We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be Lot better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hengar Manor Country Park
Ranked #13 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Bodmin
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Staff friendly and overall site could be really good BUT it is all very tired and needs updating. Accommodation was clean but just worn. Could be a lovely site as has activities to offer. Enjoyed our stay but unfortunately it could've been a lot better

Room Tip: Ensure you have enough beds/rooms and although it states how many it sleeps, some of these are on so...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hengar, Front Office Manager at Hengar Manor Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (800)
There are newer reviews for Hengar Manor Country Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

This holiday park could be outstanding but sadly it's clear whoever owns/runs it just doesn't care because it is poor and lacking in so many ways.
As an example there are two entrances to the park - the one has a neglected and virtually derelict house alongside the drive while the other entrance has one of the holiday lodges with part of it's roof missing and corner wall damaged. Whichever entrance you use these are your appalling first impressions of your holiday destination!
There are many types of villas/lodges and the quality varies considerably - presumably depending on what you pay.
We started off in a very basic 3 bedroomed villa which was best described as adequate - but way below our expectations to the point were we nearly turned round and went home! - and later moved to probably the best (4 bedroomed) Lodge on the park (with great hot tub) which was very good but for which we had to pay a £300 supplement!
The grassed areas are pleasant and well looked after but other areas are dowdy, untidy, dirty, neglected and simply lacking the attention of someone who cares. The main reception/entertainment complex looks like a factory in need of maintenance and the pub entrance (with pub sign fallen down) has plain solid doors and looks like the entrance to a public convenience.
The place could be fantastic if someone with enthusiasm (and not a lot of cash) were in charge.
ps with 2 exceptions the staff were terrific - the lady entertainer was brilliant.

Room Tip: Only stay in the most expensive properties
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nick copeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hengar, Front Office Manager at Hengar Manor Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your comments. Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay in the end.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We booked our mini break through Hoseason, which are an amazing holiday company and very reasonable.

We turned up an hour before check in and didn't expect to be let in our cabin but it was ready, we went into reception, a nice man introduced himself and told us all about our cabin and the holiday parks facilities (there was so much to do!).. We then found our cabin which was beautifully located overlooking a lovely lake which is used for fishing too, it was so quiet and relaxing. The cabin was very modern and clean, hot-tub was checked and cleaned out. Our bedrooms were very nice and we had a TV on the wall with freeview.

The kitchen had all the utensils and appliances you needed. With built in fridge freezer.
On the first night we did however find ants in our kitchen and the man from reception came over late at night and told us they were having problems with ants recently, he cleaned the kitchen up and put some poison down and apologized about it. And although we found the odd one here and there the problem was solved.

There was entertainment most nights at the park, and there is also 2 nice restaurants on site and a little shop to buy food/bread & souvenirs which was very cheap.

A large swimming pool which i didn't see but my other half and another couple we went with said it was ok, little bit on the cold side!

There was also a craft fair on the Saturday whilst we were there which was very popular selling odd bits and bobs, cakes/doughnuts & shabby chic type things.

We had a lovely time and would love to visit Hengar Manor again!

Room Tip: Waterside Cabins are the best in terms of, view. You also have a privet hot tub! Great for childre...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbjane123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hengar, Front Office Manager at Hengar Manor Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your comments. Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay and the facilities and of course your hot tub.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My son booked a short week here for my birthday treat and we were exceptionally lucky with the weather, just as well, my husband and I got here first, booked in and was sent out and around to what can only be described as an estate. The buildings were grey and dowdy, filthy on the outside with moss and dirt all over them, the windows I doubt, had ever seen a cloth. The villa was large and on the face of it clean, but the upstairs toilet was surrounded by nasty stains on the floor and there were ink stains on the walls plus the furniture had seen better days. With no where to sit outside without stepping on ducks or duck poo, we requested a change to one of the more attractive wooden lodges around the corner. Staff were polite enough but not really efficient. We were ok with the lodge, although again it was filthy outside, could barely see out the windows and the table was really sticky no matter how much we cleaned it. Odd cutlery and mugs and crockery and tired interior gives the impression that no one really cares. It was hot and we couldn't open the patio doors as there was no key and one never found. We spent our days out and about. The whole place was looking shabby and first impressions crushed by the collapsed building which greets you as you drive in the main gate! It's a real shame as the park has so much potential and with a smarter appearance from properties and staff could be a fab place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lips45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hengar, Front Office Manager at Hengar Manor Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Hengar Manor Country Park in Cornwall and on the whole the Park was ok as a base to explore the area. We did have a go at the Crazy Golf but felt that this area was very run down and needing a repaint and some weeding wouldn't go amiss. The swimming pool area was lovely and kept clean but over a third of the equipment in the gym was broken. The Sauna and Steam room both had a £3 surcharge per session, I think this should have been free of charge!
The accommodation was clean and tidy and had every thing that you needed even if a little outdated and on the old side. However the carpet in the living area was very threadbare and could do with being replaced. The hot tub was excellent and was checked every day. We had a leak under the sink which looked as if it had been that way for weeks but a new tap was installed as soon as we mentioned it. Another leak was discovered after heavy rain and came up from under the building, we avoided this area. This was to be dealt with after we left as they had to dig up the floor.
The bar area was very good with dart board and snooker table and plenty of comfortable seating and the food was also good. The staff always had a smile for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonFirsttimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hengar, Front Office Manager at Hengar Manor Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for your comments. Its lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed for a week in May. We had to get to our park lodge through the less salubrious entrance. You do get a feeling of abandonment round there. The lodge was old and tired with an interior to match. We had to move beds around a bit revealing that a hoover had not seen the unseen bits of carpet in quite a long time, so we found ourselves doing the hoovering within an hour of arriving!! Stupid little old cooker with electric rings and a old fashioned fridge which literally froze everything in it. Tomatoes were like snooker balls! The wet room downstairs wasn't great and the drain in the floor even needed unblocking. The upstairs bathroom was ok but had no shower. Some good hot baths were enjoyed there however. It did feel like the lost world, all forgotten about in favour of the newer and much nicer lodges elsewhere on the estate which I would definitely aim for if going again. If I'm honest I think all those old lodges and bungalows just need demolishing. The swimming pool was very good. Large and well maintained. I was only disappointed to find that you have to pay '£3 per session' for the sauna and steam room. No explanation of what a 'session' is. For me that should be part of the experience of relaxing and I really don't understand why they should charge atall for that when you're paying alot to stay anyway. It was a good central point for Cornwall though and the Old Inn at St Brewards is definitely worth visiting for food!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hengar, Front Office Manager at Hengar Manor Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry you were disappointed with your accommodation but pleased you enjoyed the facilities and grounds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We arrived to manicured lawns and lovely wooden lodges. Unfortunately our excitement bubble burst quickly when we were given the keys to our lodge. We had to exit the long driveway and picturesque lawns and instead drive in via another entrance to be greeted by shabby lodges, unkempt lawns, leaking overflow pipes. The bedrooms in the 8 berth lodge were ok but the kitchen was what you would expect in a bedsit. Tiny fridge/freezer and a tinier oven that you could not even fit a pizza in. Inadequate to self cater for 8. Comfortable seating in lounge for 5 only. Shower was a mere trickle of water. All in all a disappointing holiday

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hedge1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hengar, Front Office Manager at Hengar Manor Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear your stay was not up to expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodmin
3.4 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
198 reviews
5.2 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
350 reviews
17.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#8 of 9 in Bodmin
96 reviews
8.9 mi away
Waterside Cornwall
Waterside Cornwall
#1 of 5 in Lanivet
32 reviews
16.8 mi away
Trelawne Manor Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hengar Manor Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hengar Manor Country Park

Address: St. Tudy, Bodmin PL30 3PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Bodmin
Price Range: £24 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hengar Manor Country Park 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hengar Manor Country Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hengar Manor Country Park Hotel Bodmin
Hengar Manor Country Park Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing