We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bedknobs Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 43 Bodmin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights, 18 and 19 July and what a treat! Hosts were exceptional as were the breakfasts and cleanliness, am so glad to have stumbled across this place whilst searching for a B&B. Will most certainly stay here again without a doubt. Was also nice to sit around a large breakfast table and share stories with other guests and Kim was very helpful and knowledgeable. There is a small fridge in the bedroom that runs on an honesty box system and you are also allowed to use for your own personal items.
If you want to cycle, walk or run the Camel Trail this makes for an excellent base; Gill and Kim even had a place for us to keep our bikes. Can't wait to return.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Millie_Molly_Mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Arrived for a two day stay in the most characteristic building. We received a warm and inviting welcome from Gill and Kim. The rooms were clean and spacious, comfortable and catered for all your needs ie tea, coffee even indvidual bottles of wine, basically felt like home from home. The communal breakfast area shared with other guests is a definite way of meeting new people. Breakfast is in two parts - porridge, fruit etc followed by a hearty full english / vegetarian it was yummy. Gill and Kim are fountains of knowledge concerning local produce, locations to visit, we commenced the day with good quality information.

I have raved to family and friends about our stay in Bedknobs and would recommend anyone visiting Bodmin to stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MonicaMQ4521FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This was our first stay here and we will definitely be coming back! We only had a couple of days and wanted somewhere we could relax and this was it! We stayed in the apartment and every detail was thought of. Beautiful comfy beds and a fabulous bathroom. Breakfast was lovely and gave us the chance to chat with other guests before walking round the gardens. Gill and Kim are perfect hosts and always available if you need them. Thank you so much for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ganab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed for two nights while running The big run along the camel trail. The room was very comfy had everything you needed and more, real cornish milk provided in the room to make tea. For breakfast we chose the best porridge i have tasted in a long time. Breakfast was served around one big table so you are able to chat with the other guests. Gill and Kim gave us a lift to the start of the run and even sponsored us. We had a lovely stay and hope to return

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sayxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Arrived to a warm welcome from Gilly, Kim and their cats. The house is a real home from home. Loved the large communal breakfast table where everyone discusses their plans for the day ahead. Hope to return one day. Arrived as strangers, parted as friends.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed in Bed Knobs instead of usual run of the mill hotel (which is what I want sometimes). There are only a few rooms here and it is very cosy, yet had everything you get in a large hotel, like a robe, and although we took our own slippers, they must have some as shoes are not allowed in the house past the hallway. There was a well stocked fridge in the room with an honesty box. Everything was explained clearly when we arrived, and we were warned that we needed to order porridge or cooked the night before by leaving a note on the hall table. Everything else was there to help yourself. The calm atmosphere was all pervading. Little difficult to find on right as you go up the hill. Parking a bit tight.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickyoldbiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Returning from our wedding on the Isles of Scilly, we were looking for an overnight stay within an hour's drive of the Scillonian docking in Penzance.
Wow,what a find! - Gilly + Kim's home could almost be described as a boutique hotel, superb sleep followed by lovely breakfast and chat with fellow guests - very much an English version of Chamber d'hote
Thank you
John + Anna

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bodmin hotels
3.0 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westberry Hotel
Westberry Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bodmin
273 reviews
2.8 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
3.1 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
318 reviews
4.0 mi away
Trewint Farm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedknobs Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedknobs Bed and Breakfast

Address: Polgwyn Castle Street, Bodmin PL31 2DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Bodmin
Price Range: £93 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedknobs Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Victorian Villa set in secluded woodland gardens close to Bodmin Town centre and A30 is a perfect base for exploring Cornwall. Spacious well-appointed bedrooms with fully en-suite bathrooms and home-comforts in abundance. Delicious full-cooked or Continental breakfast included. Romantic Champagne Breakfast, an optional extra. Special Breaks in Winter offer up to 2 nights free. Walkers and Cyclists welcome. At Bedknobs award-winning B&B, we are wholly committed to our local community, our environment and Sustainable Tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bedknobs Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedknobs Bed And Breakfast Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing