We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
78
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horse and cart ride guinea pigs fresh eggs every morning wet room eden project fabulous week clotted cream on arrival local walks luxury accommodation families with young children brilliant place short break north and south coasts spent a week st ives
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2017

We've just got back from a wonderful week at Chark. It was recommended by friends who'd taken their children and we weren't disappointed - our 2 year old loved feeding and grooming the animals, collecting eggs and riding on the (very patient) horse. He also absolutely loved the ride-on tractors in the yard!

Our cottage Isla Chy was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and well equipped with a great shower. Jenny and Clive went out of their way to make our holiday special and are fantastic hosts.

Chark is a really good base for exploring Cornwall and there is masses to do nearby, even on wet days. We're already planning our next visit . . .

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadelineSwift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Booked Chark Farm based on location and reviews, it exceeded my expectations. The lovely owners helped guide us on the phone when we got lost on the way - Sat Nav is a no. We stayed in Mesyow Chy which was very spacious and the most well equip place I've stayed. The bathroom underfloor heating was so cosy. Ideal for families or if you like self catering, plus a great base for exploring many areas of Cornwall.
My partner left his own house keys there when we checked out, thankfully they we're posted back to us no hassle. I've already recommended that all my friends should go here!

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_LGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely family holiday at Chark Farm with our two young boys (3 and 1). We all enjoyed our time on the farm, the boys loved getting involved with the animal feeding each morning, especially feeding the little guinea pig and moving Fluffy the pig. Our 3 year old loved having the opportunity to ride a pony for the first time and we all enjoyed the horse and cart ride which was so relaxing it nearly sent our one year old to sleep! Apart from the animals there are also ride on tractors, swings and some imaginative play bits to keep the little ones amused. The farm is in an excellent location, there is lots to do and see in the vicinty and you really are spolit for choice with the beautiful Cornish beaches.
We left the farm with lots of happy memories and would definitely recommend Chark Farm for all.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasandBilly, Owner at Chark Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Thanks for the feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the farm experience. It's been quiet here since your visit, with only adults staying. I think the animals miss the extra attention, they get a bit bored with just me! They'll have plenty of other children for half term, last week of this month. Best wishes to you all x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

This was our 4th trip (our 2nd this year) and back to the first cottage we stayed in. Another great week and it was lovey all the cottages had children in...9 children playing together until 8pm at night was fantastic. We never tire of going here, there is so much to do in the local area, We found Cardinham Woods...very close to the farm and great for splashing in the brook, having a stroll and they also have a play area. We did new things each time we went out...and we still have more new things to explore! We spent time at the farm too, which is a real pleasure. Sorry Mark broke your broom whilst sweeping the yard!The children love helping with the animals...highlight taking the lambs to the paddock and back each day! We are booked to go back for a short break next year but hoping we can squeeze in another whole week! Thanks Jenny (& Clive!) for your warm welcome each time. xx

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
Thank dolphin30blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasandBilly, Owner at Chark Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2016

Many thanks for the review, we always enjoy your stays. It didn't matter about the broom. What a surprise I had when a long parcel arrived - you sent me a new one! That's above and beyond your duty of care, but thank you very much anyway! I have no excuse now not to keep the yard swept. (Must make a mental note to have it spick and span for your next arrival! Must impress Mark..)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

It was lovely to see city kids like ours gain confidence with the animals. Jenny was happy to let the kids get as involved as they wanted in the farm routines. Jenny and Clive were so welcoming and informative. Chark farm is in a great location for exploring all of Cornwall and there is loads to see and do. The cottage was very well equipped, clean and spacious. We had a brilliant holiday and would definitely recommend Chark Farm.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rheamarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasandBilly, Owner at Chark Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

Many thanks for your comments. We do enjoy seeing children getting more confident as the week goes on, especially the ones that are wary of the animals to start with.
Glad you enjoyed your holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews