We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet And Quaint.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bedknobs Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 42 Bodmin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quiet And Quaint.”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have just returned from a long weekend break visiting family for Easter down in Bodmin, Cornwall. We stayed here at Bedknobs for 3 nights. After driving up and down the road a couple of times we found the house tucked away up a very quiet lane. The gateway is very tight as is the car park but we soon got used to the jiggling about to get in and out. There are also 2 charging points for electric cars which is a nice touch. We do have an electric car, although we chose not to attempt the long journey down to Cornwall in it. We were welcomed at the door by Gill and her husband Kim, who insisted on taking our luggage in. After taking our shoes off at the back door in the conservatory (they have lovely wool carpets everywhere) we were shown our room and bathroom. We opted for the Yew room which is not en suite but does have its own private bathroom across the hall. It is enormous, with power shower over the spa bath. Lots of thick fluffy towels and some lovely soaps and bath gel/shampoo. The bedroom had a double bed, antique I believe, which was very comfortable with Duck Down duvet although anti allergy ones are available if requested. Plenty of storage with bath robe. The tea and coffee making facilities had plenty of choice with hot chocolate and a selection of biscuits restocked everyday. The fridge in the room was very quiet and well stocked with fresh milk,(complimentary). Water, fizzy drinks and wine were an optional expense. The TV had a good selection of channels and there was a cd/usb hub/charger gadget next to it. There was plenty of information about the house, the owners, the locality and general useful tourist information in various folders on the desk. The room overlooked some of the large garden and just had a lovely feel to it.
At breakfast time we ate at a large communal table with the other guests which was nice as we were able to exchange information about places to go and where we had all been. We had little slips to fill in the night before for our breakfast which said when we wanted our breakfast and what we wanted which helped Gill and Kim prepare our breakfasts quickly and to our liking. The food was very good and there was plenty of choice of cereals, fruit, and cooked options not forgetting the toast and preserves and the local Bodmin honey from their neighbours bees. Kim was especially helpful with his knowledge of local places to visit and things to do. Also if you want to know anything at all about becoming greener these are the people to ask. I learnt a lot about a few things that we could do differently at home to help with the environment and although it is not forced upon you that is just how Gill and Kim like to do things. Altogether a very nice experience. Thank you Gill and Kim.

Room Tip: We didn't see the other rooms but Yew room is at the back overlooking the garden. Very quiet. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdieNewmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
207
32
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed in the very large room called Beeches. Huge and very comfortable. Relatively expensive for a B&B but definitely worth it. Lots of nice touches, including a fridge (stocked and silent running) and a good tea tray. Hosts Gill and Kim were friendly and helpful, advising on a superb local restaurant. The house is interesting and immaculate. The breakfast room is beautiful and the family photographs add interest. We hope to return.

Room Tip: The big room is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NedLowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I spent two nights here in January whilst working in Bodmin. I arrived late in the evening to be greeted as an old friend. Gill had called me earlier to introduce herself and see what time I was likely to arrive. I felt as if I was at home.
The bedroom was beautiful with many personal touches, such as fresh milk in the fridge, a corkscrew and wine glasses, a couple of cans of beer and mini bottles of wine chilling and it's very own teddy bear.
I asked about places to eat in town and Gill phoned most of them to see if they were open. As they weren't, she made me a delicious lamb casserole, most welcome after a long train ride from Cambridgeshire.
I will certainly stay again next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamingAuditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

On a short business trip to Bodmin,I came across this wonderful place owned by Gill and Kim.
Today I looked over my 2013 business diary and counted 124 occasions when I had to stay in a hotel or B and B. I think previous years will reflect the same numbers. I can honestly say that Bedknobs tops them all - I have stayed in the Hilton to the Travel Lodge depending on the clients proximity but never, ever experienced these dazzling standards.From arrival to departure nothing is overlooked.The bedroom has everything you need including things that go the extra mile - a well packed information folder provides fascinating in house and external information. I was truly impressed and you will be bowled over. A big thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Williamd27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed 5 nights in the lovely HoneyPot apartment and enjoyed every moment of it. Gill and Kim were quite helpful and friendly and the meals were very good and varied (the cheese board was a must try). The first few days we went downstairs to eat with other guests, however, the following days, we had the option to have breakfast in our room as we were the only ones there. The town was walkable from the b&b and we followed our hosts' suggestions on where to eat. Gill also always kept us updated about the weather and advised us regarding where to take our walks. Bodmin is also a great central point to go from when visiting Cornwall and we would definitely come back to stay at Bedknobs the next time we visit!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontrealCanucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

From the booking process to the farewell, little could be improved in the B & B experience at Bedknobs. Fresh milk in the mini fridge, locally smoked kipper on the breakfast menu, advice about the best local taxi firm, and a very comfortable room & bed.
Even the electric shower produced a torrent of hot water (not my normal experience with such devices) so I caught my train back to London in a very contented frame of mind.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 20keithg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our wedding night ( gift from our guests). The hosts stayed up and waited for us to arrive, which was lovely. The bed was comfy and the room was spacious. The room had lovely little touches and they had thought of everything you may have needed. The breakfast was delicious and there was lots to choose from. Highly recommended for a short stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank channieb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bodmin hotels
3.3 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westberry Hotel
Westberry Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bodmin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bodmin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.8 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#7 of 9 in Bodmin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedknobs Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedknobs Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bedknobs Bed and Breakfast
Address: Polgwyn Castle Street, Bodmin PL31 2DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Bodmin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedknobs Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Victorian Villa set in secluded woodland gardens close to Bodmin Town centre and A30 is a perfect base for exploring Cornwall. Spacious well-appointed bedrooms with fully en-suite bathrooms and home-comforts in abundance. Delicious full-cooked or Continental breakfast included. Romantic Champagne Breakfast, an optional extra. Special Breaks in Winter offer up to 2 nights free. Walkers and Cyclists welcome. At Bedknobs award-winning B&B, we are wholly committed to our local community, our environment and Sustainable Tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bedknobs Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedknobs Bed And Breakfast Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing