We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic friendly stay”
Review of Castle Canyke Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bodmin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle Canyke Farm
Ranked #3 of 42 Bodmin B&B and Inns
Edmonton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic friendly stay”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We spent four nights at Castle Canyke Farm B&B in May 2013. It was our first trip to Cornwall, having been to the UK many times. Jane, Warron, and Shirley went out of their way to make us feel welcome; providing information on directions and sites to explore, even helping with restaurant suggestions! The rooms exceeded our expectations; clean, quiet, with all the amenities and Jane's attention to detail in the rooms is wonderful. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and a wonderful way to start your day - with a great selection of hot or cold. The garden was a great way to start and end your day after a hectic day of exploring. For a birder, it was a great way to see so many as they keep the feeders well stocked for your enjoyment was well. We would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone and will most definitely stay again on our future trips to Cornwall!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
81
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Trostberg, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We had four beautiful days at castle canyke farm. As it was our first trip to UK and the first time we had a B&B we were exited what will come up. We were not disappointed. Warren, Jane and Shirley gave us a warm welcome and they were helpful all the time. Rooms are absolutely beautiful and the garden is a dream!! We will come back!!!!!!

Thomas & Sabine from Germany

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Another fantastic stay at this friendly bed and breakfast. I can't praise Jane, Warron and Shirley enough, as always are room was immaculate, spotlessly clean with all the little extras, breakfast was superb as usual nothing is too much trouble. The location is ideal to explore all the beauty spots Cornwall has to offer. This is our third stay we wouldn't think of going anywhere else. We have in the past stayed at numerous places in Cornwall this is by far the best If your looking for the somewhere first class to stay at reasonable price you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Have stayed in all three rooms can't fault any of them, they are all immaculate each is decorate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teela26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Its is true that the hosts give you a very warm welcome. I cannot fault Warren, Jane and Shirley's taste and I agree with other reviewers that the b&b it immaculately clean. There are certainly some nice touches in the room such as being given wafers, muffins, jaffa cakes etc on the hospitality tray and usually a different treat each day and not just enough for one each but several helpings. The hosts take seriously your breakfast requests and make room for you to tell them what you would like to eat for breakfast both prior to and during your stay. I did not feel any pressure to finish my breakfast quickly either which is a plus point for me.
The room we had was tastefully furnished with a wonderful power shower. Great care was taken in the bathroom, soft fluffy towels and lovely complimentary bath, shower and self care products. The room had a lovely mix of modern and country influences, everything in the room tied together beautifully. We had a TV/DVD player which we did use one evening to watch one of the DVD's in the DVD library. The only bit of the room I did not like was the mattress which I found too hard but mattresses are a matter of personal choice.
Our hosts were welcoming, warm and at times very funny. We loved being greeted by the dog and the cat. We loved staying with hosts that were happy to talk about cats and dogs. Warren was helping in showing us places to go and providing us with maps.
The garden is beautiful as is the home and the only reason I have not rated this property excellent is due to the location on a main road which is distracting when you need to relax. The location cannot be helped and is irrelevant if the windows are closed as you cannot hear the traffic but we were there in the summer and did hear the traffic when we had the windows open.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scenicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We came to Bodmin shortly before Christmas to attend a wedding, and decided to book the Castle Canyke Farm after seeing it was rated no. 1 in the area on this site, with almost suspiciously good reviews. But I can confirm that rating is fully deserved.

The B&B is located in a pretty 1850s farmhouse, but don't expect to see any cows or combine harvesters here. The house stands by a fairly busy road leading out of Bodmin, and has a pleasant garden.

Our room was immaculate and comfortable, done with a lot of attention to detail. The house as a whole is cosy, furnished in a country kitsch sort of way. The breakfast, served in a glass extension overlooking the garden, was delicious. But what stood out was the warm welcome and the effort our hosts went through to make sure we enjoyed our stay in Bodmin, helping us in extensively with the logistics of our trip.

Jane, Shirley and Warron, thanks for everything - you deserve a black belt in hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

To identify our 2011 Christmas present, our son searched Trip Advisor for a top B and B in the Bodmin area.Due to the most favourable comments written by previous guests, he selected Castle Canyke.
I am thrilled to confirm the comments written previously - Castle Canyke was the best B and B we have stayed in.Superb facilities with wonderful hosts in a great location for visiting this area of Cornwall and at a very fair and affordable price.
Very many thanks to Jane and her mum.We hope to return in the future.
David

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 166David166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

I reckon you'll struggle to find anywhere to beat this in the Bodmin area. Our room was very comfortable, the breakfast was massive and the welcome warm and sincere. Jane, Shirley and Warren really do make it feel like it's a home away from home and it was truly a pleasure to be back there two years after our initial visit. It's also a great central location for touring in Cornwall. I can't recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minegeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bodmin hotels
3.1 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bodmin Hotel
3.4 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Westberry Hotel
Westberry Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bodmin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
3.2 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.6 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#7 of 9 in Bodmin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Canyke Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Canyke Farm

Property: Castle Canyke Farm
Address: Castle Canyke Farm Priory Road, Bodmin PL31 1HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Bodmin
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Castle Canyke Farm Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing