We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bedknobs Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Paths End B&B(Saint Teath)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trehellas House(Washaway)(Great Value!)
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tredethy House(Tredethy)
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mena Farm(Lanivet)(Great Value!)
US$21
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ruthern Valley Holidays(Bodmin)(Great Value!)
US$17
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
338
16
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
338
16
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgill kimporridgeyew roomother guestsexcellent hostshomemade marmaladebeautiful housewarm welcomespent two nightslarge gardenlocal produceplaces to visitbreakfast was deliciouspower showerold houselittle touchesguest house
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Bedknobs is a beautiful house to stay in, and we were really well looked after by Gill and Kim. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. The bedroom was comfortable and homely, with fresh milk in the fridge and en-suite bathroom. The breakfast was delicious and made with all local produce. I wonder why we ever stay in hotels when there are gems like this out there to be discovered. We stayed here because I was taking part in the KiloToGo Cornwall Tor bike ride which started and finished at Lanhydrock House, a nearby National Trust property. Bodmin is well located to explore Cornwall and I highly recommend Bedknobs as a place to stay to do that!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajmk1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A very warm welcome awaits you at this friendly and comfortable guest house. Centrally located in Bodmin it provides you with a perfect gateway to the rest of Cornwall and is the ideal place to relax after a full day site-seeing. The hosts, Gill and Kim, do everything they can to make your stay as comfortable as possible and the breakfasts are probably the best in Cornwall. It is spacious, airy and beautifully decorated and has the feel of staying with friends. For us we have found our Cornish home and look forward to many more stays there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annettemoore2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I spent two nights here in April on a business trip and was very warmly welcomed by Gill. The B&B has many personal touches that make it a delight to stay in. Top highlights for me included a personalised delicious locally sourced breakfast, excellent WiFi and a very peaceful nights sleep in a big comfortable room.

Gill was very informative about local sights and places to eat and I felt most at home.

I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxwellEddison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We have been meaning to write this review a long time ago as we travelled last year in May for the bank holiday weekend and we had such a fantastic time.

The owners of the Bedknob were beyond helpful to help us get around in Cornwall as we came by train and were dependend on public transport. They helped us with renting bikes, and figuring out bus plans even calling the local bus operators. They also took so much time helping us plan a good bike route and even provided us with maps and warned us off a tad too ambitious bike tour.

The B&B itself is amazing - a very carefully decorated Victorian style villa decorated with so much detail and everything ecofriendly. The rooms are great and come with all amenities - we stayed in the Yew room which also comes with a very luxurious bath room and a whirl pool in the bath tub, which was just the thing we needed after a long excursion. Breakfast is amazing and it's nice to share it with the other guests on a big table as you get to chat and exchange tips.

There are plenty of things to see and do around Bodmin even if you have a car for a weekend, however some things are difficult to reach and the buses are not all that reliable - to be fair though there was a fire which took out a lot of buses just before we came which impacted the local bus schedule.

All in all we had a great three nights and hope to visit soon again!

Room Tip: we can definitely recommend the Yew room!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waldlaeufer198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have just returned from a long weekend break visiting family for Easter down in Bodmin, Cornwall. We stayed here at Bedknobs for 3 nights. After driving up and down the road a couple of times we found the house tucked away up a very quiet lane. The gateway is very tight as is the car park but we soon got used to the jiggling about to get in and out. There are also 2 charging points for electric cars which is a nice touch. We do have an electric car, although we chose not to attempt the long journey down to Cornwall in it. We were welcomed at the door by Gill and her husband Kim, who insisted on taking our luggage in. After taking our shoes off at the back door in the conservatory (they have lovely wool carpets everywhere) we were shown our room and bathroom. We opted for the Yew room which is not en suite but does have its own private bathroom across the hall. It is enormous, with power shower over the spa bath. Lots of thick fluffy towels and some lovely soaps and bath gel/shampoo. The bedroom had a double bed, antique I believe, which was very comfortable with Duck Down duvet although anti allergy ones are available if requested. Plenty of storage with bath robe. The tea and coffee making facilities had plenty of choice with hot chocolate and a selection of biscuits restocked everyday. The fridge in the room was very quiet and well stocked with fresh milk,(complimentary). Water, fizzy drinks and wine were an optional expense. The TV had a good selection of channels and there was a cd/usb hub/charger gadget next to it. There was plenty of information about the house, the owners, the locality and general useful tourist information in various folders on the desk. The room overlooked some of the large garden and just had a lovely feel to it.
At breakfast time we ate at a large communal table with the other guests which was nice as we were able to exchange information about places to go and where we had all been. We had little slips to fill in the night before for our breakfast which said when we wanted our breakfast and what we wanted which helped Gill and Kim prepare our breakfasts quickly and to our liking. The food was very good and there was plenty of choice of cereals, fruit, and cooked options not forgetting the toast and preserves and the local Bodmin honey from their neighbours bees. Kim was especially helpful with his knowledge of local places to visit and things to do. Also if you want to know anything at all about becoming greener these are the people to ask. I learnt a lot about a few things that we could do differently at home to help with the environment and although it is not forced upon you that is just how Gill and Kim like to do things. Altogether a very nice experience. Thank you Gill and Kim.

Room Tip: We didn't see the other rooms but Yew room is at the back overlooking the garden. Very quiet. It is not En suite but has its own enormous private bathroom opposite with shower over the bath and spa bath.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdieNewmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews