food and spacious wedding suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanhydrock Hotel Bodmin
Lanhydrock Hotel And Golf Club Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing