We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jason W

Amazing golf

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
We stayed at the Lanydrock Hotel and Golf Club for a long weekend of golf as a party of four. We had the most fanatastic weekend and cannot praise highly enough the facilities or the staff.

The Golf - What a course, Immaculate condition with pristine greens and fairways, the rough was as good as the fairways of other courses I have played. The course is challenging and varied with a couple of driveable par 4s and interesting par 3s. We played the course 3 times and if it was closer to home it would definitely be my new home club.

The pro-shop was well stocked and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Catering

WOW! WOW WOW! I have to say incredible value for money and exceptional quality would highly recommend the basket meals to share after a round of golf. We also ate two evening meals with the highlight being the T-bone steaks! Four burly blokes failed to finish the onion rings and chips we wanted some room for desert. We also enjoyed the carvery on the Sunday before we left - again the quality and value was exceptional.

The bar staff and catering staff were brilliant. All were welcoming, chatty, friendly and enjoyed some banter with us. All I can say is if you want some extra custard, just ask!

The accommodation was perfect, comfortable and clean our twin over looked the practice putting area but other rooms had a magnificent vista of the course.

We travel a lot as a group of golfers both across the UK and Europe and this was by far one of the best experiences we have had.

A huge thank you to Graham, Clare and all their team. We will be back again probably sooner than our wives will be happy with.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Clare bond, Owner at Lanhydrock Hotel And Golf Club, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
What an amazing review! Your kind words make all of the hard work so very worthwhile. Our team will be delighted to read this as they follow reviews such as Tripadvisor avidly.

Thank you so much and we do hope that you will return soon. Why not bring the wives?! 😜

Best wishes,
Clare


This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£236
  • Expedia.com
    £263
  • ZenHotels.com
    £200
  • Hotels.com
    £249
1.8 miles from Lanhydrock Hotel And Golf Club
Free Wifi
Free parking
£72
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £89
  • Algotels
1.6 miles from Lanhydrock Hotel And Golf Club
Free parking
Restaurant
£115
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £115
  • eDreams
    £115
  • Vio.com
    £115
5.9 miles from Lanhydrock Hotel And Golf Club
Free Wifi
Free parking
£127
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £127
  • Hotels.com
    £127
  • Tripadvisor
    £127
3.9 miles from Lanhydrock Hotel And Golf Club
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
2.6 miles from Lanhydrock Hotel And Golf Club
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £121
  • Expedia.com
    £123
1.4 miles from Lanhydrock Hotel And Golf Club
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
5.0 miles from Lanhydrock Hotel And Golf Club
Free Wifi
Free parking
    5.2 miles from Lanhydrock Hotel And Golf Club
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • eDreams
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    1.3 miles from Lanhydrock Hotel And Golf Club
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Lol.travel
    • Vio.com
    • Expedia.com
    6.5 miles from Lanhydrock Hotel And Golf Club
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Bodmin
    Reviews (714)
    Filter reviews
    714 results
    Traveller rating
    416
    181
    63
    34
    20
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    416
    181
    63
    34
    20
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews sunday carvery trouser press roast potatoes the ground floor cooked to perfection eden project breakfast was excellent cornwall wedding
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    4 - 9 of 714 reviews
    Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

    Great golf course great accommodation and very friendly staff .
    Stunning position great food and plenty to drink
    Four of us stayed for a long weekend and had an absolute blast
    Highly recommend the hotel tne golf course the Sunday carvery and the beautiful location
    Great value for money

    Room tip: Nothing to say it was all easy
    Date of stay: June 2024
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank Jonathan C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Clare bond, Owner at Lanhydrock Hotel And Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

    Thank you Jonathan for your very kind comments.
    It was a pleasure to host your group and we could do with a few more clients like you!

    Please spread the word in Bristol for us as the banter in the clubhouse was priceless and made my weekend.

    Looking forward to seeing you all again soon.
    Best wishes,
    Clare

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 June 2024

    Fantastic stay here our room was over the golf course and surrounding countryside absolutely stunning views and so peaceful and comfortable .The restaurant also had a very relaxing feel the whole team who worked there couldn’t do enough for you great evening meals and breakfast the Sunday carvery is a must and to top it all off great location very central to everywhere we will definitely be returning thank you all for making our stay so special.

    Date of stay: June 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank 117deb
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Clare bond, Owner at Lanhydrock Hotel And Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

    Great news that we appeared to tick all of the boxes on your stay earlier this month. As a family business we really do appreciate you taking the time to comment. Thank you.
    We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
    Best wishes,
    Clare

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 May 2024

    Great golf course and in very good condition, so hats off to the green keepers and course management. A few small bald patches on the greens, but considering the appalling weather we've had this winter and spring they still played really well. Really enjoyed my round and will definitely be back again.

    Date of stay: May 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank EastCoast54
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Clare bond, Owner at Lanhydrock Hotel And Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

    Thank you for your kind comments! Our greens team will be delighted to read feedback from someone who obviously understands what it takes to work in all weathers especially the winter we have all endured.
    Now a month on, the course really is looking fabulous and we hope to see you back very soon.

    Take a look at our amazing golf package deals and come and stay!

    Kindest regards,
    Clare

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 May 2024

    Visited as part of a group. Nice hotel. All staff were very pleasant and 'went the extra mile'. Room clean and comfortable with lovely view over the golf course. Internet reception good and a television that worked - not always the case in hotels. Breakfast choices good but evening meals were a bit hit and miss.

    Date of stay: May 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Keith B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Clare bond, Owner at Lanhydrock Hotel And Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

    We are always grateful for people taking the time to comment on their recent stay, thank you. I was glad to hear that the room and facilities met with your approval. We are continually upgrading the internet as this is so important in this day and age. We also have a maintenance contractor who is kept busy with bedroom and TV maintenance throughout the season.
    I am disappointed to read that although breakfast choices were good, the evening food maybe not so.
    Should you have a minute, I would appreciate some more details by email please.
    Clare@lanhydrockhotel.com.
    Best wishes and hope to see you again soon.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 May 2024 via mobile

    Stayed at this hotel as the location is perfect for working in the area the description of the hotel mentions “Luxury” I would hardly describe it as that yes it was clean in the room I was in there was two single beds which is not a good start but in fairness the room could of been booked as that… but it had the worlds smallest tv also my room literally backed on to the golf course which is fine but the room was warm no air con so had to have windows open which in turn I could literally hear the golfers conversations.

    Breakfast was ok service was not brilliant not particularly engaging staff was only offered one small pot of coffee and no toast this all might sound petty but I’ve have stayed in better for the price.

    Date of stay: May 2024
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    Thank CarolineAndDan
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Clare bond, Owner at Lanhydrock Hotel And Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

    Thank you for your constructive feedback which is really appreciated. I would agree that we are no longer a Luxury Hotel and as a small family business we are taking steps to remove that word from most of our advertising.
    This decision was made a while back as we know our market and for most of our clients, price is key. Good beds and showers with plenty of parking and reliable Wi-Fi are a must for a good stay, along with a hearty breakfast. Self serve items for speed, such as toast and coffee have been requested and delivered.
    I can only apologise for the staff not engaging with you as our breakfast team is handpicked for friendliness.
    Should you decide to stay again, please reserve one of our double course facing rooms for peace and quiet and amazing views.
    We hope to see you soon.
    Kindest regards,
    Clare

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews