We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, lots to do, friendly people!”
Review of Chark Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chark Farm
dsg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great location, lots to do, friendly people!”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This is located just off the A30, easy to find after the long journey. Accommodation in Skyber was perfect for our 2 year old. It's all on one level - minimal tripping, swallowing, breaking hazards. There was even a secure garden overlooking a field with goats, hens, horse, ducks, geese etc. Jenny and Clive were exceptionally good hosts - showed us round the Dairy, rides on the horse and tractor for our little boy. Lots of attractions near by to minimise driving with the little one. We'll be back with our wellies next year!

Room Tip: Skyber is great for small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfsa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Lovely cottage - Fenten Chy - excellent facilities;dishwasher, microwave, whirlpool bath etc. Spotlessly clean. A great base for touring the local area. Would highly recommend!

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank e i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We took our horse and dogs to Chark Farm on 2nd July 2011. What a fantastic place - our horse was chilled out as soon as he arrived. Jenny provides some excellent horse ride information, peaceful farm in a beautiful setting. Nothing was too much trouble and it was a really nice relaxing holiday. Great for children too - see the goats, chickens, Billy the minature pony and bottle feed the calves. Collected fresh eggs from the hen coop daily - excellent holiday - have not hesitation in recommending...will be going back in spring 2012....

Room Tip: cottages are specially adapted for disabled, children or couples - see the website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelatb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2011

This year will be our fourth visit and will not be our last. Jenny, Clive and Co are now almost family and make you feel like part of theirs from day one. From feeding the pigs and chickens to rides on the cart with Jasmine, looking after Billy ( another horse) and watching the goats this is a place where all are welcome. With lots to do close by regardless of the weather this is a glorious place. A real working farm with real working people we now only have Kelly's ice cream because Clive sells them his milk!
If I could give it more stars I would

Room Tip: Book early, particularly for school holidays
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mairi_ball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2011

jenny and co made our trip a pleasure from the off, well stocked kitchen even had some clotted cream in the fridge for us when we go there and some lovely eggs, we ordered a tesco delivery to stock up on food for our week long stay, we stayed in skyber which was an amazing 1 bed cottage which backed onto the paddock where the naughty brown goat was along with the very greedy chickens !!! my son was amazed at all the animals and jenny every morning took him out to feed the animals and collect the eggs (which were probably the best eggs we have ever had)the location is amazing pretty much half hour from any of the locations around that area Jenny and clive made us feel like one of their family
if im being picky then my only complaint would be that the oven in skyber was poor but other than that i can fault the place
would and have recommended chark to everyone since coming back
thank you jenny and co for making our cornwall experience amazing

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thepengellys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasandBilly, Owner at Chark Farm, responded to this review, 30 May 2011
Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.
I apologise for the poor performance of the oven, all the other cottages have fan ovens, which are much faster, that one does take a long time to preheat. As a result of your comment I am actively searching for an upgrade, so if you stay in Skyber again that will be sorted.
We look forward to seeing you all again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

I think we take Chark Farm a little for granted after our 4th stay. Very warm welcome, wonderful setting, immaculate accommodation, and great value which keeps drawing us back on our Cornish holidays. The naughty brown goat provided the highlight of this trip as he ushered us out of his field! We've still not been to watch the milking, had a carriage ride or explored the badger set so I know we'll be back soon. Thanks Jenny.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DominicPearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We stayed at Chark farm with our 3 year old and a second family with a 3 and 1 year old. We booked Lowarth Chy and Mesyow Chy as they link internally through one of the twin bedrooms. We couldn't have wished for better accommodation or a more relaxing stay. From the point of booking Jenny, the owner, was welcoming and offered help and advice. The 2 boys were in heaven as soon as we arrived and found the ride on toy tractors, sand pit and huge garden that we had access to from our cottages. Every morning the boys were treated to feeding the goats, hens, pigs and horses. There were even 2 calves to bottle feed. They also came back to the cottages without fail carrying fresh eggs for breakfast. They were also treated to pony rides on Billy the miniture horse and we all had 2 lovely cart rides round the lanes pulled by Jasmine. Clive the farmer even found time to take us round the diary unit and allow the boys on his tractor. The cottages themselves were spotlessly clean and well equiped. Beds were extremely comfortable and all bedrooms were spacious. Kitchen facilities were faultless with both a dishwasher and a washing machine in each. There is plenty to do both on and off the farm including walks through the fields and woods and beaches a short drive away. We would recommend Chark Farm without hesitation to families and those wanting a traditional Cornish holiday.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank originaldob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodmin
1.4 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
489 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
1.3 mi away
Penrose B&B
Penrose B&B
#1 of 13 in Lostwithiel
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 1 in Lanlivery
237 reviews
7.0 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
193 reviews
6.3 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chark Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chark Farm

Property: Chark Farm
Address: | Redmoor, Bodmin PL30 5AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Bodmin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious quality self-catering accommodation on picturesque farm in beautiful mid Cornwall. Some with superb wheelchair access. Family friendly. Open all year. Free wi-fi. Optional complimentary horse and cart ride for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chark Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chark Farm Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing